We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with superb breakfast”
Review of Rosemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosemount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Absolutely fantastic. Stayed on the family room and we all loved it! It was nice and comfortable.
Breakfast is really out of this world!!!!
Staff was very attentive and polite.
Will definitely go back when visiting Pitlochry again!

Room Tip: Family room was fabulous for three adults and a toddler! Big bathroom and storage. Quiet and nice be...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MARIA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Many thanks for your review. We appreciate the time and trouble that it took and feel extremely satisfied that our daily efforts to give our guests everything necessary for an enjoyable stay hit home for you and your family. It would be good to see you again soon and I hope we can do even better for you next time! Our best wishes to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
There are newer reviews for Rosemount Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

An excellent stay with extremely efficient and friendly staff accompanied by lovely food and facilities. An ideal stay for my theatre break. A very comfortable room with a great wi-fi connect available.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ross400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Hello and many thanks for taking time and trouble to sent your commentary. We take genuine pleasure in knowing that we achieved this level of satisfaction for you and that you found us friendly and that our service and facilities met your approval. The theatre has an excellent and varied offering throughout the season, so we hope we'll be seeing you again for a Theatre Break very soon! Have a great Summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Spent 4 days here for a break with wife. Had economy double room. Basic with tv tea facility and ensuite. Bed very comfy . Staff very pleasant and helpfull. Good base for a adventure around the area. Only 10 min walk to town centre, bars shops . Owners and staff were friendly and gave advice on we're to visit in the area. The breakfast is buffet style with lots of choice. Hotel is also pet friendly and separate dining room if you bring your dog. Free wifi, good off street parking. Enjoyed my stay here. Well done mr mrs Leonard

Room Tip: Economy room was basic but clean , upgrade if you can afford it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Hello and many thanks for your review. We hope, very soon, to offer more rooms above the Economy grade and so the chance to upgrade will be increased. It has always been a bit of a dilemma as to whether to keep the Economy rooms or to invest in them, but because that would have meant a hike in tariff and hundreds of guests continue to appreciate the high-value element to these rooms, it seemed best to hold them as they were whilst the economy favoured that route. As the outlook continues to improve, however, it makes sense to make the move upwards, partly because the majority of our negative reviews emanate from this source, but mostly because we believe it will give our customers a better experience.

It would be great to see you again. We always try to upgrade our returning guests, if at all possible.so please remind us who you are if you book again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The list is so long . . .
Email said check in at 2pm - man who greeted us pretended not to understand English (his English was perfect later!) and kept pointing at a sign saying check in at 3pm. Wouldn't even look at my email confirmation.
Room - tiny with only a bed. No chair or anything.
TV - smaller than my laptop screen
Wardrobe door broken
Cockroach in bathroom
View straight into another properties window and a car park
Noise from other rooms very bad
Bed creaked very badly and sank in middle
Dinner - had been sent a menu which looked excellent so said we would eat there. When we got to restaurant most dishes were not on the tired single menu copy in the bar. The two interesting dishes were off as were one of the starters and one of the desserts. This left a choice of steak, fish and chips, pie, salmon and pasta - if I had been presented with this before we booked in I would have gone out somewhere else. Two of us ordered medium rare steak with pepper sauce. My friends steak was seriously overcooked - mine was well done verging on shoe leather. Sauce was watery and tasteless.
When asked about quality of food, lady at desk said it was cheap so its not great food - guess what it wasn't cheap either - £67 for two for dinner (and we had brought own wine as only choice of two at bar)
Breakfast was overcooked and no juice available even though I asked for it and fresh eggs as the three left in the buffet were rock hard. All I got was the waiter pretending not to speak English pointing at the buffet.
£86 a night and the previous night we had stayed at a lovely Premier Inn for £29!
Glad it was only for one night and we won't be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karen762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for this interesting review. Firstly, I’d like to apologise that our check-in policy, which I had thought was prominently placed on the web page by which you had booked, namely that we will make every effort to accommodate early check-ins for which a personal request has been made to, and acknowledged by, the Hotel in advance, was not clear to you when you made your booking. We received no such advance communication from you. Had it been possible to give you room-access when you arrived, we would have made every effort to do so, but the Hotel was extremely busy and there would have been no possibility of making this arrangement on that particular day. Had communication been forthcoming, we would have informed you of this fact.
Our Regular rooms are more compact than our Premium and Suite rooms and carry a fairly large reduction in tariff accordingly. We find most guests appreciate this and those who elect to invest in a larger room still find the tariff highly competitive against other establishments in the area.
On your departure day, we met for the first time, at Reception. You made some negative comments about your room. No mention was made of a broken wardrobe or cockroaches. I assure you we would have moved you instantly and acted immediately to remedy this awful situation. Having never personally experienced a live encounter with such a beast, I think you were exceptionally brave not to scream and come running down to Reception and also remarkably restrained not to make a huge fuss about having the room fumigated. It must have been uncomfortable for you in the room knowing such an unwanted companion had been present. It is unfortunate that you did not inform us as it is always necessary to take remedial and renewed preventative action when unwelcome creatures find a way into the building. You left a review on another site and did not mention this terrible incident there either.
The view from your room was indicated as "lateral" online and planning regulations do not allow adjacent buildings to have windows that look directly into one another. The window from your room consequently does not look into any other.The bed in your room has 1200 individually pocketed springs. We have tested it thoroughly and cannot find a sag.
The menu you were sent was very similar to that on display at Reception. It was clearly displayed when you arrived and your friend looked at it in advance of the evening. I have been misquoted when you say I said the food was cheap and not great. Your friend, a genteel person, was cross-examining me on the contents of the menu in a manner indicating he was expecting high-cuisine. I asked him to bear in mind the price of the menu and that ours was a good old fashioned home-cooking level of offering. Your friend left very nice comments about our food on another review source. Your meal came to £47.oo for 2 x 3 courses with coffee. Drinks made up the remaining £67.oo. During and at the end of your meal, the waiters asked if everything was in order with your meal. They were told it was very nice.
I have checked the rates of a local Premier Inn today (midweek in June). Although they advertise rates of £29, today, their charge is £73 for a Double – room only – no breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Ideal location, within walking distance of the town centre. Mama and me were travelling for mama's birthday with our dog's first hotel stayed and we were worried about Buffy will make a noise in hotel but she didn't thanks to cosy bedroom and relaxed atmosphere in hotel. We respected that hotel's policy not allowed to leave dog unattened in a room. A dog lover lady staff very welcoming and provided us with a guide map of pitlochry. Nice spare room, clean and great service. Breakfast is excellant, great selection of cereals and yoghurt that's what i needed. Thanks to all staff. A message from Buffy: Woof! :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babyface J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Hello and thank you for your lovely comments. We warmly welcome dogs to stay. They add a lot to the friendliness of the hotel and because we have a policy that dogs don't get left alone in the rooms, there is no issue with potential noise. No one can resist those happy friendly faces. No dog that is loved enough to be brought on holiday is ever a problem.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Be sure to come again soon. We are working on our separate dog and owner restaurant and lounge to give even more comfort and welcome to our canine-canny guests and their wee pals.

Best wishes for a happy summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Three of us stayed here in a family room with our dog. The room was very large and clean. Lovely double bed and full single. We all had to get up early for a kayaking competition. Once I told the main reception the lovely manager bought us up a continental breakfast, the full works. Very pleasantly surprised by such a lovely welcoming hotel who went out their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Thank you.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bow K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Many thanks for taking time to post your review.. We take genuine pleasure in seeing maximum satisfaction in our guests. It was therefore no effort to bring you a breakfast tray to your room when we learned you were up early. We hope your kayaking competition went well and that the water was good for the event. We are so blessed to be surrounded in every direction with fabulous countryside that offers such an abundance of outdoor activity. We hope you come again soon, Maybe you'd like to also try some of the many other pursuits on offer?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked this hotel very last minute and was advised on booking that the only room left was an economy room. As we were travelling with our dog we were happy with this. I was surprised when we arrived as the room was a decent size and clean. The decor was slightly dated and the shower was not powerful but the bed was extremely comfy and that is what matters.
What really made this hotel amazing for us was how welcoming they were to our dog. He was welcomed, along with the other dog guests, in the bar and breakfast was also set up in this area so he could join us. I have never received this service where I felt that the dogs needs was just as important as ours. This is what will make me return to this hotel without a second thought, and will be recommending it to my friends with dogs. So all in all a nice, pleasant hotel, with a few areas that were maybe dated but the wonderful welcoming dog friendly attitude makes it a winner for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bremmyj321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosemountHotel, Owner at Rosemount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind and helpful comments. As dog owners, ourselves, we find it second nature to treat our visitor's pets as equally important - one, because we really appreciate the value of dogs' intelligence, sensitivity and ability to interact with humans on a social level, but also because it makes our pet-owning guests happier with their stay, which really means everything to us. We are developing a lounge to convert it to a doggies-and-their-owners restaurant and lounge having come to the point where our Lounge Bar is becoming a little too small to feed all of our dog-owning guests with their canine companions by their side. This Easter weekend was perfect bliss, with between five and seven couples sitting relaxing with their dogs. It pushed the atmosphere up several notches. Everyone and the dogs were so relaxed, yet somehow tuned in at a kind of group-level because of their shared interest. It embodied my dream for the place. It would be great to see you again, soon. Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,840 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Craigvrack
Craigvrack
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Hotel

Address: 12 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range: £60 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small,cosy,friendly hotel set in an Edwardian villa over looking stunning views of Pitlochry to the south and upwards to the fabulous Ben Vrackie mountain to the north. Pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing