We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Premier room with a view of the council estate”
Review of Rosemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosemount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Although it was some time ago, that we stayed there, the memories linger and it seems from the current reviews that the Rosemount Experience has not changed.

The front of the hotel has a great view over the town into the wooded hills that surround it, so we paid for a premier room with a view. Our room was above the noisy public bar and the view that we had was of the council estate at the back of the hotel. Most romantic.

When asked why this was classed as a premier room, I was told it was bigger than the others. Considering it was barely wide enough for a double bed, I found that amazing. The rest of the 3 night stay was a trial of endurance.

Not on my hotels to return to list.

I would only just about, recommend it for anyone that could find nowhere else for one overnight stay.

  • Stayed: August 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScottishFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Rosemount Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2008

Although we only stayed at the Rosemount for one night, we totally loved the experience. Ann was so helpful to us. Once she saw the amount of our luggage she upgraded our room to something bigger. And dinner...well, it was so good. I still insist that the baked chicken with the dijon mustard glaze was the best meal I ate the whole entire time in Scotland. And don't forget the Scotch Mist. Now that's a dessert! You MUST have one of those. To die for!!!

Overall we had a wonderful experience at the Rosemount and I would greatly recommend it.

Christa in Dallas, Texas

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2007

worse hotel i have stayed in this decade, i was envious of the tramps sleeping outside the hotel

Stayed: November 2007
5  Thank reginaldeaglelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2007

This place is appalling. The service was terrible, the breakfast inedible, the rooms were outdated and in serous need of a ‘fix me up and bring me in the 21st century’. The owner/manager is possibly the worst manager I have ever come across; rude, incompetent. Don’t go there…….

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LaraHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2007

The website for the Rosemount Hotel promises rooms that are modern and comfortable and a warm welcome. Imagine then our suprise on arriving at the hotel to be greated by an empty desk, followed by witnessing the owner of the hotel screaming at his overworked and harrassed staff. Eventually, we were taken up to our rooms by the hotel receptionist who was obviously also the hotel porter. Unfortunately, we were not given the room we had booked and had to wait another 10 minutes until this was sorted. By the time we reached our room we were ready to relax in our 'modern and comfortable' room...this was not to be...unless, of course, you like dingy 70s decor, below zero temperatures, a broken shower, a manky pink bathroom suite and a TV which would have been better placed in a museum.
Not to worry, we would relax in one of the welcoming bars with a nice drink or, as it turned out, with a warm drink of flat cola served by none other than the receptionist/porter.
The next morning we came down to breakfast within the appointed timeframe to be accused of being late. However, we need not have worried as the receptionist/porter/barmaid/waitress suggested that we might want to pick at some leftovers!
Our stay at the Rosemount Hotel was one we will never forget... unfortunately, for all the wrong reasons. The only redeeming aspect of the stay was the eternally cheerful and pleasant girl who seemed to run the place. Though one can only guess what a nightmare her job must be.
The owners of this place should be ashamed to charge the money they do. And VisitScotland should be ashamed to award this hotel 3 stars. It's entirely misleading and a dreadful advertisement for Scotland.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sausage9575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2007

Having seen the website I booked a nights accomodation for myself and 5 friends. The webstie protrayed a lovely boutique hotel. The problems started when we arrived and it took 10 mins for someone to arrive at reception. When a polish chap arrived he tried to help but didn't really seem to know which 3 rooms were ours. A chef appeared and openly blasted the Polish chap in front of us. This was definitely uncalled for. We were then shown to our rooms. I had ordered a double room and when I was shown a twin room I complained. They said they would push the 2 single beds together. I was not happy with that and was finally after some arguing shown to a double room. The rooms were in a quite poor state and the shower didn't work at all. For the money the place is below standard, and it really isn't a nice place at all. The website doesn't show people what to expect at all. Very disappointed, will never go back.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ontherunwithben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2007

It could have been a nice stay if we had a different room. Ours was above the public bar and the locals kept us awake until it closed at half past midnight. Do not stay in rooms 8 or 9

Breakfast was a nicely cooked buffet, similar to that in some of the more expensive hotels around the UK

The bath had been repaired with a small section of fibreglass resin - couldn't afford a new one? The bedroom was on the small side with very little room to walk between the bottom of the bed and the window.

Price quoted on visit scotland was not the price they wanted me to pay. We eventually compromised. We didn't get any refund for the poor night's sleep.

Although it is up a hill (as quoted in a previous review) it isn't too far from the main street/road and it does have it's own parking. Scotland is one of those hilly kind of places so hilly walks are to be expected.

I noted that this hotel was dearer than some of the other "classier" ones but in peak season it seemed to be the only room available.

I wish I had camped instead (we were doing a bit of both) as we'd have saved some money and had a better nights sleep

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank happiertourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,838 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Craigvrack
Craigvrack
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Hotel

Address: 12 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range: £60 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small,cosy,friendly hotel set in an Edwardian villa over looking stunning views of Pitlochry to the south and upwards to the fabulous Ben Vrackie mountain to the north. Pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing