We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay in clean, comfortable and modern accommodation with friendly, helpful owners.”
Review of Rowanlea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowanlea
Ranked #32 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic stay in clean, comfortable and modern accommodation with friendly, helpful owners.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here for three nights in May and recommend Rowanlea to anyone seeking clean, comfortable and modern accommodation. Owners couldn't have been more helpful, accommodating and friendly would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candles49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
86
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

One of the very best B&Bs that we have ever stayed in. Jilly was the perfect host, made us most welcome and took an interest in all that we were doing during our stay in Pitlochry. We able to come and go as we pleased without disturbing anyone. Excellent breakfasts. Wonderful bedrooms with lovely views ( when the weather permitted ! ) We'll certainly be back.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AandE648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in September as part of a two week tour of Scotland. We felt that we had found the perfect place to stay....very private and comfortable room with a wonderful bathroom. The views from our room were magnificent over towards the surrounding area.
The best thing about this B & B is that once you have checked in, you can come and go as you like without disturbing anyone else or being disturbed by other guests as you are in your own area at the back of the house, but could easily ask for any help and advice should you need it. The location is about 15 minutes walk from the town (which is easier going as its downhill!) however once you are familiarised its not a problem with the route.
Gill was the perfect host to us and able to offer her valuable knowledge of things to see and do. We very much enjoyed our stay which was made more special as the day we arrived was Highland Games day (which Gill had previously tipped us off about) and we took advantage of seeing this.

Should we return to Pitlochry then we would endeavour to stay at Rowanlea again .

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed again in August, as usual Jilly the perfect host nothing to much trouble,even offered to cook us a breakfast as we wanted to leave before 6am in the morning! have already booked for next year and are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odonogeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

The room and breakfast were good, but we didn't like having to come and go through the patio doors, there was no window so we had to sleep with the door open. We also thought it odd that we couldn't get to our room from the front door of the house but had to go down an outside slope. I was reading an earlier review about this and although we didn't have mobility problems like that person, we did find it unsatisfactory. Sorry to say that the lady running it never seemed to leave us to eat our breakfast in peace and seemed to dominate all conversations we tried to have with the other guests. But the view was nice, so too was the room and shower room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veemort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed three nights here at the end of August. Thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Spotless accommodation and great breakfasts. Such a beautiful location. It is very much on a hill and the views are wonderful.

Room Tip: Not for disabled visitors though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We have visited Rowanlea several times and always find Gilly very accommodating. The room is very comfortable and we feel very much at home. Would recommend to any of our friends. We look forward to visiting again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.5 mi away
Craigvrack Hotel
Craigvrack Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.3 mi away
Benvrackie
Benvrackie
#19 of 66 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
2.0 mi away
Dalshian Guest House
Dalshian Guest House
#9 of 66 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Willows Bed & Breakfast
Willows Bed & Breakfast
#41 of 66 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#5 of 66 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowanlea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowanlea

Property: Rowanlea
Address: Rowanlea Cuilc Brae, Pitlochry PH16 5QS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowanlea is situated in its own grounds in a very quiet part of Pitlochry, close to the golf course and Cuilc (the duck pond). It has tremendous panoramic views across the Tummel valley to the hills beyond. It's a pleasant 10 minutes walk into the town centre where you can find all the shops and restaurants you require. Rowanlea is run and managed by Jilly Hawley who previously owned the Tigh na Cloich Hotel in Pitlochry. Her aim is to offer you a quiet, relaxing and enjoyable stay so that you'll want to return here on your next visit to Pitlochry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rowanlea Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing