We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food”
Review of McKays

McKays
Ranked #20 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: McKays Pitlochry is a traditional Scottish pub and live entertainment venue serving the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits as well as showcasing the best local, national and International acts. It is open from noon each day till late every night and is a true alternative destination in the Scottish social scene.For more information on the full music and entertainment programme click herePitlochry's great value pub entertainment and food venue at McKays bar and restaurant we are becoming well known for our steaks and pub classics like fish and chips and steak and ale pie. We serve a variety of dishes to cater for every ones tastes. Each day we have a special promotion. Food is served from early to late.McKays Bar and Restaurant are delighted to announce that there is WiFi on the premises for all customers' use.While in the pub you can watch sports, listen to live musicians or join in our themed nights, which we run through out the year. We also hold a late license that allows you to party on into the early hours to live music, and the sounds played by our resident D.J Hen parties, sports tours and clubs are all welcome.About McKays Scottish Bar and RestaurantMcKays has been providing hospitality for over a hundred years, we pride ourselves on our service and quality. In recent times we have refurbished our bar and restaurant area, making it an ideal place to relax, eat and be entertained for young and old, whilst enjoying true Scottish hospitality.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I admit both myself and my partner were very hungry when we visited. We found the menu a bit basic with one or two Scottish additions, but as expected for 'pub grub'.
Our order took quite a while to arrive, but when it did we found it to be very wholesome and filling. I had burger and chips which I thought was fab, my partner had mince 'n 'tatties' which he found a little salty for his palette ( and did nothing for his high cholesterol!) but the meat was really good and no fatty bits.
Pudding for me was sticky toffee pud with ice-cream. This was a good choice and was really flavoursome and my partner had apple pie and custard (his favourite!) and he said it was very good and that the apples used were sweet and just right.
We felt that the food was a little pricy with portion sizes a little small (or maybe the plates were big!)
The overall atmosphere was a little lacking in 'Scottishness' although the staff were wearing kilts.
Nice meal overall, shame about the ambience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKays m, General Manager at McKays, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Melanie050

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, we really do appreciates good and bad feedback. I do apologise that you felt there was no atmosphere, its certainly not the kind of comment we get , but are very happy to hear you enjoyed your food so much. We do hope you will call in again sometime soon.

Many thanks
Jonathan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    419
    194
    107
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rutherglen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Had visited to have lunch but after reading the menu settled for a quick drink as I couldent see anything that tempted and I did think the prices a bit steep-pint of Bellhaven Black was nice and the service ok-tables outside were overdue a wipe and ashtrays were overflowing,considering it was quiet, inexcusable.Toilets basic but clean-overall a average establishment.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKays m, General Manager at McKays, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
HI Eddie M

Many thanks for leaving this very constructive review, I have passed this on to our manager and he will of course make a point of sorting this problem out, I agree its not nice to see that on the tables when you fist walk in to a restaurant. We do hope to see you again some time in the future.

Many thanks

Sophie

Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An overpriced pub.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Tuesday evening with a family of six, order and pay at the bar before you see what you are getting, food was nice but portions not that great considering the price and after all It's a pub not a restaurant, £4.50 for a pint of Kronenbourg is a rip off, there are Hotels nearby that charge much less!

Helpful?
Thank John H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKays m, General Manager at McKays, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
HI John HH

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review, we really do appreciates as many good or bad comments as we learn from all of them.

However you are drinking in a rural town not in a city and we charge these prices as in the city they can work on volume hence charging much cheaper prices. The way we operate by people ordering and paying at the bar works brilliant for our business and customer and always. If there was at all any problems with your meal it just a normal restaurant so you can of course tell a member of the team and they would deal with it just like in any other restaurant would. I'm struggling to understand your complaint?


Many thanks and I do hope to see you again some time soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome ambience, fantastic food & sterling service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Warm atmosphere
Delicious food (beef goulash & burger)
Free Whisky tasting every Friday (Ian from Blair Athol distillery is amazing)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dixie-Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKays m, General Manager at McKays, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hi Dixie-Shanghai

We are so so pleased you have such a wonderful time, we really do appreciates good hearing such positive feedback, the Whisky tasting is every Tuesday evening from 7.30pm so please do return for another lovely evening some time soon.

Many thanks
Jonathan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pasta Buffet!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Fantastic service and a pasta buffet, perfect after drinking a lot at the Edradour distillery!

In fact, we were so well fed that we did jagerbombs afterwards!! Friendly staff and great atmosphere. Well worth a visit and pasta buffet a great idea for families.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheikh_Well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McKays m, General Manager at McKays, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello Sheikh_Well

Many thanks for you lovely comments and are so pleased you have such a wonderful time, we really do appreciates good and bad feedback as we learn from both. We do hope you will call in again sometime soon as we will most certainly have our pasta buffet on for the Etape race again next May 2015.

Many thanks
Jonathan
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McKays also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to McKays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing