We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and ambiance to a high standard”

East Haugh House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Dinner is served 7 days a week from 5.30pm - 9pm. Lunch is served Saturday and Sunday 12:00 - 14:00
Reviewed 4 July 2014

If you like a traditional Scottish restaurant with a high standard of decor, service and food, then you should visit this establishment. After a warm welcome, we were invited to take a pre dinner drink in the lounge adorned with sporting decor/trophies and allowed plenty of time to select from the menu. The food was of a very high standard and served exactly as requested. Good selection of wines to compliment the meal and whiskies too! This was our first visit but won't be the last, as we intend to stay overnight next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CandFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen-Strathgarry, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are glad that you enjoyed your evening with us, and look forward to welcoming you back to East Haugh when you book to stay within the hotel on your next visit to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

The welcome was warm with a lovely room to have a pre dinner drink. We ate in the bar, which is small and with a lovely atmosphere. The food was supberb, very tasty and well cooked. The service was excellent. There is a good choice of wine. Overall, a lovely evening. Highly recommended.

Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen-Strathgarry, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We love the comments from guests that have eaten in our bar area, as everyone who dines there loves the atmosphere , especially all the fish on the walls which always creates a talking point. I will pass on your comments to all of the team here at East Haugh, and hope to welcome you back to dine with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Delicious food with a good service. I had the lamb shoulder and it was tender and beautiful. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen-Strathgarry, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. I will pass on your lovely comments to all of the team here at East Haugh
And we hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We go here at least once a year, sometimes more, for family and friends occasions.
Always welcome, the start is usually being shown into the snug where you can select from the menu while at ease in front of a fire and sipping a glass of something. There 2 separate dining areas, one formal and the other in a Scottish game situation with big fish on the wall and stag's heads looking at you! Either is fine and the food is the same. And the food is excellent, beautifully cooked and varied. Some emphasis on Scottish Game cooking with venison, trout, salmon, pheasant and so on prominent but you can stick to more delicate fare if you wish.
The Chorizo starters are one of my favourites. Coquille St Jacques with Black Pudding another.
All tasty and filling. Oh and they do a nice line in tasting trays with small helpings for those (like me) that sometimes can't make up their minds easily between 3 or 4 options!
We will continue going to East Haugh for some time to come if it stays the same!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gam8le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your beautifully written and comprehensive review, I will pass on your lovely comments regarding your dining experience with us to our team of hard working chefs, and service staff.
We like to think that the food here at East Haugh speaks for itself, and after such a splendid review it certainly has. Customer feedback and comments like yours help enormously to promote what we strive daily to achieve, both in standard of produce and service.
We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to East Haugh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Menu had good options, service was pleasant, decor authentic. Food was very good. Risotto was nice and not over creamed like everywhere else around here. Duck was excellent with great flavours and linguine very tasty, perhaps a bit too much garlic. Best restaurant food in a week at Pitlochcry

Thank Georgiegirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EastHaughHouseHotel, Karen, front of house manager at East Haugh House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, I will pass on your comments to our team of chefs, who are always happy to hear feedback from our guests regarding their experience with us. All of our produce is locally sourced, and prepared to the highest standard, this ensures the best possible results from our menu choices, however I will take on board that the risotto you received was not to your taste, and will ensure that our risotto recipe is revised and evaluated.
Once again many thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East Haugh House Restaurant also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Grandtully, Pitlochry
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to East Haugh House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing