We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, great breakfast, not so keen on the wallpaper!”
Review of Birchwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Birchwood
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My parents had stayed at Birchwood and recommended it to us, although they did suggest that it might be more suited to the more (ahem) mature guest. There is a slightly old-fashioned air to the hotel, for sure, and the sheer amount of patterned wallpaper is a bit mind-boggling: the décor certainly wasn't my cup of tea. BUT: everything was very clean and comfortable; the proprietors are extremely friendly and helpful; the breakfast was absolutely great. (If you like black pudding, you'll certainly like their black pudding: delicious, as was the porridge.) Recommended.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris_Abram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 August 2011

Hi Chris_Abram and thanks for your revue. Your comments following the word “BUT” are greatly appreciated. We're sorry the décor got to you and we'll bear that in mind when future redecoration is under consideration. However, the number of guests who return year after year suggests there are significant numbers who might just be happy with it as is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Birchwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

clean tidy place not for the younger person, we booked for 2 night bb but was asked when we checked in if we would like evening meal and we said yes,we were asked for our order there and then as its cooked fresh which was fine. pillows were very soft and not comfy. we thought we would return until we saw what we were charged for that evening meal, it was £60.20 and in no way was it worth that not even with the 2 half glasses of wine added, i was asked to check my bill before we left but as i had no specks on i sayed it was fine otherwise i would have refused to pay that amount., so no we wont be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doris029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 July 2011

I am sorry that Doris 029's stay at Birchwood was not entirely satisfactory. We teat our guests' concerns with the utmost seriousness and, to this end, the Information folder in each room requests that they draw our attention to anything we can do to improve their stay. Moreover, I make sure that I greet every new guest at breakfast with an enquiry as to how their night has been - an invitation to point out any problems they have encountered and an opportunity for Doris 029 to request a change of pillows which would have been gladly attended to. However my recollection is that Doris 029 and her partner both just said their night had been "lovely".
With regard to the “overpriced” dinner, the Birchwood, in common with many similar establishments throughout Scotland, serves a fixed-price, 4-course meal plus coffee/tea. Although almost every Trip Advisor review emphasises the excellence of Viv's cooking, not every diner (a tiny minority) feels able to cope with all 4 courses but none quibble at paying the fixed price. My memory is that Doris 029 and her partner only had 2 courses plus fruit juice and declined coffee or tea, which, of course, is not a cost-effective option, although they again agreed the food was "lovely". However I have to acknowledge that the implications of their choice was not adequately spelled out when they placed their order and they obviously assumed (but did not enquire) that ordering half the offered meal would result in a commensurate price reduction. In conformity with our aim to meet, or exceed, our guests' expectations I have made a refund of £20.00 to Doris 029's debit card.
Many thanks to Doris 029 for drawing my attention to an aspect of our business that needed attention and has received it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband and i are just back from a one night stay at this lovely hotel. The owners were very friendly and attentive. The room was very clean and comfortable - a great night sleep. The food was AMAZING Mmmmmmmm! The wine was beautiful too and very reasonably priced. A great place to stay to explore Pitlochry and surrounding area - only a few minutes stroll from the centre. Hope to be back again for more of the same! No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngieMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2011

Thanks AngieMackenzie for your very kind review. We look forward to seeing you again and promise to try always for the same response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Just returned from a 12 day stay and loved it.We enjoyed our stay so much The food was excellent along with the service. The staff so friendly and willing to help you enjoy your stay
It really is a lovely place to take a holiday or a short break
'Our guest's come first' is what drives them on
The ambience of the hotel and grounds make it such a relaxing place to stay.
I have no hesitation in recommending the 'Birchwood Hotel.
No praise is too high, what more can I say.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancashirelad_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2011

Thanks Lancashirelad_11 - it was a pleasure to be your host at Birchwood. Welcoming new visitors for a 12 day stay can be somewhat daunting but you were the perfect guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We recently had our annual break (our seventh) at the Birchwood Hotel in Pitlochry, and, as always, we had a thoroughly enjoyable time. A warm welcome, comfortable accommodation in a beautiful house in a lovely setting, hearty breakfasts, delicious dinners, a good choice of wines, and a blazing fire in the lounge when the evenings turn chilly -all these await you at the Birchwood, and at a very reasonable price. If you want the perfect base for exploring Perthshire, or just a relaxing break in peaceful surroundings, then I thorougly recommend the Birchwood. If you visit the Birchwood, I'm sure that, like us, you will be keen to return on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HDMCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2011

Thanks HDMCP - we appreciate your taking the time to write your reviews. We look forward to your next visit and, to whet your taste buds, we've got a new bourgogne which I think is even better than our previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Booked this hotel on the off chance, and am so glad I did. It looks lovely from the outside and inside doesn't disappoint. As soon as you go in you get a sense of the era the house was built. It has a peacefulness about it and feels warm and cosy from the outset even although it has the high ceilings and large rooms that you would expect from a Victorian country house. We got a lovely welcome and our room [a superior twin] was big and very comfortable with a walk in shower. We had booked for 3 nights dinner, bed and breakfast and all the food we had was freshly cooked and delicious. One night while we were at dinner we saw a roe deer wander through the garden. Beautiful! The owners of the hotel were very helpful and informative. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: All rooms look great from the photos.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mawsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2011

Thanks Mawsmith for your lovely review. Such comments inspire us to try to make sure that everyone leaving Birchwood feels just like you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

My husband and I stayed over the Easter weekend for the second year in a row and the hotel was just as good as we remembered from last year. The food and the service are excellent. Val and John do a great job at friendly, personal service. Our only slight criticism is that the decor in the room, particularly the bathroom suite, is a bit dated but the beds are very comfortable and the rooms have everything you need. We particularly love having drinks and coffee in the lounge in front of the open fire – very homely.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LNAScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2011

Thanks LNAScotland for your flattering review - we'll try to live up to it!

Thanks too for taking the time to draw our attention to some aspects of your room you consider somewhat dated. Since taking over Birchwood in 1997 updating and upgrading have been a feature of our winter close down - this year the residents' lounge and room 5 got the treatment but it's possible that some of our earlier efforts are themselves in need of upgrading. We'll bear it in mind when planning next winter's work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,840 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
385 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
2,004 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
Scotland's Hotel & Spa
#17 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,619 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood

Address: 2 East Moulin Road, Pitlochry PH16 5DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range: £113 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Birchwood 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enclosed by woodland and garden, the Birchwood Hotel provides quiet seclusion in a country-house atmosphere only minutes from the centre of Pitlochry, an ideal holiday location at the heart of Perthshire and Scotland. From the Birchwood there is easy nearby access to the wealth of scenic, historic, cultural, wildlife, sport and adventure opportunities which characterise Perthshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Birchwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Pitlochry
Birchwood Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing