We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous find. Booked last minute and didnt expect too much! Room was amazing, romantic four poster in a huge room, we had dinner in hotel also, superb and hot to the end. Breakfast was to die for and the staff were the friendliest bunch ever, service second to none. We cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    212
    68
    26
    16
See reviews for
102
236
29
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Really comfortable, traditional scottish hotel. Lovely friendly staff, great big breakfast (scrambled eggs and smoked salmon - yum!!). Easy to find, lovely outlook over river Tay and would definetely stay here again! Great price!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CurlyJo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed sat night with wife hotel lovely staff very friendly room was lovely everything looked brand new ,breakfast fantastic giant portion of quality thanks for the stay royal George views over Tay at breakfast fab breakfast served in conservatory

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel just for the night after T in the Park.

The staff were all great and extremely friendly. The breakfast in the morning was brilliant and the restaurant has lovely views out to the river Tay.

Our room had a beautiful view of the Tay too although a little bit dated.

Would definitely consider this hotel again if I was staying in Perth.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSM04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, MI. USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Royal George is my favourite hotel in Scotland - Why - because it has all the atmosphere of a delightful country home. Mr. & Mrs. Anderson are simply delightful and nothing is too much trouble. This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel with a garden Tour. It's small so we are always the only group in the hotel and they could not treat us any more special. Yes the hotel does not have an elevator, (lift) but how many delightful country homes do. When we arrived they had all the staff on duty to grab the bags and take them to the rooms. This was done with precision and did not in any way minimize the service to the independent guests in the hotel. The food was brilliant, the breakfast first class and the relaxed atmosphere in the bar area, perfect. Another review mentioned the "out of tune" piano in the bar, but that did not hinder one of the independent guests treating us to a wonderful performance for at least 40 minutes after dinner one night. If you want glitz and glamour - then this is not the place for you, but if you want true Scottish hospitality and the feeling of staying in someone's private home, then the Royal George is the place. Stay and be enveloped in a warm cosy atmosphere. If it was OK for Queen Victoria it was certainly OK for us Gardeners,.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We held a family wedding here on 5th July and would recommend it to anyone. All the staff were great, particularly Gary and Michael who made sure that everything was in order and the (often tricky!) guests looked after.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DH_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having spent time in Perth when I was a child, it was my childhood ambition to stay at this hotel. Well I was very disappointed,... after rejecting the first room we were given a room overlooking the Tay.....lovely..... on entering the bathroom we were again disappointed . this needed updating and a safety issue would be the shower head at the opposite end to the taps also if you wanted a slip mat for the bath you had to ask at reception!! As i have difficulty getting into the bath this was not good . The window in our bedroom didn't open.. this was a safety issue. The bed was comfortable but a bit large...were does ECO come into this. The breakfast time was total . ,. we waited at ten minute intervals to be served with our requirements. No choice between butter or flora...my first time in a hotel were there was no choice. I would not recommend this hotel if you are of the older generation...No lift.....
This hotel was focused on functions and bus trip, and not on the leisure traveller.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,030 reviews
3.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
904 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
270 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing