We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”
Review of McKays

McKays
Ranked #20 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Price range: US$6 - US$38
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: McKays Pitlochry is a traditional Scottish pub and live entertainment venue serving the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits as well as showcasing the best local, national and International acts. It is open from noon each day till late every night and is a true alternative destination in the Scottish social scene.For more information on the full music and entertainment programme click herePitlochry's great value pub entertainment and food venue at McKays bar and restaurant we are becoming well known for our steaks and pub classics like fish and chips and steak and ale pie. We serve a variety of dishes to cater for every ones tastes. Each day we have a special promotion. Food is served from early to late.McKays Bar and Restaurant are delighted to announce that there is WiFi on the premises for all customers' use.While in the pub you can watch sports, listen to live musicians or join in our themed nights, which we run through out the year. We also hold a late license that allows you to party on into the early hours to live music, and the sounds played by our resident D.J Hen parties, sports tours and clubs are all welcome.About McKays Scottish Bar and RestaurantMcKays has been providing hospitality for over a hundred years, we pride ourselves on our service and quality. In recent times we have refurbished our bar and restaurant area, making it an ideal place to relax, eat and be entertained for young and old, whilst enjoying true Scottish hospitality.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Meal of scampi and chips and fish and chips was ok,chips a bit hard,ages to wait at bar for drinks,we chose their as they were supposedly showing the celtic game at night.we had to ask four times for the channel to be changed over,and staff didn't seem interested,understand the pub was filling up but this was like over an hour,even then their was no volume to the game ,was ok for afternoon drink but wouldn't eat there again

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pammij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    419
    194
    107
    93
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Forgettable”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stopped at McKays for lunch during a day of shopping in Pitlochry. Basically McKays is a slightly upmarket Wetherspoons with much higher prices. The food was ok, I had ribs which weren't the best but I've had far worse. My wife had the mince and tatties which were decent. We had to wait 30 mins for our food but were warned of this when ordering. Unfortunately there was a language barrier with all of the waiting staff. Being a job that needs good communication I think the management should address this issue. The staff seemed to have trouble keeping up with the volume of clientele, especially on the cleaning side of things. Overall it is a tourist trap designed to rake in the money with minimal investment. I will not be eating here again when in Pitlochry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreK933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and good specials!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We ate here for dinner. Three of us ordered specials from the board and were very satisfied! Our other friend had a salad from the menu and was not so much happy with it. She said it was small and not enough chicken on it.

I ordered the spaghetti bolognaise - yum! The portion was huge, very satisfying, and tasty.

When you are in Pitlochry, stop by!

Helpful?
Thank Travel206Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Sadly we chose this place for lunch, the food was basic and not great. My pal had mince and tatties and hard to believe they couldn't get that right, she said it was tasteless. I had spaghetti bolognaise, which was lukewarm, dry and very little bolognaise. The staff were inattentive, it took me several times of repeating for the girl to get our order right, shame really as we might have got something else! Which might have been better.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We went here yesterday for lunch. Ordered two soup and sandwich deal. Sat for almost 30 mins still no food. My other half then asked about our food which we were informed had not been rung through the till,however money was taken. When our food finally arrived it was the wrong soup. When questioned on this they told me they had ran out of the soup we wanted so rather than let us know they just planted an alternative. Its a shame because the food we received was really good just really bad service. Doubt we will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McKays also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to McKays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing