We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmly recommended”
Review of Buttonboss Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buttonboss Lodge
Ranked #18 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This guest house is brilliantly positioned, at the bottom end of the high street and just moments away from shops, restaurants and pubs.
The rooms are a good size and well maintained/cleaned. The welcome that you get from Cristian and Christina is warm and helpful (e.g. Cristian offered to drive us to Aberfeldy, so we avoided a taxi ride or driving ourselves, which was very much appreciated).
The food for breakfast was superb, and the addition of lorne sausage (Scottish 'delicacy') was a welcome reminder of my years living in Glasgow and Perth. Lovely!
Everything was easy-going and relaxed, just what we needed.

Room Tip: If you are going with friends, the twin rooms are en suite.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kneeboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian L, Manager at Buttonboss Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you very much for your nice words.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Buttonboss Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for a weekend. The staff are very friendly. We received coffee, pancakes, and biscuits as soon as we arrived! The pancakes are FANTASTIC. Take a few with you when you go on some hikes. :o) Also, the coffee was good! The room was clean, cozy, and had a great view of the mountains. Breakfast is wonderful so make sure you don't miss it! Noise wasn't a problem. My only complaint is that the bed was very uncomfortable. We were exhausted from the lack of sleep paired with all the hiking that we did. Maybe it was just a very old mattress in that particular room...

The Buttonboss Lodge is in a great location. The Visitor Center is just across the street, and there are some great restaurants just around the corner. We'll definitely stay here again for our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side of the building have a great view! We were in room 5.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian L, Manager at Buttonboss Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Kristal,

Thank you for your nice and honest review.
Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you again with some pancakes in the future.

Kindest regards,
Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Arrived in Pitlochry having no where to stay until we saw the Buttonboss Lodge. Couldnt have asked for anything better. After being round some unfriendly hotels we were greeted with a warm welcome and TEA! It is near everything you need for a short break in Pitlochry. Room was very clean and the breakfast was delish! The Lodge itself was cosy with a friendly atmosphere. couldnt have asked for better!

Room Tip: Room 3 view of the landscape and very cosy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian L, Manager at Buttonboss Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Caitlin,

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and Pitlochry itsfelf.
Hope we'll see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Welcome whith Tea Time and home made délicates flacons of cookies!
À well-lit room a confortable bed and help full.
We had Best of breakfast before hit ring the road for the Highlands!
If necessary, the hostess give the information you need to visit the local.
I Will Côme Back ;))

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LineDiya75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian L, Manager at Buttonboss Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank your for your kind response. It's nice to know that you had a good experience staying with us.

Hope we'll see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Great place ! Best breakfast ever ! For go on scottish trip to Highlands !
The room are very confortable and Very warm welcome and are very helpful gerants.
Bref si vous voulez passer un bon moment c'est le bon endroit

Don't hesitate to test it !

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phanthomasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian L, Manager at Buttonboss Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Hi William,

Thank you for your nice review. Hope your trip on the west coast and up north was very good.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Buttonboss Lodge and Pitlochry in the future.

Kindest regards,

Cristian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

On our tour through Scotland we stayed at this establisment for one night. We were welcomed warmly and surprised to find out that Marlene was also from the Netherlands. We had a long conversation and she was a wonderful source of information to us.
She recommended a tour through the village, which we did and we saw some salmons jumping up the stream. This inspired us to go and eat the fish cakes at a restaurant in the town.
The room and ensuite bathroom were clean and a good size. For breakfast there was choice of continental and/or cooked breakfast. A good choice of cerials and jams too. The pancakes were delicious, couldn't get enough.
We would certainly come back, if

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissKuper1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cristian L, Manager at Buttonboss Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear Miss Kuper,

It's very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you enjoyed Pitlochry as well.

Thank you very much for your comments and hope we'll see you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stubbled on this place on a late afternoon arrival last week. Opposite the Tourist Office and just on the edge of busy main street Button Boss offered us a comfortable and homely stay.

It was clean and welcoming and we were offered pancakes and tea as soon as we walked in.

Breakfast was a real treat - a full english with delicious thick cut bacon. I also had some added pancakes and maple syrup and a bowl of cereal - so definitely enough option for the fussier guest.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jstyletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,838 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,004 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#3 of 65 in Pitlochry
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttonboss Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttonboss Lodge

Address: 25 Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £69 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Buttonboss Lodge, a beautiful Victorian house located in the centre of Pitlochry. Only a few minutes from the shops yet set in its own peaceful, well-maintained gardens, where guests can sit out and enjoy wonderful views of the local mountain, Ben-y-Vrackie. We have ample private off road parking and a garage for motorcycle security, and free Wi-fi for the guests. Whether you enjoy theatre, fishing, walking, cycling, golfing or just relaxing Buttonboss is ideally situated to make the most of you holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Buttonboss Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buttonboss Lodge Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing