We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money.”
Review of Grampian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grampian Hotel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I've stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions and i can't fault it, great value for money, and the food is brilliant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WullieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2011

Good value for money and great restaurant, I travelled alone and was welcomed by Ally the duty manager. Please if you get the chance sample Max's cuisine. The restaurant is worth a visit even if you are not staying at the hotel, I can honestly say I have never eaten better. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equiped with tea making facilities, toiletries and wi-fi. The beds are comfortable and fresh with new linen.

There doesn't appear to be any bad rooms, the noise from the main road outside is reduced to almost nothing by double glazing and very thick curtains even in the front facing rooms. Please remember though if you are going out for the night switch the bathroom light off or the extractor will keep everyone awake :O)

Keen prices are available for rooms just book in advance and look on the internet for offers. I would definately stay here again and recommend it for pleasure or business travellers.

Room Tip: no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKeeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I booked this hotel for one night. The pictures looked fine and even though I thought £130 for a room expensive I went for it. What a disappointment. It was shabby and down at heel: the only redeeming thing was the size of the room which was spacious. There was no wardrobe, just a small rail and jumble of hangers. The curtains were old , ill fitting and fashioned with too few hooks to hang properly so the room was too light overnight. The sofa in the room was filthy and the carpet stained. There was neither window nor fan in the bathroom - isn't that illegal?
Breakfast: dry tasteless melon and mould on the toast for me, however my husband's bacon and scrambled egg was ok. Hotel was empty, not surprised.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bramble40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

The hotel has a very good location less than 10 minutes from the town centre. I just stayed 1 night and was pleased with the room. It was clean with a good sized bed (although it was 2 beds pushed together). There was a Christmas party being held in the hotel but we could not hear any noise from it.

Breakfast was very good. A mix of fruit juices and cereals and a fine traditional breakfast, although other options were available.

The hotel has a number of parking spaces, but if it is busy you would need to use a nearby pay and display car park. The only criticism would be that it can be a bit awkward turning into the car park due to bus lanes and lights, especially as, when I went, there were piles of snow heaped outside due to the recent bad weather.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arabforbesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed here mid week in october with our little girl. upon booking we were given the extra bed for no extra charge. Upon check in the room was cold which staff fixed immediately when informed. They were very accomodating with our little girl and let us have a drink in the bar about 10pm after a long day of visiting reletives and even went to get some fruit shoots from a back store room for her. Breakfast was spot on and couldn't fault the service.....On comment i would make is parking can be tricky and maybe something staff should inform customers upon making a booking. Will definitely return when back in that area...THANKS

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CooperUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed at this Hotel in 2005, and what a difference the new owners have made, we couldnt fault our One night stay, the room was massive, and bed was giant and comfy, the staff were really friendly and the breakfast was brilliant, free parking at the front of the hotel, great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WullieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Good value for money Hotel. Great comfortable King size bed. Staff very helpful. Booked in for one night but stayed for 3. The evening meals are good hotel/pub meals and we enjoyed having High Tea.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_Campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
990 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
981 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#7 of 18 in Perth
673 reviews
0.1 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#16 of 18 in Perth
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grampian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grampian Hotel

Address: 37 York Place, Perth PH2 8EH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Perth
#9 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range: £57 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grampian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grampian Hotel, Perth, Scotland is situated close to the railway station, the bus station, and the centre of Perth is a 5 minute walk from the hotel, an ideal location for visiting Perth and the surrounding Perthshire area.The Grampian Hotel, Perth is a three star family run hotel, the owners Duncan and Claire McFarlane extend a warm welcome to everyone. The hotel accommodation has been refurbished to a high standard to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grampian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grampian Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing