We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A breakfast to remember”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poplars Guest House
Ranked #17 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A very warm and friendly welcome, really comfortable beds, nothing too much trouble. Never had porridge that tasted so good, and the rest of the breakfast choice was overwhelming! Would recommend it to anyone for a one night stopover or a base for touring! Excellent! July'14

Room Tip: all the rooms could be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 754AnneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stopped in some of the best hotels round the world and this is the first time in a guest house, and i have to say we loved it. This is a traditional Scottish house and their are lots of great features , it is very clean tidy and you are made to feel very welcome the breakfast is great too. So to sum up if you want somewhere to stop in Pitlochry and have great views and friendly welcoming owners you must stop here. PS you must try the traditional Scottish porridge with whisky its the best.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived at The Poplars at the end of a long but fantastic day. It was easy to find, there was plenty of parking space and our first impression was very good. We received a very warm welcome from Nathalie who provided all of the information you need to make for a pleasant stay. We were shown the lounge and dining room before being taken to our bedroom with en-suite bathroom facilities. Our room on the top floor was a good size and had a great view. The whole guest house is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. It was evident that the owners Nathalie and Jason have invested in the property. There is Wi-Fi which worked for us in both our room and the lounge. Before going out for dinner we made our choice from the breakfast menu in the knowledge that we could change our mind in the morning. Having been out for dinner we returned with a bottle of wine from the local store where we relaxed in the comfort of the lounge.

Breakfast was fantastic! We had been tempted by Nathalie's porridge served with a little whisky before going on to experience a full Scottish breakfast. As many of the ingredients as possible are sourced locally and are therefore fresh just as you would like.

Before leaving after check out we went for a walk into the town of Pitlochry just a short stroll away before returning for the car.

It is worth muting that there are many visitor attractions within easy reach. Aside from the fantastic drive through the countryside we had been to the Glenfidditch Distillery and Balmoral Castle en-route.

We can highly recommend The Poplars and there is no doubt that will return when we next visit the area thanks to the hospitality shown by Nathalie and Jason. Go and see for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We only experienced one room but suspect that they are all of equally high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bridstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed one night in this outstanding B&B, which Natalie and Jason took over only last October. Lovely warm welcome when we arrived, beautiful bedrooms - particularly recommend views from the second floor - and the most wonderful breakfast. Don't miss the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, or Natalie's home-made marmalade. Fantastic value for money. Congratulations to Natalie and Jason, and lots of luck.

Room Tip: Pleasant ground floor room - but no view. Beautiful second-floor room with stunning views across P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Nathalie & Jason made us feel so welcome, nothing was too much trouble for them. Our newly refurbished room was beautifully decorated & spotlessly clean. It's very rare that I sleep through the night especially when I'm away but I've just enjoyed five full nights sleep in one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! Breakfast was amazing, there was so much choice, everything of the highest quality, we ate so well that we never needed to eat lunch. The guest house itself is in a great location on a quiet street just a couple of minutes stroll from the town centre. I cannot recommend The Poplars highly enough.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Dawnie_Madden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Pitlochry is one of my favorite places in Scotland... and this is a new favorite B & B. The house is beautiful. The new owners, Natalie and Jason, have done a wonderful job on updating the place (with more to come). The hosts were very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast was awesome and abundant. The location (on a hill) had excellent views. A definite keeper... Also, need to mention that they honored the price quoted by the previous owner (with whom I made the reservation).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveldog24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nathalie and Jason made us feel very much at home before we even got to our room. Our room had a lovely view into Pitlochry, and its beds and bathroom appliances seemed very clean and brand-new. The next morning, a complete and lovely spread of fruits, grains, jams, etc. was waiting in the dining area, where Nathalie personally brought out the breakfasts my brother and I had selected the evening before. Having told her about my vegan diet, Nathalie took every care to prepare me a wonderful and full breakfast that did not feel lacking due to not having sausage and egg on my plate. Thank you, Poplars, for a thoroughly enjoyable stay, even if it was only for a day!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peyton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#7 of 65 in Pitlochry
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 65 in Pitlochry
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#3 of 65 in Pitlochry
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplars Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplars Guest House

Address: 27 Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5DS, Scotland (Formerly Poplars of Pitlochry)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £33 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poplars Guest House, an elegant Victorian B&B. Located within stunning Highland Perthshire in the charming town of Pitlochry. Perfectly located to explore all of Scotland. Wander through breath taking scenery, go white water rafting, be enchanted by the castles or just relax and unwind. Everything is on our doorstep. Being comfortable and relaxed in our guest house is important so come and stay with us. We have doubles, twins, a triple and quad rooms as well as a beautiful ground floor suite which has a large spacious lounge ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poplars Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing