We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel.......”
Review of Rosemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosemount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Myself and my new hubby got married yesterday and spent the nite here what can i say owners,staff especially the young girl she was fab.the room was out of this world i would recommend this hotel and room 30 to anyone.food was great and breakfast lovley oh just about forgot to mention the owners 2 dogs they were beautiful i will be going here for my 1st year anniversary defo if staff are reading this Thanks Very Much xxxxx

Room Tip: Room 30 fab.................
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonniepalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Rosemount Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

Spent an enjoyable two nights at this hotel. Warm welcome on arrival and found our accommodation both suitably spacious and decorated to a good standard. Room and bedding spotless. Ate one night in the restauarant and would highly recomend sampling the various dishes on offer. Staff extremely polite and helpful at breakfast and dinner, as were the owners and receptionst (including a cuddly welcome from Oscar the delightful German Shepherd) Will certainly be recommending this hotel to both family and friends.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CharliesAngels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I travelled with my partner for an overnight stay in Pitlochry and this was one of the cheaper hotels within the town, all the cheapest hotels and B&B's are quite far out - Blairgowrie etc.
We booked the Rosemount Hotel on LateRooms.com and it was £6 cheaper than booking via the hotel website. We paid £82 for 1 night, doubel room, breakfast included.
The hotel was quite easy to find if you have a car, just follow the helpful signs dotted around the town which point you in the right direction.
Upon arrival it was good to see plenty car parking space available and the man at the reception was very friendly, chatty and gave us lots of information - you can have dinner in the hotel restraunt but you're best to book your meal in advance as it can take around 30 minutes for your meal to be cooked. We didn't eat here but the menu looked very nice.
The hotel is much bigger inside than it looks from the outside but don't be fooled - the standard double room was tiny! It's one of the smallest rooms i have ever stayed in, even rooms in Europe are bigger than here! The room was modern and the bathroom was a good size. Very clean and had all the extras you want - tea & coffee facilities, TV, clean towels. One big let down was being able to hear your neighbours banging doors, walking about in the corridoors as the floorboards are extremely creaky and the walls are so thin you can hear people snoring in the next room!
Breakfast in the morning was nice - a big variety of continental and hot food in a buffet style which was very fresh and the staff continually checked on it.
For a 3 star, double room with breakfast, the size of the room definitely let the place down and was not worth £41 per person but it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali_Mally11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We booked our budget twin room well in advance on a non-refundable basis to minimise costs and were warned on the website that the room was unrefurbished and/or lacked a decent view. Our expectations were therefore not high (my friend and I were visiting Scotland primarily to photograph trains in the landscape and to do some hiking - all we really needed was somewhere clean and quiet near a railway station to 'crash' after an exhausting day). However, we were very pleasantly surprised by every aspect of the hotel. The room was a little small for two, but it was very quiet and did have a nice view of the mountains. It came with a bath only but we were given exclusive use of a nearby shower room which enabled the two of us to carry out morning and evening ablutions in parallel, increasig privacy and saving time. The dining room had a very nice ambience; the waiting staff were pleasant and very efficient and the breakfast was absolutely first class. On busy mornings hot food was self-service, but the was kept piping hot over gas-burners (not left to cool and congeal as in some establishments). Personally, I like to select what I fancy, particularly when watching my weight. On less busy mornings, breakfast was ordered from the waitress and quickly brought to the table, along with hot (not cold and barely browned) toast. The hotel also had a very comfortable bar and lounge area. The lady and gentleman at reception were both extremely pleasant and made us feel extremely welcome. The Rosemount is a 5-10 minute walk from the town centre and station, which is enough to guarantee quiet without requiring a taxi. Parking is more than adeqate. In summary, we were well-satisfied and both of us would certainly consider visiting again with our wives, albeit possibly taking higher-graded rooms (well, the women folk tend to be more fussy, don't they?)

Room Tip: Room 9 was a 'budget' twin and a little on the small side for two but had nice views and was...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WhizzoMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Friendly staff, great location, but felt this hotel was overpriced. Breakfast disappointing. For £89 per room per night for a standard double room with breakfast, I would have expected the breakfast to be cooked to order, but instead was pre-cooked and kept warm in stainless steel containers. No HP sauce or Ketchup despite another guest asking for it. Hot breakfast items quite limited, although we did ask for poached eggs, which were cooked perfectly.

Room was clean, did not provide fresh towels every day, unusual, walls quite thin, so could hear guest in next room snoring. Corridors noisy, wooden creaky floorboards. Would not return as not value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Plymouth2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Extremely poor. From the comments and the photos on this website there must be some decent rooms in this hotel but Room Seven (where I stayed) was not one of them. It looked nothing like the glossy photos on Trip Advisor or Expedia - some of my own photos are attached for comparison. It was a narrow room with a lumpy mattress, net curtains on the window and had Artex walls and ceilings that looked like they were left over from the mid-1980s. It didn't even have a clock radio. The TV didn't work (no channels available – only static); the extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work; and the on/off cord for the shower was dodgy (it switched off okay but to switch it on again you had to reach up and push the toggle in by hand). I reported all of this when checking out but the receptionist blankly told me that they were all working fine. Doubtless some people have had good experiences here - I spoke to another guest who rated it very highly - but it would seem like the quality varies significantly depending on what room they put you in. My advice is to avoid this hotel at all costs unless you are prepared to gamble on getting a decent room. Every second building in Pitlochry seems to be either a B&B or a hotel so I'm am sure there are other places to stay where the quality is more consistent.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 7!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nick151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Our party of 10 booked the Rosemount for the Caledonian Etape and we are going to book the same hotel for next year as soon as we have the dates confirmed. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were very friendly, the breakfast was excellent the only problem was you ended up eating too much. All the rooms were comfortable and clean with at least 2 people in the party commenting that it was the best night's sleep they have had in a long time. We had a meal in the hotel the 1st night which was very good and we ate out the 2nd night at Victoria's restaurant which was recommended and booked by one of the staff at the hotel and was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pam196405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,837 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,619 reviews
0.3 mi away
Craigvrack
Craigvrack
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Hotel

Address: 12 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range: £61 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small,cosy,friendly hotel set in an Edwardian villa over looking stunning views of Pitlochry to the south and upwards to the fabulous Ben Vrackie mountain to the north. Pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing