We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B & B in Pitlochry” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely B & B in Pitlochry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at the Derybeg B & B for 3 night at the weekend. Marion welcomed us very warmly and showed us to our room. The breakfasts were lovely with plenty of choice and the rooms were always kept nice and clean. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    41
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
141
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed here with my wife and her aunt on a one night visit to Pitlochry ostensibly to visit The Pitlochry Festival Theatre in mid August. The welcome was excellent - Marion really took the time to chat, make us feel at home whilst settling us in. Our room [room 1] was what i would describe as medium sized with a no frills en-suite. Our room [and generally the house as a whole] is spotlessly clean and appear to be well maintained. The view from the room is nice, looking out over the main street of Pitlochy into the distance where the Hills leading to the Tummel Valley can be enjoyed. There is a good selection of brand name tea/coffee/hot chocolate beverages on the tea tray - also a complimentary toffee which was a tasty plus. The bed was comfortable and to our liking and in my opinion isn't due for renewal in the short term - but that is obviously a very personal thing.

As we were visiting the theatre and not sure what may be available in terms of refreshments afterwards we had planned to take our own supper with us to eat after the show had ended. I asked on arrival if we could make use of the lounge for this purpose and I'm pleased to report that this was "absolutely no trouble whatsoever" to Marion and she urged us to make ourselves comfortable in doing so.

The following morning we went down for breakfast - and this is where I would raise a slight criticism - breakfast on the Sunday morning was served between 8.15am and 9am - I would have preferred to have a slightly later breakfast but this wasn't a huge issue. Breakfast was adequate, although it was clear that the bacon had been cooked earlier than we had ordered and been kept warm [or reheated] as it was beginning to form that 'leathery' exterior. but nonetheless I was hungry and the breakfast was, plentiful, albeit served on cold plates - there was plenty of toast on offer and more tea/coffee if required.

All in all - for the price we paid, it was a pleasant stay - and worthy of the 4* Tourist board rating.

Short story is - yes I would stay again based on the comfort,cleanliness overall friendliness and quality of welcome - but the breakfast could let the Derrybeg down for those who are more fussy than we were.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strachp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetenhusen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed on our Scotland tour 2 nights in the B&B in Pitlochry. The rooms are big and clean, the staff nice, the breakfast very good, with plenty of choices. The B&B is well located and all restaurants in walking distance. Very nice town and good starting location for tours.

Room Tip: Rooms to entrance side have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Achim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stopped over in Pitlochry en- rout to Ullapool on my motorcycle and stayed in the Derrybeg , realy nice staff , fab breakfast with plenty of choice and nipping clean plus handy for the town . Was

What more could you ask for

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank RW1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have stayed for two nights at Derrybeg. The room with a view certainly delivered!! The reception was warm and our room was very nice!! The promised view was certainly very, very nice. In the morning a great breakfast was provided.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaat2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Would recommend to others.
Nice comfortable rooms. Well located for a base for this area and close to Pitlochry main street.
Nice views from our bedroom window. The fully Scottish breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilgehof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here for one night back in April and we could not fault the place. We were warmly welcomed and shown to a beautiful room with an equally beautiful view. I had one of the best nights sleep I've ever had in the lovely comfy bed and the bathroom was immaculate. the breakfast was also lovely and fuelled us for the long day ahead. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.1 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
1.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
0.3 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#1 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast

Property: Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Address: 18 Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5DS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derrybeg is an eight bedroom Edwardian Bed and Breakfast set in a quiet street in the pretty Highland Perthshire town of Pitlochry. With stunning views of the Tummel Valley, we invite you to sample our warm and welcoming hospitality. Our aim at Derrybeg is simple, we want to provide you with a calming and relaxing environment to enjoy your holiday in the beautiful county of Highland Perthshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derrybeg Bed And Breakfast Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing