We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! We'll be back ;-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southwood Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southwood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #30 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow! We'll be back ;-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Thank you Margaret & Pete for a wonderful stay. It was only one night but never to be forgotten. Lovely setting, clean, warm & comfortable. Our motorbike even got a room to itself in one of the neatest, cleanest garages ever, thanks Pete. The garden was amazing & as for the BIG two person shower ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steviebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgt75, Owner at Southwood Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Steviebiker - we thank you for taking the time to review Southwood and really appreciate your kind words. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future - when it is a bit cooler for bikers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Enjoyed my stay at Pitlochry. The rooms here are modern, clean, warm, and comfortable. Breakfast is very nice home made Scottish fair.
Just watch out for the dry stain dyke wall as you leave, it eats car bumpers for breakfast!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jcmayer66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgt75, Owner at Southwood Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear JCMayer66, We aredelighted to have had you and your family staying with us on your recent visit to Pitlochry Scotland, we hope the rest of your stay in Scotland was enjoyable, Peter and I are very happy to read your review of your time spent at Southwood. Hopefully we might see you again on your next visit to Pitlochry. ps we promise to feed the dry stane dyke before your arrival ! Best wishes, Margaret & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for just one night but had such a lovely stay.
The twin room was spotless, really comfortable and had lots of little extras you would expect more in a hotel eg- sewing kits, bottle of water, biscuits and biscuits.
Breakfast menu was really super. I went for the scrambled eggs and griddled bacon on crumpets which was v tasty. But as well as the cooked selection, there was also cereals, toast, Yoghurts and a selection of fresh fruit (melon, blueberries, grapes etc).
Margaret & Peter are very welcoming and as someone has already said, attentive, friendly and incredibly helpful, whilst giving space too.
I hope very much that we come back to stay in the area, in which case we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flourpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgt75, Owner at Southwood Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Hello Flourpower, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay at Southwood B & B. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for the wonderful review, it is greatly apapreciated .We hope that we will get to meet you again in the future. Best Regards Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cellardyke, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Margaret and Peter run a first class BnB with excellent facilities.

It's easy to find - come off the A9 from Perth and immedialtely turn right and after about a1k it's on your left hand side.

The property is newly renovated and all the furnishings and fitti ngs are first class including excellent en suite facilties, high quality accessories and an amazingly comfortable bed. We didn't use the TV but it seemed to have a wide range of Freesat channels,

Margaret and Peter made us very welcome with coffee and cakes in a lovely little lounge befoe showing us to our room. Their hospitality even extended to offering to drive us to the theatre so we could relax completely for the evening. They managed just the right level of friendliness without going over the top

The breakfast choice is not only the usual "full Scottish" but has other options too such as pancakes and waffles. The food and drinks served were of the hghest quality.

My partner and I often have short breaks using BnB and we woould highly recommend Southwood as being one of the best we have stayed at. We'll certainly stay there again some time.

Room Tip: If you look out n the morning you may see some deer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgt75, Owner at Southwood Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
We thank you so much for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor, they are very much appreciated.

We are glad you had an enjoyable weekend at Pitlochry and the weather was not to bad, also that you had a safe journey back home.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime maybe in the future.


Margaret & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This was our second stay with Margaret and Peter at Southwood whilst visiting Pitlochry for the Enchanted Forest and we cannot fault it - Fantastic service that goes above and beyond, comfy, clean and cosy rooms and an amazing breakfast freshly cooked in the morning! We'll definitely be returning next year and more than likely for an extra night!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClairMcAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgt75, Owner at Southwood Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
TracyR - Thank you for taking time to give us such a great review of your stay at Southwood Bed and Breakfast. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards, Margaret & Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
folkestone
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We were welcomed as soon as we arrived, Our rooms were lovely and clean and comfortable.
Much thought had been given to the details. My one regret is that we could only stay one night.. The breakfast was suberb. Very reasonably priced. Thankyou Peter and Margaret for being such good hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgt75, Owner at Southwood Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
We thank you so much for your lovely comments on Trip Advisor, as this is
only our 2nd season they are very much appreciated.

Hopefully you all had an enjoyable time touring Scotland and the weather was good and you had a safe journey back home.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime maybe in the future.


Margaret & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We did an 8 day family driving trip around Scotland with Southwood B&B being the first and definitely the best B&B we stayed in. Margaret and Peter were fabulous hosts and their recommendations for things to do, places to eat, etc were all excellent. The rooms were spacious and extremely comfortable with great showers. The children especially enjoyed the spa bath!! Breakfast was relaxed and delicious. We will definitely return if we are ever near Pitclochry in the future. Highly recommended to fellow travellers.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsKSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.1 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
2.0 mi away
Craigvrack Hotel
Craigvrack Hotel
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Benvrackie
Benvrackie
#19 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dalshian Guest House
Dalshian Guest House
#12 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.1 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#5 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.7 mi away
Craigroyston House and Lodge
Craigroyston House and Lodge
#17 of 68 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southwood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwood Bed and Breakfast

Property: Southwood Bed and Breakfast
Address: East Haugh, Pitlochry PH16 5TE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Southwood Bed And Breakfast Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing