We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Lovely quiet location”
4.5 of 5 bubbles

Review of Clachan Talladh

Designer styled lodge in the highlands.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Designer styled lodge in the highlands.
You can take the high road over the moors but stop at Queens View over Loch Tummel
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
27 reviews
Designer styled lodge in the highlands.
You can take the high road over the moors
but stop at Queens View over Loch Tummel
which fed by River Tummel with its wild waters.
Then carry on through the Caledonian magic
to Loch Rannoch with Glen Coe as a backdrop
and flanked by the magnificient Schiehallion
the 'fairy' mountain
gaze into surreal
where two worlds seem to meet.
Check-in at the lodge
and check-out its room with a view
then its four large double bedrooms
a kitchen / dinner to fit all
and luxury throughout.
Enjoy the patio and landscaped gardens.
Then catch the Hogwarts Express from Rannoch Station
steam through Glen Coe
and glide over Glenfinnan Viaduct towards Mallaig
to watch the sunset over Skye.
in midst of wilderness
professionally landscaped gardens
architectural excellence
full view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
claudiaWi...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Fab location close to Loch Rannoch, stunning scenery and peaceful rural stay. Very well equipped house with a visiting pheasant in the garden. Couldn't get the tv to work on arrival but a quick call to Mohan sorted that. Everything worked fine. House is just a few miles away from Rannoch Station from where we took the West Highland Line to Mallaig for a lovely seafood lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2014
Thanks for your kind words. This sounds like a house that we should also visit if your kid's timetable (football, etc) lets us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bostjan35...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great destination away in beautiful scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent a wonderful weekend in early April cycling and rambling around the local hills with the base at the above property. The cottage is just great. Modern build, cosy with ample space in every room. 4 bedrooms easily cater for up to 9 people. Living room with magnificent views over the countryside. The master bedroom overlooking some stunning snow covered Munros to wake up to at the call of the grouse. All the amenities were top notch, with the Jacuzzi bath tub an added luxury after a long day outdoors.

There is a boutique restaurant nearby at the Rannoch train station which is only a short drive away or take a beautiful car journey along the southern shores of Loch Rannoch to the nearest village of Kinloch Rannoch. Not to mention ample opportunity to explore the north west with the access from the Rannoch train station up to Fort William and onwards to Mallaig. A must in the autumn!

Most pleasant stay and definitely shall be returning.

Thanks Mohan for having us

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location, spaciousness and design of the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2014
Thanks for your appreciation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnethAMS
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly Recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

An easy and prompt communication with Mr Mohan regarding booking and the house itself.

From the kitchen to the living room, to the bathrooms and bedrooms.

We arrived and found the house, inside and out were very clean and things are easily found.

The floor heating was very good because it can be controlled.
Spacious patio in front and at the back of the house for hanging out.
We went to the beach (Loch Rannoch which is 3-5minutes drive) for a swim and some football.

Love the fact both living room and kitchen are spacious. Everyone can be in the same room and still have lots of space to run around (due to the joy of monopoly night).
Home entertainment is pretty good. It has a big TV, CD player, decoder and sound system.

It is surrounded by farms and picturesque munro, a good place to walk, bike and hike. It’s an amazing place for a natural getaway. You might want to buy all foods before you come. There aren’t any big supermarkets.

Phone and Internet coverage weren't very good, we were 9 and only one of us was able to get coverage (in case of emergency). But that goes to the phone service provider.

Basically, it has all the things you need in a house.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The house.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is a testament to the folk who look after our place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samantha...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our experience of Clachan Talldah Lodge was not a pleasant one.
We had been informed the night previous by Mohan, that the heating had stopped working in the lodge, however a plumber was due the next morning to fix the issue, we were told he had only just found out and sorry it was short notice and for the disruption. So we set off not knowing whether we would have any heating or hot water in the lodge. We arrived at the lodge after a 9 hour drive, and we were greeted in the dark, without any of the outside lights working. We finally entered the Lodge, to find the floors dirty, the carpets UN-hovered, big holes in the walls, unclean worktop surfaces in the kitchen, And it was FREEZING!! We turned on the heating and after 4 hours it began to warm up. Non of the furniture you see in the pictures is actually at the lodge, except the bed, & the kitchen table. The sofas are totally different and worn out and very uncomfortable.
when we all finally retired to our bedrooms, 2 of the couples including me and my husband discovered our beds were filthy, they had stains on and body hairs.
We also had Rats in the lodge, we did not discover until the next morning that a Rodent repellent had been left in this kitchen, however we were not told about the rats.
The next day I text Mohan, to inform him of these problems, he sent the handy man "Eddie" Who did nothing but inform us that the boiler in fact went a few weeks ago not the day before we arrived and fix the outside light so one of them switched on. When I asked Mohan for an apology as I felt he was not taking our complaints seriously, he hen text me back saying " Sarah I am taking this seriously - Ive said sorry, maybe the plumber made the bed dirty" I must have emailed Mohan over 10 times arranging this holiday for my dad, And he could not even remember my name, and why would the plumber be in our beds?!
We were very disappointed with the Lodge, from the images it looks lovely and its surrounding are its clearly been left to get run down and has not been looked after properly. There were 6 of us at the lodge, and we were all disappointed with the stay.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
1 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: size.
Liked least: Un-clean and dirtyy throughout and very poor customer service.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
There was an unforeseen problem with our boiler just before they arrived. We did our duty by informing these guests and we took the precaution finding alternative accommodation for them in case the boiler man did not get it working in time. Most people would expect to switch the lights after they enter the house. We offered change the sheets, etc, but they seemed more interested in a refund. So I am not sure if these guests are describing the state they left the house, rather than the state they found it in. Most people would understand why most folk living in the countryside fit pest repellents as a precaution. I hope anyone who reads this review will read all the other reviews on this website and on HomeAway (P446926) and decide for themselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
771mike
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury within beautiful surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The house was as described very clean and tidy, loads of great walks to go on and amazing scenery loch Eigheach on a still clear sunny day is a must see, its like a mirror reflecting the clouds and blue sky.

Thank you Mohan for an amazing stay

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2013
Thanks Michael - I will pass on your compliments to the ladies who maintain the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen S
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury property and beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I stayed here with friends for New Year 2012 and we had just the most amazing time. Mohan (the owner) from the outset on booking could not have been more helpful on what to expect, what to do when there, areas and places to visit. Any questions we had he was so efficient at getting back to us. The log cabin is pure luxury and when I say the view from the living room is jaw dropping I mean jaw dropping. The surrounding areas for walks are just beautiful too. Inside it is so homely but with a modern feel too. The kitchen and living room are both sociable areas so great for the party size that can go along to the cottage. We had the best New Year here and would absolutely recommend this stay at any time of the year! Thank you for everything.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The view and location of property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2013
Thanks very much for the kind words. I was worried that you had forgotten us - All the best for 2013/14 new year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the house was beautiful and the area
Liked least: places a bit far away if you donot like walking to them needed the car for kids.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Jul 2013
Great to hear. Try it again and see if it the same.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$138
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing