We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not really worth the price”
Review of Birchwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Birchwood
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK, but not really worth the price”
Reviewed 12 July 2009

The good points are that the hotel was pleasently situated, had nice gardens and plenty of parking. The room was very large with lots of storage space (there was even a sofa in the room without looking cluttered). You can also get a nice looking evening meal.

However, what was missing was the little extras that you get at the best places - decent toiletries, large towels, decent sized t.v., freeview, wi-fi etc. The decoration was tired and although the en-suite had a nice deep long bath and shower, it could do with being updated. The breakfast was well cooked, but didn't have as much as other places in terms of amount given and variety to choose from.

Although these things might not be that important to some, for the price this hotel charges I would have expected the facilities to be better.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShirleyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    29
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
50
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LEEDS
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Had a very enjoyable weekend stay with a group of friends, looked after brilliantly by Viv and John, would definately stay again when next in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIKERTEAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

My elderly Aunt and I stayed at Birchwood for a week. We had comfortable rooms, and enjoyed being looked after by John and Viv,.The Food was tasty, fresh and provided in sensible proportions. With the attentiveness of John, I felt we were at a Fawlty Towers where everything went right!
We saw lots of red squirrels. I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel to people who like a quiet life and old fashioned hospitality.

  • Liked — We felt at home
  • Disliked — Stairs could be hard work for some, but were fine for us
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CarolynScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

Had to cancel my booking due to a Famiy Bereavement (Father in law) I gave them 1 weeks notice & they still charged me £50 cancelation fee.I would not recomend this Hotel to ANYONE they have no compassion whatsoever.I was only going to stay for 1 night.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
5 Thank 14715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.2 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dundarach Hotel
Dundarach Hotel
#16 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosemount Hotel
Rosemount Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood

Property: Birchwood
Address: 2 East Moulin Road, Pitlochry PH16 5DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Birchwood 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enclosed by woodland and garden, the Birchwood Hotel provides quiet seclusion in a country-house atmosphere only minutes from the centre of Pitlochry, an ideal holiday location at the heart of Perthshire and Scotland. From the Birchwood there is easy nearby access to the wealth of scenic, historic, cultural, wildlife, sport and adventure opportunities which characterise Perthshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Birchwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Pitlochry
Birchwood Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing