We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy comfy little gem”
Review of Rosemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosemount Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A cosy comfy little gem”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Had organised at last minute and was lucky to get a room in Pitlochry. Lovely little Hotel set back from main thoroughfare and up a hill. Was in process of getting redecortaed in main areas but didn't cause any problem. Owner was very helpful, got us organised with a meal - we are both evgetarians and the meal was just right, Rooms were small but cosy and beutifully decorated and well appointed- had what you needed and got a decent view out of the window,

Braekfast was terrific and again so well catered for as Vegetarians. Had a really good sleep, very comfortable and very quiet. Also found out they are dog friendly and would go back here without hesitation. Small, comfy, cosy and friendly,

Room Tip: worth while paying abit extra for an upgraded room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reikibob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Hello and many thanks for this lovely account.of your stay. It kind of encapsulates everything we are working hard to do and its great when we get to match our intentions with our guests requirements. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    130
    54
    37
    40
See reviews for
74
245
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

I had a very nice overnight stay in this hotel, did pay for a deluxe room which wasn't great to be fair. The view was a car park, the breakfast was nice. Cut my foot on the tiles in the bathroom floor as they badly need grouted however really had a nice overnight stay. Staff were lovely x

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbarclay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Manager at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Hi there and many thanks for your review.

Sometimes we have to sit hard on our own perceptions of what we offer and listen very carefully to our customers. I LOVE that room that you were in, but you didn't like it . . . and that is important for me to take on board. I'm choked that you didn't say when you booked in, because all our rooms are different and I had a good few alternatives available that weekend. Then you cut your foot on a wobbly tile which has made me feel worse than ever. Time for a good old blitz of room 12, I think. I had a few plans for brightening it - time to put them to the test. I hope you come back and see us again and give us a chance with a different room. I owe you a free upgrade at least :-)

You had mentioned an overcharge at the bar and didn't get back to me to confirm. Please do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed in a premium room in Feb for 2 nights, very clean and comfy hotel. Bath over shower was modern but had absolutely no pressure - throughout the day. Breakfast very good. Don't order a drink at the bar though, one can of tennents lager and a small coke out of a bottle was over £5.00 - very, very expensive. The hotel is on a hill but if you take your time it isn't too bad.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandr3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.

May I firstly apologise for the fact that you were apparently quoted a premium lager price for Tennants. The latter were only stocked in response to a specific request from another guest and not normally part of our usual stock. It should have been £1 cheaper, but the fact seems not to have been apparent to the staff member serving you. . . ouch! Thank you for letting us know.

We are delighted that you appreciated the comfort and cleanliness of the room. Regarding water pressure - this is a community-wide issue since the external supply pressure in this hilly, slightly more remote location is notoriously low. There is solution which involves pressurising the whole water system. This costs 10's of thousands to rectify. We're saving like crazy to get the job done or waiting for the economy to stimulate banks to start lending to small business again. Wonder which will happen first - watch this space!

We hope that the very reason for the low pressure - namely the fabulous, scenic hills and quiet, precious "away-from-it-all" nature of this area compensated for this one inconvenience in giving you a thoroughly relaxing and memorable break away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Had a lovely stay at the Rosemount, the staff Ann,Joan, Mirabelle and Keith went out of there way to make you feel welcome,we stayed in one of the refurbished rooms and it was a very pleasant stay. Breakfast is the best i've come across for a long time, and there is plenty of it.

Room Tip: Ask for room 5 as it has been refurbished and has a good view overlooking the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzard222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Hello and thank you for taking time to send in this account of your experience. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay, because that is what we work for every minute of every day. We love this place and want all of our guests to see and experience the things that make it very special.It's the perfect antidote to a chaotic world. We hope to see you again VERY soon. Have a fabulous 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My husband and I (plus two dogs) stayed for a short break from the 3rd Feb. The hotel was quiet and the room (economy) was cosy, warm with a very large comfortable bed. The owners were very welcoming and friendly and they love dogs! Although this was low season and food in the evening wasn't available we were given recommendations of places to eat, even ones that were dog friendly. The breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a short stay in Pitlochry..especially if they have a four-legged friend. The staff were v wonderful and made our stay even more pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Hello and many thanks for the nice write-up. I'm glad you felt comfortable in one of our Economy rooms. They are next in line for a fairly major refurb, but meantime it is our intention that visitors gain the benefit of their knock-down price to help boost those hard-earned savings.

It's great having dog-lovers and their wee pals to stay. It gives the place a really big-family feel and it's an easy ice-breaker. Who can resist those cheeky faces - they are a great conversation starter. Also when you bring your dog there are additional reasons for getting out and fully exploring this fabulous area. We feel it is such a privilege just being here. We hope you join us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed overnight here for my birthday. We had a refurbished room which was very nice and the bed was massive and really comfy. The owner and her dog were very friendly and helpful. The only downside to the room we had was it was supposed to be a shower and bath, but the shower head was an old fashioned type and not attached to the wall so really you couldn't have a shower.

Room Tip: I read some reviews before we left about the massive hill you have to walk up to get to the hotel, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crossanle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Many thanks for taking trouble to share your experience whilst staying with us. We find all genuine feedback invaluable and only hope that the sincere hard work of our staff meets its aim for each guest on every occasion.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of the bed - we rank this as of utmost priority and invest as much as our tariff will allow on keeping the standard of comfort very high indeed.

I regret that we didn't get informed of your preference for a shower, even after arrival would have been fine! We would gladly have placed you in a room of equal grade, but with a shower or even shower and bath, instead of bath only. Please don't worry about mentioning these details - In this industry, we take genuine satisfaction in getting as much right as is possible for our guests, so it would have been our pleasure to make the change on this reasonably quiet weekend.

The Edwardian charm and interest of our wee home from home means that each room is different in shape, so facilities vary accordingly - hence our different room grades and tariffs.The upside, however, is that we probably have something to suit most people's preference if they let us know what that is.

The issue of our slightly uphill location can meet with a mixed reception. Many guests hardly notice the gradient and really appreciate the views allowed by the slighly elevated position. For those with walking difficulties, it is only a two minute drive into town and parking facilities are reasonable.

I sincerely hope we get to see you again. We have a good number of rooms at the grade you booked and would probably have no problem in providing one with a shower. Please, do remind us, however.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed here as it was close to Pitlochry Festival Theatre. Our room was lovely, cosy and quiet. It had everything we needed for an overnight stay. The staff were extremely friendly and I would go back again if ever in Pitlochry.

Room Tip: Room 14 is a room at the back and is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Many thanks for your review. We are so pleased that every best intention of our wonderful staff and the quiet charm of our delightful home in the hills succeeded in leaving you with a feeling of rest and satisfaction after your stay with us. We very much hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,783 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Hotel

Property: Rosemount Hotel
Address: 12 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small,cosy,friendly hotel set in an Edwardian villa over looking stunning views of Pitlochry to the south and upwards to the fabulous Ben Vrackie mountain to the north. Pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing