We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Atholl Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atholl Centre
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My family spent the new year here. We had a fantastic time. They had nice rooms, all areas were very clean and friendly staff. The rooms were nice and warm. The Atholl Centre is a great place to stop off and explore Pitlochry. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanslator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Basic but comfortable. wash-hand basin in room and refreshment facilities, Nice touch shortbread. Toilets and showers just outside room.
Excellent contiinental breakfast.
Miserable weather so heating put on at request cosy.
Only complaint bed lights not working.

Room Tip: ask to see room in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Notperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-on-Naze
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We've stayed at the Atholl Centre on several occasions over the years when we have been doing charity Land's End to John O'Groats bike rides. We have always found it wekcoming and comfortable and the managers Ian and Ann are very helpful and kind people. I would recommend it especially for groups and those looking for good basic accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteWalton_on_Naze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern US
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I was part of the leadership team of a group of American university students who were travelling throughout the UK. We needed a place to settle into for 10 days in central Scotland, and the Atholl Centre proved to be just the thing. The management team was so easy to work with, giving us advice about sites in the area, adjusting our meals to meet our needs, and creating a very hospitable environment. As a group leader, I especially appreciated the very clear communication we had with Iain and his team prior to our arrival.
Sleeping rooms were clean and sufficient -- nothing fancy, but just right for a group like ours. We also appreciated having access to meeting rooms for our class sessions. And the food service was fantastic.
The only negative experience we had was an oversight on our part. As Americans, we failed to consider the VAT when creating our budget, so the expense was much greater than planned. So that is something to look at if you are international visitors. Having said that, we'd go the Atholl Centre again if the opportunity presented itself.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UniversityProfessor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

The Atholl Centre is a modern, purpose built holiday and conference centre run by a charity linked to the church next door. As well as facilities for groups and conferences, bed and breakfast/full board accommodation and a spacious self catering flat are available for individuals/families/small groups at very reasonable costs.
We recently held a family celebration (ages ranging from 8 weeks to 90 years) in Pitlochry, for which we needed: a function room with afternoon tea, bed and breakfast accommodation and a self catering flat. The Atholl Centre was able to provide everything, with the added bonus of wheelchair access and good car parking.
The rooms are beautifully clean and comfortable, the flat spacious and well equipped. Their catering has a good reputation – certainly our afternoon tea was lovely (home made cakes and hot savouries as well as sandwiches, scones etc).
And Iain, the manager, and his staff were really friendly, welcoming and helpful; nothing was too much trouble.
The Centre is very near the centre of the town, within walking distance of shops, restaurants, railway station and Citylink bus stop.
Some very minor points (don’t be put off):
- Apart from the flat, accommodation is not really en suite – though there are plenty of showers, toilets etc (and there are plans to convert to en suite).
- There is no bar (as in most B & Bs) and alcohol is not allowed.
- Breakfasts are simple (fruit, cereal, toast and tea/coffee).
All in all, an excellent facility for individuals, families, small or large groups

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PostscriptLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.4 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,785 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Centre

Property: Atholl Centre
Address: Atholl Road, Pitlochry PH16 5BX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atholl Centre is a residential conference & holiday Centre in the heart of Highland Perthshire. We cater for small and large groups as well as individuals and are fully accessible for wheelchairs downstairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Atholl Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Centre Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing