We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch”
Review of Cafe Biba

Cafe Biba
Ranked #25 of 54 Restaurants in Pitlochry
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Larbert, , United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Had a lovely hearty soup and crusty bread for lunch.
Friendly staff not long to wait and value for money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Cafe Biba, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you, we make our soups fresh each day and they are always very popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    244
    113
    82
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Won't be going back”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Staying in Pitlochry for a few days, while looking around the shops we stopped here for a cup of tea and a toasted tea cake. Thought it looked lovely from the outside.
It was only about 11am, and there were only a few other people in there. We sat in the conservatory area. The floors were dirty with crumbs etc. and nearly all the tables had napkins under the table legs. The flowers on the tables were dying and the water was disgusting.
When our tea arrived my cup was dirty, but the waitress seemed put out when I mentioned this, but did exchange it. The tea cakes were ok, my grandma thought hers was a bit burnt.
My grandma visited the toilet and felt they weren't as clean as they should be.
Overall a disappointing experience. When I paid on the way out the girl asked me if everything had been ok. I admit that I lied and said that it was fine, but didn't feel it worth mentioning as it would take a while to clean that place up.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank k1ujs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“average food but well located”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

the restaurant is in the center of the city and is serving later than others in the area. The food is quite average.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lulubulle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Not the worst meal we've had, but certainly in the bottom five (the other four all at my mother in law's). My wife's salmon hideously overcooked, yet potatoes undercooked. My seafood platter basically a vomit of poor quality smoked salmon and freshly thawed prawns in lashings of a particularly unpalatable mayonnaise.

Terrible is a generous rating.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank pauldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Cafe Biba, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to Cafe Biba. We always welcome feed back even when it's negative as it does help us look at what we are doing and how we can improve.
I feel I must point out that the two dishes you highlighted have proved to be two of the most popular on our menu and are usually very well received. Our fresh Salmon and our smoked salmon are both quality products delivered by our fishmonger daily.
In this instance it looks we just didn't deliver them to you to the standard we ourselves would expect. Your comments about the salad have made us think about our current presentation of the dish and we are looking at alternatives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“customers should come first!!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

this eatery is small but has good food if a bit too expensive!!!....the staff are either rude or too young to realise when your waiting at a counter you want served......would give it a miss due to this poor customer care

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rosemary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M, General Manager at Cafe Biba, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi sorry you felt let down by the standard of customer care from our staff.
Our restaurant is very seasonal in nature and we do have to recruit a few fresh faces each summer but we do try to make sure they are as customer orientated as our permanent staff. In this case this didn't come across, so we will take your comments on board and make sure we improve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Biba also viewed

Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Cafe Biba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing