We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Pitlochry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Pitlochry”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed at Macdonalds for 4 nights (2 couples) in August 2009 not December 2012 (I did not have a choice for 2009 below) and used it as a base to travel around the area. Our rooms faced the front, although a tad small, it was spotless and comfortable. It is a family run business run by Neil and his wife, they are hands on and very friendly.Breakfast was good and plenty full. Loved the kippers on toast and you could have fish and chips at the Chippy. Recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Definitely rooms facing the road, not too noisy but very bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brushfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    86
    48
    23
    10
See reviews for
50
186
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Macdonalds Guest House exceeded my expectations in almost every way. It felt more like a small family-run hotel than a B&B. We received a friendly welcome and check-in was efficient. The rooms were great, bright and spacious and exceptionally clean and fresh-looking. It was a 15 minute walk from the theatre and while right on Pitlochry's high street, wasn't noisy. Breakfast was very good and the waiting staff attentive. We will definitely book in again next time we are staying in Pitlochry.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are particularly bright and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here for one night after a night at the theatre in Pitlochry (great show!) No complaints whatsoever, comfy, clean, very pleasant staff plus an excellent breakfast, Well done Macdonalds.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannie033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

After a 5hour stag and deer spotting trip at Atholl Estate We checked in and passed out for 2and a half hours in the fluffiest, comfiest bed! The room was quirky and very clean. We had dual view windows of the main street and the carpark. Freeview tv as standard -which was good. And the shower was excellent. Breakfast next morning was exquisite, with a good range on offer. All included in the reduced October rate. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

we stayed here for one night and were pleasantly surprised having not expected much due to it being a "last resort" booking as everywhere else seemed to be booked for the Enchanted Forest. However, the rooms turned out to be spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast in the restuarant was fine- you are asked to give a time between 8 and 9 and a table is reserved. The best thing is the location on the main street right in th centre of the town. Even though there is a pub next door the accomodation was very quiet and we did not hear any noise. Another bonus is that it was relatively inexpensive at £60 per night for 2. Would recomend for a one or two night stay and would probably return

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethrell2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This guest house is in a good location as it is on the Main street and only couple minutes from train station. McKays pub is next door but we didn't hear any noise and our room faced the front. Rooms are clean and a good size. They are as shown on pictures. Breakfast was great, good choice of hot options and it was cooked well. We had lunch in the restaurant which was just ok. The portions were small and we had better tasting meals in other restaurants. Service was good for breakfast and lunch. This guest house had more rooms than others I have stayed at. I felt it lost the personal touch that you usually get from guest house/B & B owners such as recommending places to visit, eat etc. I would still recommend it though.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timetraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This is a quaint B&B at the end of the main street in Pitlochry above a fish and chip shop. The rooms were clean and comfortable but the decor was a bit traditional for my taste, with the same pattern on the wall paper, curtains and chairs. Nice enough for a night or two in Pitlochry.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craigvrack
Craigvrack
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
1,202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buttonboss Lodge
Buttonboss Lodge
#18 of 65 in Pitlochry
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carra Beag Guest House
Carra Beag Guest House
#37 of 65 in Pitlochry
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Property: McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Address: 138 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AG, Scotland (Formerly Macdonalds Restaurant & Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing