We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place to stay in Pitlochry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 66 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay in Pitlochry”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Definitely a well organized B&B. Plenty of parking place. Just off the main road of Pitlochry. Room in excellent order and very clean. A bit small, though, which made it difficult to open the suitcases. A good breakfast, with fresh fruit. Owner very knowlegeable of Pitlochry and very helpful with information, also about surrounding areas. Special features: cotton wool for removing make-up and a cosy lounge for guests where it is nice to relax.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deomon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    42
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
159
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holstebro, Denmark
Level Contributor
649 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Very good B & B in the turist town of Pitlochry, free and easy parking , located in a nice area with no traffic noice and with a lovely garden overlooking the mountains. Only 5 min walk to the center and a number of places to dine.
The rooms were very nice, modern and very clean but not the biggest. We were warm welcomed and had a very good breakfirst in the morning with all we could wish. Staff very friendly. We stayed 1 nigth and the B & B is very well located to all the attractions in the area and at the same time easy acces to the roads going south again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danes55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We have been to Pitlochry for four days and we were glad to have been able to stay at such a nice place. The whole stuff has been helpful, pleasant and warm-hearted. The rooms are small but comfortable and neat. We especially enjoyed the nicely done breakfast including fresh fruits and Scottish specialities. Pitlochry can be a tourist's trap at times but Derrybeg is really worth a stay!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anglaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Spent our second night in Pitlochry at Derrybeg. This was a spur of the moment trip and we had not booked, but the owner was a delightful lady and let us leave our bag until our room was ready. The room itself was beautiful, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. Very nice ensuite with bath and shower. Breakfast was excellent, with the option of fresh fruit platters which were beautifully presented. Would not hesitate to recommend for a relaxing stay. Hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Very welcoming and helpful on arrival. Rooms very clean and comfortable with great views. Nice to have the use of a residents lounge , Breakfast excellent. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request rooms with views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derf2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Agree with seniortravleer that whilst this is a nice place with nice service we also struggled to see how it merits 4 star on the visit scotland website. Have stayed in several 4 star places and they do vary greatly. If you are after a clean place to rest your head and walkable into town then this is for you. If you are looking for a bit of nice comforts away from home then perhaps look elsewhere. Having said that it is reasonable value for the money we paid and you do get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SybarJeagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Stayed there last Saturday Night (July 2010). Greeted courteously and efficiently without getting in the way. The room was scrupulously clean and looked like it had recently received a make-over. Pitlochry town centre only 10 minutes away (if that) by foot. Breakfast delicious fresh fruit on offer as well as more traditional optiions - all in all well recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curmudgeonlydrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.1 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,861 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0.5 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#5 of 66 in Pitlochry
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast

Property: Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Address: 18 Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derrybeg is an eight bedroom Edwardian Bed and Breakfast set in a quiet street in the pretty Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry. With stunning views of the Tummel Valley, we invite you to sample our warm and welcoming hospitality. Our aim at Derrybeg is simple, we want to provide you with a calming and relaxing environment to enjoy your holiday in the beautiful county of Highland Perthshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derrybeg Bed And Breakfast Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing