We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of tranquillity”
Review of Ashbank House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashbank House
Ranked #42 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My partner and i were only looking for a one night stay,we were so overjoyed by our stay at Ashbank House.Helen and Bob are wonderful hoists they go the extra without even realizing their doing it for you.Highly recommend anyone thats staying in Pitlochrie to check this out,rates are excellent,food is excellent,comfort excellent.Mr &Mrs Murr were excellent......i dont think you would get any better in Pitlochrie.Top marks,for top people Helen & Bob.Well done and Thank-you

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fcfrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Our hosts Helen and Bob were warm and welcoming and we felt more like friends than guests. The surrounds to their home were beautiful. Our accommodation was well appointed, so pretty, tasteful and immaculately maintained. Their home was the highlight of our trip to Pitlochrie leaving us with unforgettable and treasured memories.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the back garden and the view from the window was an absolute joy. We have return...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark and Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Just back from a weekend in Pitlochrie after completing the Etape Caledonia cycling event.
Firstly, the town of Pitlochrie is really picturesque and is perfect for walking, cycling and other outdoor activities.
We were lucky enough to have booked this gem of a b&b. From the moment of our arrival, we were made feel really at home and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, Helen and Bob.
We has a twin room which was very spacious with lots of storage space for our clothing. The room itself was spotlessly clean and had a very comfortable temperature. The ensuite bathroom always had plenty of hot water and the power shower was much appreciated after a day cycling.
We were allowed to use their lock up garage for our bikes which made life easy.
The house itself is located just over 1 km from the town centre and is in a really quiet and peaceful location. The garden is a delight with a little stream running through the back garden accessible down some steps from the house, and is pure tranquility itself.
Breakfast was delicious, with the usual cereal choices along with freshly cooked porridge, full Scottish cooked breakfast of oven cooked omelette. We tried all during our 3 night stay and all were just devine.
We met some other people staying here for whom it was their 4th or 5th time coming here which speaks for itself.
Overall this was definately the best b&b I have ever stayed in, and should I be lucky enough to come back to this lovley area, I would have no hesitation in staying in Ashbank House with Helen & Bob.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wexfordphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here August 2010, It was an emotional time as I was meeting up with my Brothers in pitlochry to celebrate my parents life's as this was there favorite holiday destination. My wife booked here but we had no idea what it would be like? We should not have worried as it was a lovely place witch was only improved by the welcoming owners Helen and Bob. The room was clean spacious, the grounds were lovely and the breakfast was very good. It a perfect distance from town to walk and yet far enough away as not to here any noise at night and the gentle sound of the stream was lovely. I would go back in a heartbeat

Room Tip: Just ask, they would be happy to help....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowlandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at the B+B on an unusally mild weekend in February. We stayed in the double room on the top floor, which has low ceilings but this was fine as we are both quite small anyway! The room was lovely, and we had a separate bathroom (private) next door which was huge with a lovely bath and a dressing table - perfect for getting ready in the evening. Breakfast in the morning was very good, with home baking available alongside a great full Scottish breakfast.

The B+B is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of town up a hill, but we liked this as it felt a bit more secluded. It also makes it easier to walk to Moulin to go to the lovely inn there, and we also walked from the B+B through the woods to the Eradour distillery (about a 30 minute walk).

Helen was really friendly and helpful, with suggestions of what to do whilst in Pitlochry. I would definately recommend this B+B, particularly for couples who like a bit of walking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmcn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed with Helen and Bob in their gorgeous house two Summers ago and were very sad when last August we left it a bit late in booking and they couldn't accommodate us.
It's bit out of the main street, a brisk 15 mins walk (even 25 if you have small feet padding alongside yours!) from the train or bus Station in Pitlochry but once you get there well worth the effort.
Lovely views over the woods (husband swore he saw a deer) and lulled to sleep by the murmuring stream.
Excellent base for a walk up to the hamlet of Moulin and a visit (with ample samples!) to the tiny Moulin Ale Brewery
Well-appointed, cosy rooms, breakfast to die for, the children can use the trampoline and if the weather's nice you could help yourself and cook something on the barbecue (unfortunately it never was THAT nice when we were there).
Nothing's too much trouble for your hosts and we feasted every day with Helen's lovely homebaking and breakfast goodies.
Our daughter didn't want to leave (Smoo, the cat knows something about that) and Helen presenting her with "Heather the Highland Cow" book as goodbye present had her claiming "this is the most loveliest B&B I will ever ever ever be, mummy!"

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Silvia0170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My Fiance and I stayed here whilst attending the Glenfiddich Piping Championships in nearby Blair Atholl.
We were housed at the top of this B&B with the entire floor to ourselves. This area consisted of a small hall, private bathroom and double bedroom. All of the rooms were clean and well appointed with a selection of tea and coffee included.
The breakfast was very good with a continental selection and hearty cooked option. The proprietors were very friendly and accommodating and I would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murphy2384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bruach Mhor Guest House
Bruach Mhor Guest House
#29 of 65 in Pitlochry
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atholl Villa
Atholl Villa
#9 of 65 in Pitlochry
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbank House

Address: 14 Tomcroy Terrace, Pitlochry PH16 5JA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £21 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern edge of the lovely Victorian Highland town of Pitlochry, Ashbank House is a delightful three star bed and breakfast, run by Helen and Bob Murr. Beautifully decorated to create a relaxed home from home feel, the accommodation is very well presented and maintained to a high standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashbank House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing