We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent home from home,pet friendly,ideal...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Perth, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
tgordon8
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent home from home,pet friendly,ideal location”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This cottage is in an ideal location,it's like home from home we love it,and dog friendly fern loves the garden,you are central for Perth Dundee,shopping,and a trip to Edinburgh to do the castle,Mary kings close under the streets of Edinburgh,unbelievable when you see how people lived,and of course visit the royal yacht Brittania that's a real treat, we will return this year for our 5th stay! Superb.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. And of course we look forward to welcoming you back again! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfam
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect New Year's break”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We couldn't have asked for a more comfortable, peaceful, cosy cottage. Everything we needed was on hand. The area round about is beautiful with plenty of interesting places to walk or drive to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
We're so glad you enjoyed your New Year's break at Fernbank. Wishing you all the best for 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimee220
edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a perfect retreat to just get away from it all but still be so home from home with the friendlist hosts
And at such a reasonable price

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2016
Thank you for your kind words! I hope we can welcome you back in the future :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JEB2008
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, quiet location ”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for your excellent hospitality. The bottle of local wine and biscuits was a lovely touch. The cottage was immaculate and everything work well, albeit basic. The location was delightful and extremely well kept.

1 double bedroom & a twin. Wifi was great. Highly recommended to a family of 4, but worked well for two sisters!

The walls are about 2 ft thick so if there had been any noise (not much chance of that!) we would not have heard it!
We would stay again, definitely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire H
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely thatched cottage in an idyllic setting.....yet close to Dundee and Perth.”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Great communication before booking this accommodation. Although the owners live alongside it did not feel like we were imposing....instead we were made very welcome. The thatched cottage looked exactly like images. Delighted with the local welcome pack. Surprised how warm the cottage was.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The rural situation yet close to everything we needed.
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments! We like to give our visitors the same experience as we would like when we are on holiday! We hope to welcome you back :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico_Guen...
Saalfeld, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful holidays....”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

It was a fair braw holiday in a super layed oat, wee comfy cottage. The village of Rait had a guid link tae the motorway but it is real quiet and idyllic. When yer looking for a guid place to relax and recover but still be central to visit tourist attractions and towns then yer in the right spot in this cottage from the Lawrences. Mr. + Mrs. Lawrence are awfy kind hosts and are ayeways there tae help, also their daughter Pamela.

Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2015
Loving the very Scottish response! Haste ye back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciorstaid...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So peaceful and tranquil”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely welcome with local wine & shortbread. Thank you very much!! Cottage was immaculate when we arrived. Very comfortable & cosy. Had everything we needed. Lovely big well kept garden. Great location for Perth & Dundee & was so quiet & peaceful. Thank you very much Fraser, sheens & Pamela. Hope to be back!! Very reasonably priced

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stream!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2015
Thank you for a lovely review! I'm glad you found Fernbank cosy and comfortable :-) We hope to welcome you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing