We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“highly recommendable !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tir Aluinn Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tir Aluinn Guest House
Ranked #25 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kirchheim b. Munchen, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“highly recommendable !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

It was the first stop on our Scotland tour after we got off from the ferry in Newcastle and we enjoyed two wonderful days in Dave and Kathy's house. The room was very comfortable with a wonderful look high over the garden and the town. Breakfast is superb with a wide choice of different goodies.

In advance of our trip I had investigated a variety of B&B offers in Pitlochry through internet and I am very glad having chosen Tir Aluinn. It is close to the town centre but also very quiet and has a very reasonable price for everything (fre Wi-Fi included !!). We certainly will come back on a further trip...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanbruehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
46
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Best of the ~20 b&b's I have stayed at in the UK. Super nice hosts, big clean rooms with comfortable beds and close to town center. Free Wi-Fi. All for a below average price (35 pounds/person). Do visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank supmah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We were only able to stay in Pitlochry at Tir Aluin one night - we wished we could stay more! Kathy and Dave run a beautiful, immaculate, and very comfortable b&b. The price can't be beat, and the accommodations are exceptional. Breakfast was fantastic. The location is absolutely lovely, with great views and away from the hustle of the high street, but still within a short walking distance. We would absolutely stay here again - highly recommended!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Polite and pleasant hosts. Nicely appointed rooms with fantastic views. Best breakfast with fantastic choice. Very reasonably priced as well. Would use again for sure. Quiet location but close enough to town centre.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I look upon Tir Aluin as a home from home. Their guest house is without fault and Kathy and David are great and helpful hosts.Excellent location and a fantastic breakfast. I'm looking forward to my fourth stay in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dingo828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Dave and Kathy are a lovely couple, and their bed and breakfast is one of the best I have ever stayed in! We were there just over a week ago, and booked in at the last minute..what a fab choice, absolutely wonderful. The rooms are immaculate, warm, and extremely comfortable, and the breakfast is FANTASTIC!! Strongly recommended. Thank you both for your hospitality. Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uphall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

My family and I love Pitlochry and visit regularly, Tir Aluinn is our accomodation of choice every time. The Chipperfields are fantastic hosts and thier beautiful B&B is without fault. Excellent location, meticulously maintained, welcoming environment and my favourite......Top Notch breakfast..!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreggR847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.1 mi away
Birchwood
Birchwood
#15 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beinn Bhracaigh
Beinn Bhracaigh
#10 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#5 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dalshian Guest House
Dalshian Guest House
#12 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0.3 mi away
Rosehill Guest House
Rosehill Guest House
#18 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tir Aluinn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tir Aluinn Guest House

Property: Tir Aluinn Guest House
Address: 10 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Hotel Class:3 star — Tir Aluinn Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Tir Aluinn Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing