We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McKays Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Atholl Villa(Pitlochry)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$275
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
146
112
52
31
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
112
52
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraditional musicthe main hotelhaggis lasagnethe main streetmain barpub grubenchanted foresttrain stationbeautiful pitlochryno liftfriendly hotellovely mealnice roomshort breakgood nights sleeptwo night staychecking out
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed a couple of nights. Parking is next to the property at the side which was a big plus.
Pleasantly surprised to have the room at the front which over looked the main road and was directly above their fish & chip shop next door.
Loved the room decor even though this was not our taste and may not look too good in photos. The room was clean and tidy, spacious enough for our needs.
Just a couple of things we didn't like.
First was breakfast only served between 8am to 9am to which we felt didn't give enough of a window to have breakfast at our leisure. The Scottish breakfast had no square sausage, potato scones or haggis. The breakfast was nothing special but was adequate enough. Poached eggs on toast were cooked to my liking.
Second we felt that check out time was too soon as it was 10am. No time to relax and chill after breakfast.
But overall we would recommend it and stay again

Room Tip: We liked our room which was no7. Bear in mind this over looks the main road and can be noisy especially on a Friday night as we found but this didn't bother us.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a good centrally located guest house. Our room looked over the main road but it wasn't too noisy our friends had a room at the back and they slept well. The rooms are very clean, no extras like shampoo etc, but that's ok.
We didn't meet the owners but the girl on reception was friendly.
Breakfast was a disappointment for us, we didn't have a cooked breakfast just porridge ( awful) and toast, the coffee was cold but was quickly replaced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parfittm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

A very quaint, sweet little place on the main road. The location is great - you're next to some good pubs and restaurants. The rooms are a little pokey, but they're clean, warm and comfortable - the guest house serves as a perfect base for exploring the area. I didn't hear much noise at all from the nearby pubs so got a good night sleep. The breakfast service is efficient - you can order the night before. Be careful about checking in 8/9pm at certain points during the year as the reception desk isn't always open and I was told I'd have to collect my keys and check-in with the chip shop next door if we arrived after 8. Getting in and out of the guest house after the desk is closed and front door locked is not an issue as you get given a key to the main door. There's a small parking area off the road which was fine for us. I would go back and certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moggy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

lovely well priced hotel, staff were exceptional..my only drawback is that rooms were very small for a double

1  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed here for the Forbidden Forest Experience, which was amazing! This place is so sweet and quaint. It is what I think of when I think of a bed and breakfast. The owners were so good to us. They really went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay. We had some special requests and they were just lovely about helping us. They also told us the best places to go for good shopping as we wanted to buy a kilt and other great tips that made our stay better. Also the maids never knocked on our door no matter what time we left our room. They just waited until we were gone until coming in to clean.
The food is very good and there is a wonderful selection of cooked to order foods at breakfast that were included in the price of the stay. My husband absolutely loved the full Scottish breakfast! He had it every morning and it was huge and filling.
The location is perfect as it's right in the village and is central to walking to everything. There was an amazing pub next door that had live music that was just wonderful. It is a very homey place with games and great food. We loved it. It also has free parking off the street as well. The price was great; even better than most of the places in town.
We just loved our stay there and plan to stay there again when we come back to Scotland.

Room Tip: Take earplugs if you are there on a holiday or weekend as the music from the pub next door can stop a light sleeper from getting to sleep. My husband had no issue with it at all as it isn't super loud, but I am a light sleeper and needed them.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista_B8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews