We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I have just got back home after 3 days at the Green Park Hotel. We had not been there before. We went with our friends of 40 years and had the most wonderful time.
The room which we had was lovely, the food, first class and the service excellent. We couldn't really fault it in any way - the weather was glorious too.
The only thing was that our friends had booked it rather hastily and we had to take the rooms
which were available and our friends had to change rooms after the first night. The second room was very small which was very disappointing, but it won't stop us from making a return visit. It was short notice after all, so it could not be helped.
A lovely hotel in the most beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit on the small side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 108Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear 108Alice,

Many thanks for the very generous revue, and delighted to read that the four of you had a nice time of it in Pitlochry. That you have been friends for forty odd years is a thing to be treasured.

It might be hard to believe but since your departure the weather has continued to perform to Olympic standards, with days going by without - it seems - a cloud in the sky. As a true Scot I just keep thinking that it can't last, but it has!

Best regards, and thanks again for posting the revue.

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    43
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
92
312
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kinross, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Thank you to everyone at the Green Park for a wonderfull weekend. This was our first visit but not the last.My husband and I had both been ill the previous few weeks but I was determined not to miss our Birthday weekend. The staff, the weather, the food and the peace and quiet, also the friendliness of the other guests made it a weekend to remember.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkie187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Dear Yorkie187,

Many thanks for the review, and glad to read that your weekend visit was a sucess. We are always nervous when guests try out the Green Park for the first time, so we were delighted to read that you lived to tell the tale.
Your kind comments included a mention about the beautiful weather during your stay . Far be it from me to be modest in the face of compliments, but we have no say whatsoever in determining what weather you get during your stay. Please get in touch prior to your stay with a ( much ) higher authority.
Glad to read also that the two of you are now feeling much better after a poor start to the month, and we look forward to welcoming you both again in the future.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have just spent a very enjoyable 3 day DB&B break at this hotel which was thankfully recommended to us. It has the most beautiful loch setting and gardens and from the moment you walk through the door of the hotel you are met by very friendly, efficient staff. The hotel is spotlessly clean, warm and airy with small touches like the binoculars on every window to add to your enjoyment during your stay. The food and presentation was 1st class and the breakfast selection was the best we've ever came upon even on cruises. Lovely cosy bar which we liked as you don't often get in a country house hotel. This is obviously a first rate establishment with changes being made all the time to improve an already excellent hotel.
The man from the States who wrote in trip advisor at the end of the year obviously hadn't done his homework properly on the type of hotel he wished to stay in, had he done so he would have realised this 1st class hotel or any other country house hotel was not for him.
Would definately recommend and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Phone if you wish to select a loch view or a room in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Sheila N,

Many thanks for your lovely review, and apologies for my delay in replying. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your first stay at the Green Park, and thank you for taking the plunge!

If you ever come across items that you think improve the breakfast buffet, or which you would like supplied as an individual item for your stay, then please don't hesitate to ask. For example, Marjorie and Gerald from Nairn take special delivery of a box of Honey Nut Cornflakes each time they stay.

We look forward to welcoming th etwo of you again, and thanks once again for your very kind thoughts.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

The superb location of this family run hotel is well matched by the quality of the service, food and accommodation. The friendliness of the service was particularly noteworthy, no doubt helped by the favourable staff to resident ratio. Well worth a second visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aloisvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear aloisvon,
Many thanks for your very kind review, and for trying us out at the Green Park. We are delighted that your anniversary stay went well. Your remarks about our friendly staff are particularly appreciated - I promise to stop beating them from now on! The good thing about Tripadvisor reviews is that it is a two way process, so we fully intend to hold you to your last remark about a return visit to the Green Park.
Best regards,
Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We visited this hotel for a week-end in February and we were very impressed by the friendly and professional standard of service.
The hotel is located just outside Pitclochry with stunning views over the loch and mountains.
The staff in the hotel are all trained to a very high standard and the hotel is a family run business, with a very welcoming atmosphere.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingKongScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear KingKongScotland,

Many thanks for your last minute decision to join us at Pitlochry and the Green Park, and delighted to read that your weekend visit went well.

We are very lucky to have the mix of staff that we do, though Diane, June Ann, and David and Julie deserve all the credit for their level of training. My dad and I have little to no training skills, though we are adept at looking busy throughout the day - a good tip is to carry a clipboard around to heighten the effect!

We hope that you had a safe journey home to Fife, and thanks again for the strong recommendation.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We’ve just returned from a fantastic weekend at the Green Park. But from past experience, we expected no less.

Highlights

A surprise welcome package in the room with a personalised birthday card. How did they know … ?

Afternoon coffee and cakes (decaf and gluten free available) in the resident’s lounge overlooking the loch, surrounded by bookcases full of oversized books, binoculars are provided for wild life spotting. Lock me in. Throw away the key.

Comfortable armchairs in our room. That’s unusual for a hotel. Binoculars in our room. Tough choices. Room? Lounge?

The widest range of breakfast foods I’ve seen at a hotel. A separate Healthy Table offers cholesterol reducing spread, gluten free cereal, soya milk, goat’s milk, skimmed milk. Nice touch. Hot food is table service. Husband chose the full cooked breakfast, I chose the smoked haddock, which was perfectly cooked.

A 4-course luxury dinner menu, that varies daily, preceded by sherry, followed by coffee and shortbread.

Staff who make you feel special, even if you make daft requests.

It’s been a while since we visited. It’ll not be so long until the next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Copathians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Copathians,

Many thanks for the revue, and glad to read that the weekend stay was a success. We hope that you enjoyed the wee dance in the Sun Lounge after dinner on the Saturday.

How did we know that it was your birthday? - we have spies everywhere!

We are delighted that you mentioned the bedroom chairs in your revue. My dad's policy has always been to provide you chairs that you can have a snooze in, and he has tested many of the his time; a true professional.

You can give us no greater compliment than your intention to return again, and we look forward to holding you to your promise.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Having a short break with some friends I stayed at the Green Park Hotel for the first time in late December 2011 and as a result the weather was nothing to write home about. However, that mattered little as there was no real need, or inclination, to leave the hotel. The bedrooms, public rooms and restaurant were all very warm with plenty of comfortable furniture. If you didn't bring your own reading material there was some provided, there was even a large jigsaw which you could add a few pieces to as you went past. For those of a more technical bent the wifi was available throughout the building. Both dinner and breakfast were excellent with everything clearly freshly cooked.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baselscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Baselscot,

Many thanks for your stay with us this December, and glad to read that your wee break was a success. Your comments about your stay are much appreciated, and we were delighted that you found the Green Park warm and comfortable.

We have been very lucky so far this year with the weather, and I can explain why. On the back of last winters travails, we purchased for the hotel; two industrial size salt bins, enough salt to last the decade, four Canadian snow spades, and to top it all, an all singing all dancing snow-blowing machine. By investing in these items we would like to take the credit for it not really snowing to date, and if we never have to us the snow-blower, it will be the best investment we have ever made.

Thank you once again for your revue, and we hope to welcome you both again at some other date in the future.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,941 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
776 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Property: The Green Park Hotel
Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing