We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great disappointment”
Review of Rosemount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosemount Hotel
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
london
1 review
“great disappointment”
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Re: Rosemount Hotel, Pitlochry

This hotel was a great disappointment! We booked 3 double rooms; They were all quite small rooms, two of which had a faulty shower : one shower only gave really hot or cold water (no turn of the dial gave a happy medium); One shower gave a dribble of water only - it was not possible to shower at all under it. Having driven over 400 miles we really needed a decent shower that was in fully working order. The staff were informed but were not able to put these matters right. We were subsequently told that the hotel was under refurbishment which had been halted because of the credit crunch! This hotel was not the cheapest one we found and we were not told on arrival that the amenities would be inferior. We felt the least they should do would be to inform us when we arrived of this situation and offer a reduction in the price which was £88 per double room including breakfast. We also ate in the hotel and found the meals to be of poor quality. The vegetables were not just 'al dente' but practically raw!

Not a good experience overall and one we will definitely not be repeating!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencer34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    130
    54
    37
    40
See reviews for
74
245
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2009

We received a warm welcome on arrival and liked the fact that the hotel was in a quiet location.

Our room seemed a little quaint and cosy, being in the eeves, but the quality of the furniture, and the condition of the shower did not reflect the price we were paying. The standard of the room was what you would expect for a B & B. The shower room was rather cramped for space.

Despite having a nice view from our bedroom window, the window was dirty, the glass was cracked and the frame was badly rotted.

Each morning we were unable to take a shower before 10am because the water was barely lukewarm before then. We informed the staff about this after our first night, but nothing changed. I had to boil a kettle to wash my face before breakfast.

Breakfast service was understaffed and badly orgnaised. We had to ask several times for toast - there was no system for noticing and greeting guests as they arrived. It didn't help that one of the 2 waitresses barely spoke any English. Also, buffet items frequently ran out - staff had to be informed about this and consequently, many guests were left waiting with a partial breakfast getting cold. You also have to get your own coffee from an old machine that splutters hot water as it fills up.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassPartoutGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We stayed in this hotel for the Etape Caledonia and as it was priced slightly higher than we like to pay for a bed and a breakfast we were quite looking forward too a bit more luxury. Well we werent in the hotel but in a house nxt door that was undergoing renovation, our room tiny, TV the oldest and smallest ive seen, remote control not working, no veggie option at breakfast which for the C21st I find it difficult to believe that anyone cannot keep a few veggie sauages in the freezer. It was under staffed, I think one polish girl did the lot, our room was not cleaned for one of the days and yes you are right nxt to a council estate (not the hotel owners fault but review very misleading). All in all very dissapointing.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nothardtoplease_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

First class service. Was taking part in Etape Caledonia cycling event and the hotel provided very good service indeed. There were pre event emails to ask what kind of food and when we needed breakfast pre-event. There was an all you can eat high carb buffet for £10 the night before and breakfast very early in the morning before we set off. All very much appreciated. Manageress was very helpful.
The hotel itself had pleasant bar and restaurant areas. Our room was quite basic,some have been refurbished, this wasn't one, but it didn't dampen our experience.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcarr2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

The town:

We planned a one-night stopover in Pitlochry as part of our 2-week tour of Scotland during August 08. People have told us that Pitlochry was a lovely area, but we were disappointed. The area around Pitlochry is pleasant enough, and includes the fantastic must-see Blair Castle, but after experiencing the dramatic scenery of the Highlands during our first week, and having been in the Cairngorms National Park on the previous day, we found it and the town itself unexceptional.

The stone-built buildings are attractive, but in the main street (Atholl Road) we noticed several shop-fronts needing renovation (in fact the main hotel on the street was covered in scaffolding and boards, being renovated right now). We struggled to find an attractive pub or restaurant on the main street. The two or three we saw, although housed in traditional old buldings, felt like old-style street-corner pubs or working-men's clubs. The exception was the "Old Smiddy", a bar-restaurant at the upper end of Atholl Road, where we ate. The food was well presented, and service was very attentive. The only comment would be that the owners should decide whether they want a modern decor or a traditional one - at the moment it sits unhappily between the two.

The lack of good eating and drinking places on Atholl Road is balanced by the slightly more expensive options around and about: in particular, across the River Tummel along the Port-na-craig Road. This is on the path that leads from the hydro-electric station and underwhelming salmon-leap, along the south bank of the Tummel past the rear of the theatre, and back into town via one of two bridges. This is a pleant stroll if you want to kill an hour, and the restaurant menus looked appealing.

Overall, if you want a long-term base for the Cairngorms, you would be better to go further north, to the area around Aviemore (though Aviemore town has nothing to offer sight-seers). It makes a useful north-south stop-over if you need one.

Accomodation:

We booked our one night stop at the Rosemount. We had seen reviews that were quite daunting, advising people not to stay there, and describing the awful decor, and one person's reception by a barking dog! However, as we were booking in June and vacancies seemed hard to find on the web, we booked anyway. (It was only for one night after all.)

The booking was room only and cost £45 per person for a "Larger room with double or King Bed, gorgeous views, full ensuite upgraded bathroom". They took a £50 deposit. The building was in need of renovation inside and out. and the side facing the street was an unwelcoming entrance to a bar which was open to the public.

The room was only of average size, and would not qualify as "larger" in most people's eyes. It was decorated with very outdated and worn furnishings and a dreadful combination of wood-chip that was painted a dingy-looking magnolia, with a pale blue trim on the woodwork and purple/green stencilled "swags" of ivy on the walls and doors.

If the bathroom has ever been upgraded, then it must have been at least 15 years ago. The woodchip paper over the bath was struggling to stay on the wall. There was a bath with very worn brass fittings, including a shower attachment with no way of postioning it overhead for a shower, and no shower cabinet.

The area around the hotel included other hotels and a combination of private and social housing. The views consisted of houses in the near-distance and a range of hills to the south of the town - far from "gorgeous".

The restaurant and lounge both had a "social club" feel about them - very 1970s.

The only things in the Rosemount's favour were that despite the sad decor, the room was very clean, and the two young East European staff were trying to be helpful, which included the waiter phoning the absentee owner to find out what to do to check us out in the morning. This was necessary because the computer was apparently not working and the young lady who managed Reception was at that point cooking breakfast, and couldn't leave the kitchen. We didn't eat at the restaurant (too depressing) and didn't stay for breakfast, preferring to make a quick get away, so cannot comment on the food.

Overall, we paid hotel prices (£90 room only) for a very dreary experience. I wonder whether the owner ever takes time to visit her own hotel, let alone greet her guests. There are official tourist signs in the town showing the way to the Rosemount. Ignore them!

Helpful?
3 Thank Fairlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Just returned from a lovely weekend at the Rosemount Hotel in Pitlochry. They fitted us in as a last minute booking, we were in a small family room which was a bit tight for four of us but sufficient. My only complaint would be that the rooms were quite dated but clean and the shower - or should I say lack of one - was diabolical. I cannot remember ever staying in a hotel with a hand held shower - not this decade anyway. This aside we had a very pleasant stay, breakfasts were second to none and hospitality could not be faulted.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Plumbing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerbieAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Although it was some time ago, that we stayed there, the memories linger and it seems from the current reviews that the Rosemount Experience has not changed.

The front of the hotel has a great view over the town into the wooded hills that surround it, so we paid for a premier room with a view. Our room was above the noisy public bar and the view that we had was of the council estate at the back of the hotel. Most romantic.

When asked why this was classed as a premier room, I was told it was bigger than the others. Considering it was barely wide enough for a double bed, I found that amazing. The rest of the 3 night stay was a trial of endurance.

Not on my hotels to return to list.

I would only just about, recommend it for anyone that could find nowhere else for one overnight stay.

  • Liked — The view from the front car park is nice
  • Disliked — The view from the room was of a council estate, not very romantic
  • Stayed August 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScottishFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,780 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,571 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Hotel

Property: Rosemount Hotel
Address: 12 Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosemount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small,cosy,friendly hotel set in an Edwardian villa over looking stunning views of Pitlochry to the south and upwards to the fabulous Ben Vrackie mountain to the north. Pet and family friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing