We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Legendary" Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Green Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Rolle, Switzerland
1 review
“"Legendary" Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed at the Green Park hotel with my parents, husband and 2 small children for 2 nights in April. Accommodation was great, food excellent and location fantastic. As a frequent business traveller to 5 * hotels, it takes quite a lot to impress me but, I can honestly say that Green Park exceeded all of my expectations. We experienced the best customer service ever. Everything from the initial booking request though to the efficient departure was outstanding. There is an air of informality which is very relaxing but everything just works - like clockwork.

Yes, the clientele was for the most part 50 plus but I did not feel out of place with my 2 kids ( 5 and 8) due to the welcoming attitude of the staff. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissFamilyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear SwissFamilyScotland,

Many thanks for the very generous revue, and thanks for putting up with a bedroom move during your stay. It was a great pleasure to look after you, your family, and your parents - especially with the latter choosing to return again to the Green Park. we hope that you all left with happy memories.

Your children are a credit to the two of you, and there is at least one budding artist in the family; a picture of a giant squid springing to mind straight away. It is always nice to see children wo are willing to take the 'adult' menu in their stride.

We hope that you all had a safe journey home, and your husband was happy with the number of South African wines available!

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    42
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
87
292
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I had been to the Green Park on several occasions but last weekend we introduced it to some friends, who had neveer been in Scotland previously. To put it mildly - they were very impressed and delighted with the hotel - and the scenery. The informal efficiency of all the staff has to be commended and the meals are well worth the AA Red Rosette. In addition tea, coffee and biscuits are available free of charge throughout the day. All the bedrooms have an excellent view. They are extremely well and comfortably furnished although I would prefer duvets to sheets and blankets.
The hotel makes no claim to cater for children but for those who are looking for a quiet, home from home experience in the Southern Highlands this could not be bettered. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear welders,

Thank you for taking the time to write, for the kind comments, and for introducing your friends to Perthshire and the Green Park. I keep telling our two kids - Liam and Megan - how lucky they are to be growing up in 'Brigadoon', but it is nice to hear it reafirmed by those who are introduced to the area for the first time. We are very fortunate, and daily count our blessings.

I have a favour to ask if you are planning another visit - please just let us know in advance your preference for duvets, and we will make sure that they are put on your beds in time for your arrival.

Thank you once again for the revue.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wishaw
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We spent a week travelling and decided to finish our holiday at the green park.The hotel definately lived up to it's reputation.What a lovely greating we got when we arrived.We were given a tour of the hotel then showen to our room. The room was warm and beautifully furnished with a lovely view of the loch.What a nice touch to be greeted by the owner as we made our way downstairs for dinner and the offer of a sherry before dinner reminded me of what hotels used to be like.The food was delicious and the dining room staff were excellent. The breakfast used great quality products and just helped to finish off a perfect stay.
We would definately recommend a visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolwishaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear carolwishaw,

Many thanks for your lovely revue, and for finishing your weeks holiday with us. We hope that you had the benefit of the great spell of weather Pitlochry has been having.

When guests arrive who are new to the hotel, we show them around the public areas to give them an idea of the layout. We also take you to your bedroom and attempt to carry your luggage, though with the bulk of our guests being British, this can sometimes lead to a wrestling match between ourselves and reticent males!

Mum and Dad are still tied to the mast, and pull their weight at the hotel. Saturday night is their official night for helping with the sherry reception, so if you are approached by either of them in the lounges, they answer to Mary or John. Mum hails from Dalkey to the south of Dublin, while Dad is a West Coaster from Paisley.

Thanks once again for the very kind review, and for stopping off in Pitlochry. We look forward to welcoming you both again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We spent two nights here on first impression it came over as an older persons type of hotel but believe me if first class service and excellent attention to detail is what you like then this is for you!! the hotel was immaculate clean plush but still comfortable. Dining here was a delight with pre dinner sherry complimentary. Afternoon tea is served every day and tea, coffee and soft drinks are always available free of charge. The views of the Loch from the bedrooms is amazing so ask for a view if available.
Would recommend for discerning older travellers who want a break away from it all cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Loch...Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Dear hamshaw,

Many thanks for joining us from Rotherham, and for posting your very kind revue. The weather this year has been a real bonus to date, and guests have been able to enjoy the views from their bedrooms or to sit outside - honestly!

The Norwegian golfers who visit once a year have been particularily lucky with the weather, with some having the temerity to complain about it being too hot. This reason was offered as an explanation for a lack of birdies.

Thank you once agin for trying out the Green Park, and we hope to welcoming you again at some point in the future, whatever the weather.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have just spent three nights at The Green Park Hotel which was a brilliant experience. We couldn't fault this hotel. The welcome, the comfort, the quality of staff and service, the location were all excellent. Plus the food was out of this world with beautiful four course dinners and coffee. When the receptionist first let us into our room we were immediately stunned by its size and the view from the windows. In fact the room was more like a bedroom combined with a sitting room.

We felt we had really good value and were pleasantly surprised at the modest prices on the wine list. So much was included in the terms that few extras were needed. WE HOPE IT STAYS THIS WAY!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorer186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Explorer186525

Glad to read that your three night holiday was a success, and your positive comments are very much appreciated.

When it comes to the wine list, we try to keep our prices as reasonable as possible, bearing in mind that our guests have already agreed to the tariff we charge for staying at the Green Park. Our policy is not to maximise our profit at every opportunity. That said, we are not encouraging our guests to drink irresponsibly!

Thank you once again for going to the trouble of posting a review, and many happy returns again for your birthday.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on the last night after our walking tour along the Great Glen Way.
Everything about the hotel, it's staff, food and drinks could not have been better.
We had a wait in the next morning for our support driver to arrive as the car was being fixed and was overdue.
The hotel staff were very good, giving us an area to store our luggage and allowed us use of the hotels facilities while we waited.
If you need that touch of luxury on a stay in this area of Scotland then I would most definitely give it my recommendation.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear 123T

Many thanks for your stay with us, and for your very kind review. Whenever you open up a review, your are always afraid that this will be the one who didn't enjoy the kind of hotel you try and run.

Well done in finishing the Great Glen walk - I kept a friend company for part of it years ago, and its an achievement that stays with you. I never realised that cows could be so beligerent!

We look forward to welcoming you both again in the future, and thanks once again for the generous review.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I have just got back home after 3 days at the Green Park Hotel. We had not been there before. We went with our friends of 40 years and had the most wonderful time.
The room which we had was lovely, the food, first class and the service excellent. We couldn't really fault it in any way - the weather was glorious too.
The only thing was that our friends had booked it rather hastily and we had to take the rooms
which were available and our friends had to change rooms after the first night. The second room was very small which was very disappointing, but it won't stop us from making a return visit. It was short notice after all, so it could not be helped.
A lovely hotel in the most beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a bit on the small side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 108Alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear 108Alice,

Many thanks for the very generous revue, and delighted to read that the four of you had a nice time of it in Pitlochry. That you have been friends for forty odd years is a thing to be treasured.

It might be hard to believe but since your departure the weather has continued to perform to Olympic standards, with days going by without - it seems - a cloud in the sky. As a true Scot I just keep thinking that it can't last, but it has!

Best regards, and thanks again for posting the revue.

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
2.3 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Property: The Green Park Hotel
Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing