We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay to visit 'The Enchanted Forest'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portgordon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to stay to visit 'The Enchanted Forest'”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Good value and quality place to stay. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly. For the price, this was very good value for money. We stayed for the weekend to visit the enchanted forest. The start point was at the Fishers hotel just down the road so it was very handy.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back or side as the street can be noisy at 'chucking out time' from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    86
    48
    23
    10
See reviews for
50
186
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We'e stayed here on a couple of occasions as it is right in the centre of Pitlochry ) although that it is not a large town by any means) and is handy for all the usual tourist amenities. Can be noisy at night with the local crowd in the pub/hotel next door but at £70 per room per night I can deal with that.

Staff are generally, as is to be expected these days in the UK hospitality industry, Eastern European but that is not to be taked as a negative. On the contrary, they were very helpful, chatty and exceptionally efficient. Their English was considerably better than some of the locals so a plus mark for them.

Our double room was compact but clean and freshly laundered judging by the smell when we entered. Neil is a chatty host and has a time for guests as they roam around the premises. The restaurant has a small terrace at the front that is, on the times we've visted, a wonderful sun trap and I recommend it for tourist/people watching (the garish styles and colours are always a good way to while away an hour or so). Drinks and light lunch snacks are very reasonably priced. They have their own car park just off the main street so another plus mark for a small guest house. There are certainly plusher and more salubrious places to lay your head if you are in the area but we like the homely feel about this place and will most likely visit again when we are in the vicinity.

Room Tip: If you are staying over a weekend avoid rooms overlooking the front as the pub next door is busy int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockDinosaur666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My wife & I had a two night stay, bed & breakfast, loft room was great, a very comfy bed & able to leave the windows open on a hot night. Scottish breakfast in the morning set us up for each day,all served by friendly staff. Definitely going back there next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed at Macdonalds for 4 nights (2 couples) in August 2009 not December 2012 (I did not have a choice for 2009 below) and used it as a base to travel around the area. Our rooms faced the front, although a tad small, it was spotless and comfortable. It is a family run business run by Neil and his wife, they are hands on and very friendly.Breakfast was good and plenty full. Loved the kippers on toast and you could have fish and chips at the Chippy. Recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Definitely rooms facing the road, not too noisy but very bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brushfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Macdonalds Guest House exceeded my expectations in almost every way. It felt more like a small family-run hotel than a B&B. We received a friendly welcome and check-in was efficient. The rooms were great, bright and spacious and exceptionally clean and fresh-looking. It was a 15 minute walk from the theatre and while right on Pitlochry's high street, wasn't noisy. Breakfast was very good and the waiting staff attentive. We will definitely book in again next time we are staying in Pitlochry.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are particularly bright and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brechin United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here for one night after a night at the theatre in Pitlochry (great show!) No complaints whatsoever, comfy, clean, very pleasant staff plus an excellent breakfast, Well done Macdonalds.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannie033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2011

After a 5hour stag and deer spotting trip at Atholl Estate We checked in and passed out for 2and a half hours in the fluffiest, comfiest bed! The room was quirky and very clean. We had dual view windows of the main street and the carpark. Freeview tv as standard -which was good. And the shower was excellent. Breakfast next morning was exquisite, with a good range on offer. All included in the reduced October rate. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HG07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craigvrack
Craigvrack
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
1,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buttonboss Lodge
Buttonboss Lodge
#17 of 65 in Pitlochry
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carra Beag Guest House
Carra Beag Guest House
#37 of 65 in Pitlochry
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Property: McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Address: 138 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5AG, Scotland (Formerly Macdonalds Restaurant & Guest House)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing