We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Break at Rowanlea B&B Pitlochry”
Review of Rowanlea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowanlea
Ranked #30 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter Break at Rowanlea B&B Pitlochry”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This was our third visit to Rowanlea within 12 months. As usual, our hostess Gill was very welcoming and friendly. The location is brilliant and the views to the distant hills are stunning.The room was spacious and spotlessly clean while the bathroom/shower had an excellent supply of toiletries. The full Scottish breakfasts were very filling. All in all, it was a very relaxing break in an excellent location. If you are staying there and get a clear night, make sure you take a look at the sky - loads of stars and no light pollution.

Room Tip: The property has 2 bedrooms and both have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
88
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We are a retired couple who went to Rowan Lea for 10 days.
The owner was very welcoming and friendly, nothing was to much trouble. Everything at the hotel was spotlessly clean. The location was great. The whole holiday was very relaxing. The cooked breakfast was excellent. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mevagissey, cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had been touring north Scotland and were on our way home to Cornwall which took three days. Regrettably we were only staying here for one night. Everything is right. Huge room with sofa for sitting on and enjoying the view, or a table and chairs outside for warmer days. Large ensuite with all toiletries. Gill was most welcoming and has a great knowledge of the area, and things to do and see. . A few minutes walk away is the Golf Club which is ideal for an evening meal and reasonablypriced. We have run a B&B ourselves for many years and so know what is right and Rowanlea is. Breakst is also just right and delicious. We hope to come back and spend more time in the area and wouldn't think of looking elsewhere. If it's peace and quiet you want..but close enough to walk into the town here it is. Perfect.

Room Tip: Bothe rooms are the same but one has a bath with shower overit and the other just a shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Pierce County, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Our room was spacious, modern, and comfortable; the only one on our recent trip that had adequate room for our two suitcases and still allowed us to sit down. The bathroom/shower was also very spacious and everything was spotlessly clean. The large glass sliding door facing south allowed the sun to warm the room even on a chilly day and looked out on a large private garden. The location is on a charming lane on the hill above Pitlochry, away from the noise of the highway and rail line but a short 15 walk to the town. The only thing less than excellent for us was the breakfast; geared to those who want a cooked breakfast, the continental breakfast consisted of toast, small packets of jam, yogurt, etc., adequate but not notable.

Room Tip: Assuming both rooms are identical, either are an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanarko0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uphall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed here for the Caledonia Etape. Jill was a most gracious and welcoming host in fact just lovely. Nothing was any trouble, from the early breakfast to the secure bike storage. The rooms are well laid out and delightfully clean. It feels more like an apartment than a B&B. The location is sublime with beautiful views across the valley. Despite being less than a 10 minutes walk from the centre of Pitlochry it feels like you are in the heart of the country. You can almost feel your blood pressure drop as you arrive. If you are looking to stay in Pitlochry I cannot recommend it enough. Did I mention the great Breakfast. Given half a chance I will be visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Excellent hostess. Quiet rooms excellent breakfast. We spent a long weekend here in Ptlochery and enjoyed coming back to a nice quiet room to relax and unwind. great place to stay! Can recommend Rowanlea to anyone who wants to enjoy a good location to visit Scotland

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alkmaar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights.
A wonderful place!
The room, the view, the breakfast, the environment, the walks, the village, the people.
Jill is very nice, nothing seems to much for here.
We defenitly recommand this place

Room Tip: the Walker room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank estherjAlkmaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roseburn
Roseburn
#27 of 65 in Pitlochry
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Benvrackie
Benvrackie
#20 of 65 in Pitlochry
136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atholl Villa
Atholl Villa
#8 of 65 in Pitlochry
800 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ellangowan House
Ellangowan House
#29 of 65 in Pitlochry
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowanlea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowanlea

Property: Rowanlea
Address: Rowanlea Cuilc Brae, Pitlochry PH16 5QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowanlea is situated in its own grounds in a very quiet part of Pitlochry, close to the golf course and Cuilc (the duck pond). It has tremendous panoramic views across the Tummel valley to the hills beyond. It's a pleasant 10 minutes walk into the town centre where you can find all the shops and restaurants you require. Rowanlea is run and managed by Jilly Hawley who previously owned the Tigh na Cloich Hotel in Pitlochry. Her aim is to offer you a quiet, relaxing and enjoyable stay so that you'll want to return here on your next visit to Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowanlea Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing