We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service”
Review of Rosemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosemount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Tayport, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very good service”
Reviewed 17 May 2009

First class service. Was taking part in Etape Caledonia cycling event and the hotel provided very good service indeed. There were pre event emails to ask what kind of food and when we needed breakfast pre-event. There was an all you can eat high carb buffet for £10 the night before and breakfast very early in the morning before we set off. All very much appreciated. Manageress was very helpful.
The hotel itself had pleasant bar and restaurant areas. Our room was quite basic,some have been refurbished, this wasn't one, but it didn't dampen our experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcarr2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    131
    56
    38
    41
See reviews for
77
252
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

The town:

We planned a one-night stopover in Pitlochry as part of our 2-week tour of Scotland during August 08. People have told us that Pitlochry was a lovely area, but we were disappointed. The area around Pitlochry is pleasant enough, and includes the fantastic must-see Blair Castle, but after experiencing the dramatic scenery of the Highlands during our first week, and having been in the Cairngorms National Park on the previous day, we found it and the town itself unexceptional.

The stone-built buildings are attractive, but in the main street (Atholl Road) we noticed several shop-fronts needing renovation (in fact the main hotel on the street was covered in scaffolding and boards, being renovated right now). We struggled to find an attractive pub or restaurant on the main street. The two or three we saw, although housed in traditional old buldings, felt like old-style street-corner pubs or working-men's clubs. The exception was the "Old Smiddy", a bar-restaurant at the upper end of Atholl Road, where we ate. The food was well presented, and service was very attentive. The only comment would be that the owners should decide whether they want a modern decor or a traditional one - at the moment it sits unhappily between the two.

The lack of good eating and drinking places on Atholl Road is balanced by the slightly more expensive options around and about: in particular, across the River Tummel along the Port-na-craig Road. This is on the path that leads from the hydro-electric station and underwhelming salmon-leap, along the south bank of the Tummel past the rear of the theatre, and back into town via one of two bridges. This is a pleant stroll if you want to kill an hour, and the restaurant menus looked appealing.

Overall, if you want a long-term base for the Cairngorms, you would be better to go further north, to the area around Aviemore (though Aviemore town has nothing to offer sight-seers). It makes a useful north-south stop-over if you need one.

Accomodation:

We booked our one night stop at the Rosemount. We had seen reviews that were quite daunting, advising people not to stay there, and describing the awful decor, and one person's reception by a barking dog! However, as we were booking in June and vacancies seemed hard to find on the web, we booked anyway. (It was only for one night after all.)

The booking was room only and cost £45 per person for a "Larger room with double or King Bed, gorgeous views, full ensuite upgraded bathroom". They took a £50 deposit. The building was in need of renovation inside and out. and the side facing the street was an unwelcoming entrance to a bar which was open to the public.

The room was only of average size, and would not qualify as "larger" in most people's eyes. It was decorated with very outdated and worn furnishings and a dreadful combination of wood-chip that was painted a dingy-looking magnolia, with a pale blue trim on the woodwork and purple/green stencilled "swags" of ivy on the walls and doors.

If the bathroom has ever been upgraded, then it must have been at least 15 years ago. The woodchip paper over the bath was struggling to stay on the wall. There was a bath with very worn brass fittings, including a shower attachment with no way of postioning it overhead for a shower, and no shower cabinet.

The area around the hotel included other hotels and a combination of private and social housing. The views consisted of houses in the near-distance and a range of hills to the south of the town - far from "gorgeous".

The restaurant and lounge both had a "social club" feel about them - very 1970s.

The only things in the Rosemount's favour were that despite the sad decor, the room was very clean, and the two young East European staff were trying to be helpful, which included the waiter phoning the absentee owner to find out what to do to check us out in the morning. This was necessary because the computer was apparently not working and the young lady who managed Reception was at that point cooking breakfast, and couldn't leave the kitchen. We didn't eat at the restaurant (too depressing) and didn't stay for breakfast, preferring to make a quick get away, so cannot comment on the food.

Overall, we paid hotel prices (£90 room only) for a very dreary experience. I wonder whether the owner ever takes time to visit her own hotel, let alone greet her guests. There are official tourist signs in the town showing the way to the Rosemount. Ignore them!

Helpful?
3 Thank Fairlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Just returned from a lovely weekend at the Rosemount Hotel in Pitlochry. They fitted us in as a last minute booking, we were in a small family room which was a bit tight for four of us but sufficient. My only complaint would be that the rooms were quite dated but clean and the shower - or should I say lack of one - was diabolical. I cannot remember ever staying in a hotel with a hand held shower - not this decade anyway. This aside we had a very pleasant stay, breakfasts were second to none and hospitality could not be faulted.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Plumbing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerbieAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Although it was some time ago, that we stayed there, the memories linger and it seems from the current reviews that the Rosemount Experience has not changed.

The front of the hotel has a great view over the town into the wooded hills that surround it, so we paid for a premier room with a view. Our room was above the noisy public bar and the view that we had was of the council estate at the back of the hotel. Most romantic.

When asked why this was classed as a premier room, I was told it was bigger than the others. Considering it was barely wide enough for a double bed, I found that amazing. The rest of the 3 night stay was a trial of endurance.

Not on my hotels to return to list.

I would only just about, recommend it for anyone that could find nowhere else for one overnight stay.

  • Liked — The view from the front car park is nice
  • Disliked — The view from the room was of a council estate, not very romantic
  • Stayed August 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScottishFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2008

Although we only stayed at the Rosemount for one night, we totally loved the experience. Ann was so helpful to us. Once she saw the amount of our luggage she upgraded our room to something bigger. And dinner...well, it was so good. I still insist that the baked chicken with the dijon mustard glaze was the best meal I ate the whole entire time in Scotland. And don't forget the Scotch Mist. Now that's a dessert! You MUST have one of those. To die for!!!

Overall we had a wonderful experience at the Rosemount and I would greatly recommend it.

Christa in Dallas, Texas

  • Liked — The Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2007

worse hotel i have stayed in this decade, i was envious of the tramps sleeping outside the hotel

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank reginaldeaglelewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2007

This place is appalling. The service was terrible, the breakfast inedible, the rooms were outdated and in serous need of a ‘fix me up and bring me in the 21st century’. The owner/manager is possibly the worst manager I have ever come across; rude, incompetent. Don’t go there…….

  • Liked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LaraHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
1.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Hotel

Property: Rosemount Hotel
Address: 12 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small,cosy,friendly hotel set in an Edwardian villa over looking stunning views of Pitlochry to the south and upwards to the fabulous Ben Vrackie mountain to the north. Pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Rosemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing