We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming B & B”
Review of Ashbank House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashbank House
Ranked #42 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed here for just one night on a journey from the Northern Isles down to Cumbria, owner Helen could not have been more welcoming to us and our pet parrot. Our twin bedded room whilst small (the shower room especially so!) was spotlessly clean, beds comfortable and room was well thought out, good quality tv, tea, coffee and very tasty home made shortbread. Breakfast was very good indeed with a great choice and all of good quality. Garden and sitting out areas lovely and bird feeders well-stocked and popular with a variety of birds. Would not hesitate to book Ashbank House again.

Room Tip: Twin en-suite is very good and has a lovely view over garden and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnC220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

This was a very nice B&B tucked up the hill from the main road through Pitlochry, yet very easy to find. The room was spotless and the breakfast very generous. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay in Pitlochry.

Room Tip: Our room looked out over the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpinningGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Lovely hosts and great breakfast. Fantastic Parking. Perfect patio area for looking in to the forest, watching squirrels and having a glass of wine/Reading a book. Great for chilling out.

Our Bedroom was probably the most dated of our recent tour of Perthshire, but this is more that relfected in the price. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Whilst this B&B is further up the hill in Pitlochry I wouldn't say it's far and I'm a fuller figured female Very shy of exercise! Walk is a welcome relief after sampling the delights of Pitlochry. It is a 10-15 min walk into town. (would be too far for anyone with mobility concerns)

Thanks for lovely time. looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slimsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed here with friends for two nights during our weeks motorcycle tour. The rooms are charming, breakfast fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. It is in a lovely quiet location just 10 minutes walk from Pitlochry centre. The house and gardens are superb. Would highly recommend and would definatly stay again. Many thanks to great hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mish13-03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Helen warmly welcomed us to Ashbank House. It’s in the perfect place nice and quiet and relaxing. The back gardens are beautiful and the views really are tranquil. Compared to other B&Bs we have stayed in this is by far the best, The room was large and felt like home from home. The bed was comfortable. The room had coffee, tea and home baked shortbread available. For breakfast in the mornings, we had the best oven-baked omelettes and oat cakes we have ever tasted. Helen and Bob do a great job and work hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Room Tip: Ask to see if the large double room is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

A wonderful place to stay. Helen and Bob were a lovely couple who could not do enough for us.
The house and gardens are really lovely and we will highly recommend it to all our friends.Thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We chose this B&B based upon trip advisor and the fact that it wasn't too close to downtown Pitlochry, but is a nice ten minute walk down there. When we talked Helen was apologetic that they just had the small double room available, but it was just right for my wife and I. Since it turned out to be a lovely evening we went downtown for dinner and walked around for a while and then came back to enjoy sitting in their garden in the evening and just enjoy the wonderful work they are doing to make the outside just as comfortable as the inside. If we didn't have plans to go down to meet up with friends the next night we could have easily enjoyed another night there.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank DrDbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bruach Mhor Guest House
Bruach Mhor Guest House
#29 of 65 in Pitlochry
73 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atholl Villa
Atholl Villa
#9 of 65 in Pitlochry
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashbank House

Address: 14 Tomcroy Terrace, Pitlochry PH16 5JA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £21 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern edge of the lovely Victorian Highland town of Pitlochry, Ashbank House is a delightful three star bed and breakfast, run by Helen and Bob Murr. Beautifully decorated to create a relaxed home from home feel, the accommodation is very well presented and maintained to a high standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashbank House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing