We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southwood Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pine Trees Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fisher's Hotel(Pitlochry)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Atholl Villa(Pitlochry)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Haugh House(Pitlochry)
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Acarsaid(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel(Pitlochry)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$275
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
99
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmargaret and peterone nightpitlochry areaetape caledoniapower showerfriendly welcomefantastic breakfastenchanted foresthosts
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed for one night only while fishing on Tummel. Looked after by very attentive host. Beautiful modern house with all mod cons. Breakfast to die for and nothing too much trouble.
Great B&B lying less than a mile south of Pitlochry. Next to a hotel so food and a drink later is no problem. I would certainly use this B&B again. Thanks Margaret & Peter for a great stay over.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davylad72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgt75, Owner at Southwood Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Davylad72 -thank you so much for taking the time to review Southwood, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully you had had some luck with the fishing, and did not get to sunburnt !! We look forward to seeing you again sometime at Southwood.
Regards
Margaret & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My room was beautifully appointed, it had a very comfortable big bed with lovely bedding and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Margaret and Peter are excellent hosts and were very accommodating and helpful with a wide local knowledge of the area. My overall experience of staying at Southwood was excellent and very relaxing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindalre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgt75, Manager at Southwood Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

LMcLean - thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Southwood B & B we really appreciate your comments and so glad you had a relaxing time and that we were able to suggest places for you to visit. Hopefully we will see you again sometime when you need some more R & R.
Best Regards
Margaret & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We (Pauline & Ian) stayed here for one night on Friday 13th Sept (def. not unlucky for us) on our way back from Lochinver. We were greeted by Margaret as soon as we arrived and were shown to our room which was lovely - very spacious, esp. the bathroom & exceptionally clean (Room No 3 I think). The location is lovely and quiet yet a short drive or walk to the town & very handy for the A9. They have a delightful & spacious dining room and the breakfast was delicious. There was plenty of choice, good portions & I throughly enjoyed the scrambled egg on crumpet with good quality bacon. Marjaret & Peter are excellent hosts and I would thoroughly recommend staying with them at Southwood - we wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tattyowdbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgt75, Owner at Southwood Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Tattyoldbit (Pauline & Ian) , thank you so much for taking the time to review Southwood, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, even though it was the 13th!! Hopefully you may be able to stay longer on another visit to Perthshire.
Regards
Margaret & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We have been welcomed by Margaret two years in a row for the Caledonian Etape. She thought nothing of getting up before 5am to cook our breakfast, essential ahead of an 81mile ride. The rooms are comfortable and spotless.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Virgie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgt75, Owner at Southwood Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Virgie B - Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay at Southwood B & B, we like to make sure our Etape entrants have a good breakfast before tackling the 81 miles, keep up the training and we look forward to meeting you again soon.

Best Regards
Margaret & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I can only reccomend this b&b, it was perfect. We had room No 1(without carpeted floor - this is a big advantage for an allergic person) which is really spacious (even with walk in cupboard!!), a modern and generous bathroom with luxury shower, and a private terrace. Margaret and Peter are so nice and did everything to make our stay as lovely as it could have been. Breakfast was delicious, I had my first haggis and I liked it very much!Pitlochry is a wonderful town to stay, with a lot of walking possibilities and we were lucky to see the very amusing highland games. What else can I say, it was just the best stay we had in 3 weeks in Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgt75, Owner at Southwood Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us such a great review of your stay at Southwood Bed and Breakfast. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Scotland as well as the tasting of the haggis and whisky of course! Kind regards, Margaret & Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews