We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poplars Guest House
Ranked #16 of 65 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in this lovely B&B for one night during our stay in August. Wonderful victorian style house with tasteful furnishing in a nice location. Enormous choice of breakfast, would especially recommend trying the porridge with whisky. Nathalie was very warm and friendly and gave us detailed advice on how to spend our day around pitlochry. Would recommend 100%.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Izuu87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spend a great night at the Poplars B&B in the charming town of Pitlochry. Delicious breakfast, the best we've had in Scotland compared to the other B&B's where we stayed during our trip. Jason&Nathalie are perfect hosts.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank bhjhraad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

when we arrived we had a very warm welcome and were supplied with every information we needed, the guest house is very clean, has nice soft carpets to muffle any noice, the beds are as comfortable as it can be and the view from the lounge and breakfast room is breath taking, you look straight up to the hills. The breakfast menu is just great but their porrige with a splash of whisky is the best to start a day with. Will recommend this B&B to all my friends :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Klara784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A very warm and friendly welcome, really comfortable beds, nothing too much trouble. Never had porridge that tasted so good, and the rest of the breakfast choice was overwhelming! Would recommend it to anyone for a one night stopover or a base for touring! Excellent! July'14

Room Tip: all the rooms could be recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 754AnneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stopped in some of the best hotels round the world and this is the first time in a guest house, and i have to say we loved it. This is a traditional Scottish house and their are lots of great features , it is very clean tidy and you are made to feel very welcome the breakfast is great too. So to sum up if you want somewhere to stop in Pitlochry and have great views and friendly welcoming owners you must stop here. PS you must try the traditional Scottish porridge with whisky its the best.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived at The Poplars at the end of a long but fantastic day. It was easy to find, there was plenty of parking space and our first impression was very good. We received a very warm welcome from Nathalie who provided all of the information you need to make for a pleasant stay. We were shown the lounge and dining room before being taken to our bedroom with en-suite bathroom facilities. Our room on the top floor was a good size and had a great view. The whole guest house is tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. It was evident that the owners Nathalie and Jason have invested in the property. There is Wi-Fi which worked for us in both our room and the lounge. Before going out for dinner we made our choice from the breakfast menu in the knowledge that we could change our mind in the morning. Having been out for dinner we returned with a bottle of wine from the local store where we relaxed in the comfort of the lounge.

Breakfast was fantastic! We had been tempted by Nathalie's porridge served with a little whisky before going on to experience a full Scottish breakfast. As many of the ingredients as possible are sourced locally and are therefore fresh just as you would like.

Before leaving after check out we went for a walk into the town of Pitlochry just a short stroll away before returning for the car.

It is worth muting that there are many visitor attractions within easy reach. Aside from the fantastic drive through the countryside we had been to the Glenfidditch Distillery and Balmoral Castle en-route.

We can highly recommend The Poplars and there is no doubt that will return when we next visit the area thanks to the hospitality shown by Nathalie and Jason. Go and see for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We only experienced one room but suspect that they are all of equally high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bridstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed one night in this outstanding B&B, which Natalie and Jason took over only last October. Lovely warm welcome when we arrived, beautiful bedrooms - particularly recommend views from the second floor - and the most wonderful breakfast. Don't miss the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, or Natalie's home-made marmalade. Fantastic value for money. Congratulations to Natalie and Jason, and lots of luck.

Room Tip: Pleasant ground floor room - but no view. Beautiful second-floor room with stunning views across P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.1 mi away
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
Derrybeg Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 65 in Pitlochry
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Craigroyston House and Lodge
0.4 mi away
The Old Mill Inn
The Old Mill Inn
#3 of 65 in Pitlochry
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westlands of Pitlochry
Westlands of Pitlochry
#7 of 65 in Pitlochry
219 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Claymore Guest House
The Claymore Guest House
#2 of 65 in Pitlochry
635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Torrdarach House
Torrdarach House
#15 of 65 in Pitlochry
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplars Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplars Guest House

Address: 27 Lower Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5DS, Scotland (Formerly Poplars of Pitlochry)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Price Range: £33 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poplars Guest House, an elegant Victorian B&B. Located within stunning Highland Perthshire in the charming town of Pitlochry. Perfectly located to explore all of Scotland. Wander through breath taking scenery, go white water rafting, be enchanted by the castles or just relax and unwind. Everything is on our doorstep. Being comfortable and relaxed in our guest house is important so come and stay with us. We have doubles, twins, a triple and quad rooms as well as a beautiful ground floor suite which has a large spacious lounge ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poplars Guest House Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing