We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rosemount Hotel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
West Wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Spent a lovely week at the Rosemount, staff looked after us, good breakfast's and evening meals, the hotel was busy with visitors to the Enchanted Forest. But the standard did not drop.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestWalesTaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    125
    52
    37
    40
See reviews for
73
233
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karlsborg, Vastra Gotaland, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Me and my family of totaly 6 pers. had a lovely stay at this hotel:)We stayed 6 nights and i´d go back.It´s not top-modern,but i diddent want that.Lovely staff!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

I have just returned home after a 4 night stay and on reading some reviews, have to have a say. We (2 adults, over 40), couldn't find any fault. Joan, at reception when we arrived showed us to our room, gave us a map of the area and told us the easiest route into town. The room was spotless,( most comfortable bed ever) as were all the areas we used, bar, lounge and dining room. The breakfast was amazing, cereal, toast and all you can eat hot buffet all very plentiful. The hotel wasn't full but there were plenty of people passing through. It is situated a little uphill and wouldn't suit those with mobility problems but was an ideal base to explore. We would have personally liked the shower hotter but understand that most places have it set so no-one is scalded. Really cant fault the service, cleanliness or location.

Room Tip: room 20 was clean, no noise at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrea k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Like other reviewers, we found the reality of the room compared to the pictures on the website somewhat different. The standard of decor is generally poor, the room was very small and the bathroom tiny. The shower had barely any pressure and the toilet flush was a bit random. We stayed in one of the refurbished rooms which had been given a modest make over. The couple we were travelling with had a "traditional" room. In other words tired and outdated. This was a very disappointing hotel and I had hoped that this style of hotel was gradually becoming obsolete as it represents appaling value for money especially as we have stayed at other hotels in Pitlochry that are so much better (but not available for this trip). We dreaded going back to the room in the evening as is was such an unpleasant place to be. I can only think that this type of hotel relies on the fact that they are getting passing trade and are not worried about getting repeat business. With hindsight, I wish we had just gone home. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was adequate for this grade of hotel but not enough to get me to go back. Avoid

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alasdair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

I was ushered into a foul room by a harrassed worker who said she had no time. Dirty, tiny, fitments from the 70's and categorically not what I was expecting from the website. Peeling wallpaper, a shower I couldn't move in and the room smelled of vomit. The carpet was stained throughout the room. In a nutshell I left. Not without a fight regarding payment. This hotel made Fawlty Towers look good. They sold me the room under false pretences but I got my money back. If they'd told me it was a budget room and charged accordingly I could have tolerated it but to be charged £65 for a ghastly room was not going to happen. As for the decor of everywhere else - vile is a good word.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Hotel situated about 10 mins gentle walk uphill from main street, room was average size with double bed (bit squeaky but comfortable), nice lounge to have a drink in, good choices at buffet breakfast, staff very welcoming and provided us with a map of pitlochry. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Comfortable bedroom with double bed, clean and well decorated,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeFeeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Apalling, the room was disgusting, after deliberating we walk out and left the keys, never to return, ended up driving 90mins home. Very poor quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
1.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Hotel

Property: Rosemount Hotel
Address: 12 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small,cosy,friendly hotel set in an Edwardian villa over looking stunning views of Pitlochry to the south and upwards to the fabulous Ben Vrackie mountain to the north. Pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rosemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing