We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing staff, amazing hotel!”
Review of Royal George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal George Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Ilfracombe
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, amazing hotel!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We attended my sister's wedding at The Royal George yesterday. I cannot commend the staff and management enough on their effort and efficiency. We (unfortunately) did not stay here, but my sister and brother-in-law stayed in Rm32. The room was big and beautifully decorated with a lovely, big bathroom. It was cleaned to perfection with everything you'd expect to have available in the room.

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff members and my sister had been looked after to the highest standard from start to finish.

Having worked in the hotel industry for many years myself, I can honestly say that this wedding was run with precision. Not a single detail was missed and all our requests were catered to with a smile and a friendly attitude. The service during the wedding meal was attentive without being obtrusive. The meal was excellent, beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! Wine glasses were kept full and everything ran so smoothly.

The evening reception was also wonderful, with a lovely room, a great sized dance floor and a bar in the function room. The evening buffet was brought out on time and was very yummy and well appreciated.

I cannot recommend this hotel enough for their excellence of service, wonderful food, and truly lovely, helpful and friendly staff.

Thank you all so, so much for helping to make my sister's day even more memorable and enjoyable.

P.S. I think this hotel is quite deserving of at least 4 stars!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camaradevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    208
    67
    26
    16
See reviews for
101
232
28
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The room in and of itself was wonderful. The double bed was separated from the couch and television with a wall, making it simple for one person to rest while another relaxes and watches TV. The bathroom was beautiful, with black tile and a huge bathtub. This was especially nice since we had spent several hours on a plane and then had been out venturing through several cities on our drive up from Glasgow. The front desk staff was wonderful, and incredibly helpful in suggestions for eating and places to visit while we were in Perth and on our trek up to Inverness and the Highlands. Overall, this was a great find and we got the room for a fairly reasonable price. I would give a 5-star recommendation for anyone staying here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over the River Tay, and/or a room on one of the higher floors so you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
1,248 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 611 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked this hotel through Booking.com. We made decision based on Reviewss on Trip Advisors. The hotel was in excellent location. It is at Perth city center, facing to Tay River and just at the Perth Old Bridge. The room was large, clean, well equipped with amenities. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was fine. It was wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darnel-HDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked in for two days at a minutes notice , hotel were accommodating and got a lovely room overlooking the river and hills beyond. This was a good location in Perth town centre. it has a small car park accessed from round the corner. Room was quite cold at night as radiators off for summer. Did discover a portable heater in cupboard which we used 2nd night. Bathroom door was to big for the frame and unable to close . There was a sign in bathroom stating to use batmat while using shower yet no batmat available. Wifi was available in hotel but unable to get a signal in the room . Generally still enjoyed stay for the two days

Room Tip: Confirm you will get wifi in room,was available but unable to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a fantastic stay at the Royal George this weekend. The staff could not have been more helpful for myself, my husband and my 18 month old. Although the hotel was very busy with weddings and events two of the nights we were there, they were accommodating and very helpful throughout. They are very family orientated with toys in the lounge area and more than happy to provide cots, warm milk and a smile when needed.

The rooms are perfectly adequate but possibly a little dated and could do with a bit of a spruce up but did everything that was required and more. The hotel itself is lovely with fantastic views but could again possibly be updated a little but it does add to the character.

Our room accommodated the travel cot the hotel supplied perfectly but I believe that there are bigger rooms if they are available so if you want some extra space make sure you ask on booking.

The real outstanding part of my stay was the staff who were excellent and very accommodating of our family needs. I would recommend anyone to this hotel, we had a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mintlaw, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Recently stayed here for a friends wedding and can only praise the whole experience. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They even went and sourced a specific type of whisky for our party which they didn't have behind their bar for us. The food was top class and the owner was on hand through out. The room was clean and comfortable with outstanding beds! Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front have lovely river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mintlaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Well organised, staff were excellent, beautiful rooms and views, central for everything, all the guests were very impressed with everything. Highly reccomend a function or just a few days relaxation........cant thank the hotel enough

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
3.1 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal George Hotel

Property: Royal George Hotel
Address: The Royal George Hotel Tay Street, Perth PH1 5LD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#7 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located on the banks of the River Tay in the heart of The City of Perth, The Royal George Hotel has been attracting guests to Scotland from around the world for over 230 years. Situated next to Perth Museum and Horsecross Arts and Conference Centre, the hotel is a popular destination for business and pleasure travellers. All bedrooms are ensuite, many with views over the river, fully licensed bar and restuarant serving locally sourced traditional Scottish fare. Limited free parking available on site, Free BT Fibre Optic Broadband available throughout. Coming April 2016 - Complimentary residents gym / fitness suite and residents games room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Royal George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal George Perth
Royal George Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing