We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great night's stay”
Review of Ellangowan House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ellangowan House
Ranked #29 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Guildford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A great night's stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Only had the opportunity to stay for one night, but this would be an ideal spot for a longer stay to explore the wonderful area around Pitlochry. As others have commented this is a lovely old house with superbly decorated, large rooms - at least our bedroom and the dining room were! The décor in the dining room in which we enjoyed a hearty cooked breakfast (the black pudding was exquisite) was amazing.
Both Mairi and Sean made us feel completely at home and were very helpful in giving guidance for local amenities.
All-in-all thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagatripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This B&B seems more like living in an old mansion. In a beautifully modernized large house, the room we stayed in was very large with a high ceiling. The adjacent bathroom was almost as large as the sleeping area.
The hosts live with their family in a separate part of the house - and did not "overlap" with us - except to prepare a delicious breakfast in a large, nicely-furnished dining room.
There is adequate off-street parking and access to gardens located below and behind the house. Very picturesque. Close to other sights in Pitlochry.
We had stayed in Pitlochry in the past - but this was definitely a more elegant experience. It was one of the more expensive B&Bs in our price range, but worth it.
This was the only B&B booked prior to travel, which required payment in advance - at the time of booking. Not a problem, but not our usual experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent two nights at this beautiful B & B. We had a lovely welcome and felt instantly at home. The room was excellent and very clean, comfortable and cozy. We had all we needed and more. The en-suite was large and spotlessly clean with complimentary toiletries and fluffy white towels. We had stunning views. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices i.e. fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurts, cooked breakfast, lots of toast and tea/coffee. Just perfect! Would definitely recommend and will definitely go back again. Its a great location for Pitlochry town centre and within walking distance to Pitlochry Theatre.

Room Tip: All rooms will be beautiful so no need to worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dotsattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We booked very last minute but got a warm welcome. The double room was lovely, bright and spacious. Breakfast in the morning was great - fresh fruit, cooked and toast exactly what you need. Would definitely consider here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank da c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We booked 2 rooms for 3 nights at this bed and breakfast. We were thrilled to discover this was no ordinary b&b (as we thought) - the house style and quality is exceptional, and the rooms were fantastic. We got 2 huge rooms to the front of the house with enormous bathrooms which are that of, if not better than, the standard of hotels.
Breakfast was delicious, with excellent coffee!
The town is a short stroll away. As accommodation prices go in this area, it great value for money. We will definately be back to stay.
P.s. The website photos of the rooms do not do this place justice!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsflavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed for two nights here on our tour of Scotland.Easy to find on a quiet street just above the town, easy walks to the pubs and restaurants.parking no problem on the large driveway.
We were met by Mairi, who gave us a warm welcome.Our room was huge overlooking the front garden and trees below.
The room was extremely clean and comfortable, with a large bathroom too.Breakfast was excellent too.Some tasty alternates to the usual on offer.
Though this is a family home, it is so large you will not feel you are intruding !
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hywel_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Me and my mate were doing a bike race (the Etape Caledonia) that starts in Pitlochry and were lucky enough to get this B & B. I cannot fault it. I mention the bike race because one reviewer has written about the inhospitality they received from the owners. The race starts very early and Mairi got up at 5am so she could do us a breakfast. Her husband Sean let us use their double garage for our bikes, kept his cars outside and offered us some stuff for cleaning them afterwards. Sean also made sure to find us as we were leaving to wish us a safe journey. For us they were friendly, accommodating and very welcoming. I would ignore that one review. As others have said the house is immaculate and the breakfasts would not be out of place in a 5 star hotel - included in the choices were smoked salmon and a fruit bowl of fresh strawberries! The last thing me and my mate did before leaving was to book again for next year - I think that says it all.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.0 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 66 in Pitlochry
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#1 of 66 in Pitlochry
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atholl Villa
Atholl Villa
#8 of 66 in Pitlochry
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Riverwood
Riverwood
#1 of 3 in Strathtay
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#2 of 66 in Pitlochry
1,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#5 of 66 in Pitlochry
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellangowan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellangowan House

Property: Ellangowan House
Address: Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellangowan House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ellangowan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellangowan House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing