We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location - great food”

Killiecrankie Hotel
Ranked #26 of 58 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Price range: US$6 - US$66
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Killiecrankie Hotel is a friendly family-run hotel 3 miles from Pitlochry, in Highland Perthshire. The location is stunning: the hotel overlooks the Pass of Killiecrankie, a deep, tree-lined river gorge formed by the River Garry cutting its way through the surrounding granite hills. Credentials are plentiful, with three Red Stars & two Rosettes from the AA, Scottish Hotel of the Year from the Good Hotel Guide 2011 and an entry in the Good Food Guide. A daily changing menu provides eg. a salad of smoked Rannoch duck breast with walnuts and orange dressing, then perhaps a delicious whole quail, roasted, boned and stuffed with chicken and red onion mousse. Round things off with the raspberry and frangipane flan with ice cream and a mixed berry compote. A less formal arrangement is also available in The Bar Conservatory
Reviewed 23 June 2017

A mid week dinner in the dining room is a great experience. The atmosphere is warm and relaxing, and the staff very welcoming including Beanie the owner's spaniel. The menu offers a choice of 4 or 5 options for all three courses, and includes a good selection of cheese, which you help yourself to at the end of the meal - if you have room. The food is excellent- the venison is melt in the mouth tender, and the chicken moist and delicious. The wine list is interesting and extensive, and if you are undecided, ask Calum who is very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the offering.
A great night out

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nixon6he
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killiecrankie, Owner at Killiecrankie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

What a very nice review - thank you so much for taking the time to write it! We are lucky enough to have a wonderful team here at the hotel, spearheaded, as you say, by Beanie and you are correct about Calum and his enthusiasm for wine (both consumption and knowledge.

Come and see us again soon - it's always a please, but don't wait until the next birthday.

Henrietta etc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2017

We visited for a family lunch on Saturday.. Our party ranged in age from 5 to almost 90. We chose the right venue for our get together. The owner was welcoming as were the staff. The hotel is set in a lovely garden which you are encouraged to explore. We ate in the conservatory. Lovely views of the gardens and birds on the bird feeder.
The children in the party were able to play outside between courses allowing the adults to chat. The food was good and there was a varied menu. We were only there for lunch but the hotel looked full of character. The toilets are spotless and again full of character and with little personnel touches. My granddaughter gave the toilets nine and half out of ten. When I asked her why she said that the toilets at the last holiday she had stayed at were 10 out of 10 and had won loo of the year...so something to aspire to.
Oh and I forgot the little dog cute

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PatfamilyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killiecrankie, Owner at Killiecrankie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to review your recent visit to us. This spell of weather has certainly helped when sending the young outside to play! We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch so much and please tell your granddaughter that Loo of the Year is on my bucket list!

Look forward to seeing you again soon

Henrietta and the team at Killiecrankie (and the cute dog!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

Midweek dinner in the dining room, the first week of the current season. Interesting menu providing showcase for Scottish produce. Staff were helpful and chatty. Good wine list. Were staying elsewhere, so this review is confined to the restaurant side of the business. The dog (multiple photos by other reviewers) is lovely and as good an ambassador for the place as you can get. Very nice night. Thanks to all concerned.

Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killiecrankie, Owner at Killiecrankie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review - we really appreciate it - The dog, hopefully never a nuisance, is indeed the most friendly of the staff - and comes cheap too, although appreciates forbidden tips from the table:(

Hopefully we can see you here again before too long when you next happen to be in the area.

With best wishes from the team at Killiecrankie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

We popped in here for a coffee whilst on a 15 mile hike and the staff were very kind and the fresh coffee was very good. The setting is lovely and the hotel is very well kept. The gorgeous hotel dog also enjoyed an old biscuit out of my rucksack! Well worth popping if visiting the famous gorge across the road.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AdrianH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

Great atmosphere and good company.apart from a minor mix up over diet (well handled) this was a superb meal.

Thank arobinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Killiecrankie Hotel also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Killiecrankie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing