We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first visit to this hotel, hope there will be many more!”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“first visit to this hotel, hope there will be many more!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The main part of the hotel a bit old fashioned, but plenty of character, dining room bright and a lovely view over the river. We only had bed and breakfast and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. Hotel, room spotless, staff very friendly and helpful. Small car park, but bus stop across the road and very near the town centre. we stayed here for three nights over the weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    215
    70
    26
    18
See reviews for
106
241
30
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldmeldrum, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The room was in need of a little tlc but was clean and had a view of the river, the bed was massive and very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. One let down was the lack of Parking. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Royal George for 2 nights on business. The service and location are the best features of this hotel and my room had a great view of the river. You're just a minutes walk from the town and a great choice of restaurants. The decor is a little outdated and while I'm aware they are not going for a modern theme here, some of it looked a little drab. Parking was a little difficult too so make sure you think about this before you go. Overall it was a really pleasant stay.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank littleemma88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Regular visitor to Perth and always stay in the George, the staff are friendly and the refurbished rooms have made a big difference. In the winter the welcoming fire in the bar, in the summer a great run along the river. Would always recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sells3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

quick and easy to register into hotel ,excellent rooms never dissapointed,central for perth,,,excellent for people going to 80"s rewind we stay here every year,,there is nothing bad to say at all about this hotel,comfy,clean and very hospitable xxxxx

Room Tip: there all brill rooms xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schmoosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Traditional interiors with the smell of old world charm. The bar looked inviting . Be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs ! The room was at the end overlooking next door kitchens and chimneys not what you would love to view on a holiday. Inside the room it was cozy but just that the door opened right next to your bed. This place is just fine for a night stay after a happening day when your body needs rest . Breakfast was delicious and filling.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sujoy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Arriving at the hotel my first thought was what a great spot, right on the river banks it has a gorgeous view across the river. Going into the hotel it isnt so gorgeous, the hotel is very traditional inside and looks like it has not had much changed since it opened, there was also a stale smell in the hotel that made the hotel seem even more old fashioned. The man at reception who checked us in was quite rude, he seemed to be too busy to really be bothered so by this point i was concerned.
We got to our room which was called the 'smeaton suite' and I was relieved, the room was lovely very spacious and spotlessly clean. We only had one major problem with the room - the heat. Now it is Scotland so it isnt often warm but it was warm when we stayed 22degrees and 26degrees on the two days we were there. And our room had no real ventilation and understandably no air conditioning, but this made the room like an oven. When we went to open the windows we realised that the windows would not even stay open, so we went to reception who gave us a card board box (!?!) to prop open the window. So this became our only ventilation in the room for our stay.
It was far too warm in the room at night and we both struggled to sleep, I understand that it isnt often so warm but they should have been able to accomodate for that.
I also found the bed quite hard although my partner didnt mind it.
The breakfast in the morning was lovely, nice range and lovely fresh made. The staff were very helpful and pleasant in the restaurant.

Overall our stay was fine but I would not rush back.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,090 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
278 reviews
3.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
936 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing