We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unbelievable value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard
Ranked #4 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

On a tour of one night stands (suitcase and guitar in hand) And every stop was neatly planned (before hand from the Web)

Well not exactly – I couldn’t resist Paul Simon’s lyrics – but my wife and I spent 14 nights touring Scotland (late April, early May 2011) staying a small hotels, bed & breakfasts for one night only at each establishment.

We have toured Scotland in Springtime for a number of years now and have built up a small catalogue of favourite stop-over establishments – but we like to try and expand this by adding a few “newbies”, each year

Craigmhor Lodge will definitely be added to this favourites list. I could mention the genuine warm greeting we received upon arrival, the massive bed in a stylish room, our own balcony, the power shower ( I could have spent all day under this!) - but the visit is best summed up by the fact we could not believe the small amount being charged, given the high standards of accommodation here. I had to check back with the Web site to ensure I had not misread the price as per person and not per room. In short, and as a comparison to our other venues, this is fantastic value for money.

If we had been a guest in Channel Four’s new B&B program, Three in a Bed, then Craigmhor would be an overpaid!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katybear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,326
    80
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
124
1,022
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

You couldn't find a better place to stay, more like a Boutique Hotel than a B&B.
Everything was perfect, the bathroom was great with double size shower and lovely bath, the bedroom was wonderful with a very comfortable super king size bed, and everywhere was exceptionally clean.
The choice for breakfast was fantastic and everything was cooked to perfection, the best poached eggs I have ever tasted.
Will hopefully be back and will recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie36UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

Craigmhor has re-written the rules when it comes to hospitality and service. Our welcome was warm and friendly, our room literally stunned us, every aspect from the bed to the bath were totally first class. The breakfast in the morning was yummy and as one of our party is vegatarian we were pleased with the selection for both. The town of Pitlochry is only a short stroll down the road and has plenty of shops and restaurants. The area surrounding Pitlochry has lots to offer as well, however you will want to go back and relax in your luxurious surroundings of Craigmhor, especially with the in-built iPod docking station with speakers in the bedroom and bathroom, or just sit on your own personal balcony, soaking up the views! If you want to spoil yourself and have a memorable stay, this is the place without question. When we checked out, we booked our stay for next year!! Oh yes, and order yourself their homemade tablet..........wow.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmcclu315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We have just returned from an Easter Break at the Craigmhor Guest House. This is the second time we have stayed there and have booked in advance for August Bank Holiday. Pitlochry is a beautiful place and conveniently central for touring. We have visited Pitlochry many times and stayed in various B & B's, no complaints about any of them but The Craigmhor definitely beats the lot!! Great accommodation, excellent food and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Thank you Jane for another brilliant holiday.
Joan and John
South Shields
Tyne & Wear

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyTyne_Wear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

I've stayed at Craigmhor Lodge twice in the last few weeks and at least 4 times in total - usually when travelling on business but see also my previous review from last April when I brought my wife along to sample the delights of Pitlochry, which is a very nice little town.

I can't add to my previous comments about the 12 modern purpose built bedrooms - as top quality as the reviews suggest.

I did just want to comment again on the breakfasts - a delight very time I've stayed here. This was brought into even sharper focus this time because the night before I'd stayed at a large hotel in Inverness with a typical, slightly congealing, pre-cooked breakfast buffet. The Craighmor's breakasts are all freshly cooked and of excellent quailty. Plenty of cereals and fruit if you want the healthy option too.

In addition to the full Scottish, various "specials" are on offer. I've had the bagel with smoked salmon and scrambled egg in the past and it was excellent. This time, I couldn't resist the pancakes with bacon (3 rashers of back) and banana, topped with maple syrup. A bad habit I picked up in the USA but with the bonus of proper bacon.

On average, I stay 2 or 3 nights a week in Scotland. I can't think of anywhere else that I've stayed where the breakfasts are as superb as this. If I need a break on the A9, I wouldn't choose anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gojph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

We thoroughly recommend Craigmhor Lodge. We were given a nice welcome and all our needs were met by friendly hosts. Our room was exceptional with a huge comfortable bed and excellent en suite. We enjoyed the TV, i-pod speaker system and internet access. The room was spotless. A city decor surrounded by the peace and beauty of Pitlochry. It was our first visit and we plan to return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Set about 1km. from Pitlochry's main road in a lovely setting. Very friendly and helpful welcome from owners and shown to Courtyard room with all required information. The room was beautifully furnished with everything you could wish for and a fabulous toilet and shower room. Very comfortable indeed. Great choice at breakfast time with a good choice on the menu along with two or three daily ''specials'' of typical Scottish fare. Would recommend without any hesitation whatsoever.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms with a balcony good to ask for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
1.8 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#1 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard

Property: Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard
Address: & Courtyard Courtyard 27 West Moulin Road, Pitlochry PH16 5EF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of Scottish Hotel Awards Guest House of the Year and Breakfast of the Year 2012, 2013 and 2014. Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard is tucked away in enchanting woodland in central Pitlochry. We offer a luxury retreat and an ideal base for exploring Highland Perthshire. Our accommodation comprises of 3 tasteful bedrooms in the Victorian Lodge, whilst our 12 luxury Courtyard rooms - many with private balcony or garden terrace - are the perfect choice for those who appreciate thoughtful touches such as iPod docking stations & spacious bathrooms. Relax and let Craigmhor work its magic! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard Hotel Pitlochry
Craigmhor Lodge And Courtyard
Craigmhor Lodge & Courtyard Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing