We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Birchwood is the perfect place for a relaxing break.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birchwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birchwood
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Birchwood is the perfect place for a relaxing break.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We recently had our annual break (our seventh) at the Birchwood Hotel in Pitlochry, and, as always, we had a thoroughly enjoyable time. A warm welcome, comfortable accommodation in a beautiful house in a lovely setting, hearty breakfasts, delicious dinners, a good choice of wines, and a blazing fire in the lounge when the evenings turn chilly -all these await you at the Birchwood, and at a very reasonable price. If you want the perfect base for exploring Perthshire, or just a relaxing break in peaceful surroundings, then I thorougly recommend the Birchwood. If you visit the Birchwood, I'm sure that, like us, you will be keen to return on a regular basis.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Birchwood, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thanks HDMCP - we appreciate your taking the time to write your reviews. We look forward to your next visit and, to whet your taste buds, we've got a new bourgogne which I think is even better than our previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    26
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
48
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Booked this hotel on the off chance, and am so glad I did. It looks lovely from the outside and inside doesn't disappoint. As soon as you go in you get a sense of the era the house was built. It has a peacefulness about it and feels warm and cosy from the outset even although it has the high ceilings and large rooms that you would expect from a Victorian country house. We got a lovely welcome and our room [a superior twin] was big and very comfortable with a walk in shower. We had booked for 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast and all the food we had was freshly cooked and delicious. One night while we were at dinner we saw a roe deer wander through the garden. Beautiful! The owners of the hotel were very helpful and informative. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: All rooms look great from the photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mawsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Birchwood, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thanks Mawsmith for your lovely review. Such comments inspire us to try to make sure that everyone leaving Birchwood feels just like you did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

My husband and I stayed over the Easter weekend for the second year in a row and the hotel was just as good as we remembered from last year. The food and the service are excellent. Val and John do a great job at friendly, personal service. Our only slight criticism is that the decor in the room, particularly the bathroom suite, is a bit dated but the beds are very comfortable and the rooms have everything you need. We particularly love having drinks and coffee in the lounge in front of the open fire – very homely.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LNAScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Birchwood, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thanks LNAScotland for your flattering review - we'll try to live up to it!

Thanks too for taking the time to draw our attention to some aspects of your room you consider somewhat dated. Since taking over Birchwood in 1997 updating and upgrading have been a feature of our winter close down - this year the residents' lounge and room 5 got the treatment but it's possible that some of our earlier efforts are themselves in need of upgrading. We'll bear it in mind when planning next winter's work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2011

The hosts made us feel really welcome from the moment we arrived. Everywhere was spotless, quiet and relaxing; I had the best sleep I'd had in a long time. We opted for a superior room, and for £4 extra per person we were not disappointed. Pure luxury. Huge bed, flat screen TV, tea and coffee facilities, settee, ensuite shower and bath ... nothing was left out and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. The food was out of this world and the service faultless. We were thoroughly spoiled.
Prices were very, very reasonable considering the level of luxury offered.
Pitlochry was within 5 minutes walk and there were enough things going on there to fill the weekend.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing break where you are made to feel as though you are the most important people in the world.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grannycb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Birchwood, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Thanks a lot grannycb - it's good to be appreciated! A great start to the season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newimilns Ayrshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Everything about the Birchwood Hotel is excellent, the accomodation, the food is exceptional and the hosts John and Viv are the best. We are just home after a great weekend and looking forward to when we can again visit the Birchwood.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomAnnTomHesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

Me and my girlfriend travelled stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in August. I could not fault a thing, we were made feel so welcome as soon as we set foot inside. We thought we would get dinner in the hotal the first night and eat out the others but the food was that good that we ate in the hotel for the remainder of the stay.

Thank you for a lovley trip

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissybhoy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

So pleased we found this gem of a hotel. Couldn't fault a thing. We were looked after from the minute we arrived to when we finally checked out. Food was excellent, service faultless. It certainly is the place to aim for if you want a peaceful and tranquil setting. Pitlochry is a favourite place anyway, John and Viv just made it extra special this time. Hoping to go back soon and would have no hesitation in recommending the Birchwood.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonDerham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
1.4 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood

Property: Birchwood
Address: 2 East Moulin Road, Pitlochry PH16 5DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Birchwood 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enclosed by woodland and garden, the Birchwood Hotel provides quiet seclusion in a country-house atmosphere only minutes from the centre of Pitlochry, an ideal holiday location at the heart of Perthshire and Scotland. From the Birchwood there is easy nearby access to the wealth of scenic, historic, cultural, wildlife, sport and adventure opportunities which characterise Perthshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Birchwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Pitlochry
Birchwood Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing