We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

can not praise this hotel enough from the pristine bedroom and bathroom, excellent breakfast, beautiful vistas and very pleasant staff. Grand daughter and I enjoyed the gardens, especially the swing. Also appreciated the courtesy car to and from the railway station.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freda2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear freda2612,

Great to read that everything went well with your stay, and that Granny and Grand Daughter enjoyed the swing - though we would have to reprimand the two of you if the strict speed limit we set on it is ever threatened!

Thanks also for highlighting the fact of our courtesy transport. Any guests traveling by bus or train just need to let us know of the time of their arrival, and we will arrange for complimentary transport to the hotel. On the day of your departure we can just repeat this process in reverse.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    43
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
93
312
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carluke
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

My Father & Mother, Mr & Mrs Williams, enjoyed many breaks at this wonderfull hotel until my father was diagnosed with terminal cancer. He was devestated at having to cancel his last few bookings but the hotel were very kind. My father passed away on 8th July and when we approached the hotel to have permission to scatter his ashes in the grounds they were so so kind and even made us lovely sandwiches,tea and coffee. We can't thank the management enough for making a hard day a memorable one.
We will certainly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlukeFoodpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear CarlukeFoodpro,

What an honour it was to be asked to host the scattering of your dad's ashes. That Ken and Maureen shared such fond memories of the Green Park, is about as fine a compliment that you can ever hope to get.

If we were able to make the day a little easier to get through, then it was the least that we could do as a hotel.

Don't forget that there is an open invitation to any of the family to call in for tea and coffee, whenever they are in the area and want to 'say hello to dad".

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Have just returned from this hotel and have already booked for next month. Such a wonderful location by the Loch in beautifully kept secluded gardens with outdoor chairs and tables around the hotel. The hotel itself is immaculate with lots of little touches which makes it special - coffee/tea with biscuits and cakes provided free of charge after 11am, a plethora of books to browse through, a large jigsaw awaiting completion, a spacious sun lounge to admire the view, a complimentary glass of sherry/fruit juice as you selected your evening meal (a very well priced £25 per person for a 4 course meal followed by tea/coffee and shortbread) to name but a few.
The staff was so welcoming to us and our Golden Labrador and our room was immaculate. There are excellent walks in and around Pitlochry and are easily accessible from the hotel. We have stayed in Pitlochry on numerous occasions but this was the first time at the Green Park. We won't be staying anywhere else on future visits! A wonderful visit

Room Tip: A view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AileenB416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear AileenB416,

What a pleasure it was to read your kind review, and we look forward to welcoming the two of you and your Golden Labrador again shortly. Your comments about the hotel are much appreciated, and thank you for pointing out the things that you particularly appreciated. The new garden feature of otters chasing salmon around the tree trunk near reception is proving very popular.

Talking of new features, since your visit this seasons fourth play at the Festival Theatre has begun, and - like The 39 Steps - it has been very well received. The show is "Communicating Doors" by Alan Ayckbourn, and is described as a time travelling comedy thriller. The feed back from our guests is very encouraging.

Thank you once again for choosing the Green Park, and we are delighted that your dog in particular enjoyed your choice of location.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mexborough
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at this hotel, and we had such a fantastic experience. We had a balcony room overlooking the loch, and the gardens. The staff are so friendly, and the food is superb.
everything is spotless, and you just have to relax when you are there, as the ambience of this hotel makes you want to just chill out. Everything is first class, even the tea/coffee and cakes supplied throughout the day, to the sherry in the evening while you decide what delicacy to have for your excellent 4 course meal. We will certainly return here, and would have no hesitation
to reccommend it to any of my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeancockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Jeancockles,

Thanks the two of you for such a generous revue, and we were delighted to read that your three night break was a success.

The four second floor balcony bedrooms come into their own during any spell of good weather - the knack is being here when the sun decides to shine!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future - and thank you once again for going to the trouble of posting a review.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

This hotel is set on the loch with manicured gardens and wonderful sculptures. The room was huge, with large windows looking over the water, together with a substantial sitting room. The standard of fittings was first class, the room spotless, and the quality of everything truly perfect. We had the dinner, bed and breakfast option. Dinner in a fabulous dining room was right up to its 2 rosette standard, fresh, top quality and wonderful service. Could not find fault. Breakfast was the best we have had at any country hotel anywhere....absolutely first class. By the way the wine list is extensive, and many options by the glass. It is hard to find fault with this gem. Whilst it is frequented by many elderly people don't be fooled. This is absolutely the best...not to be missed!! The pure dinned sherry was an interesting touch?

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Pullenmom,

Many thanks for choosing to join us at the Green Park, and we hope that the rest of your European Tour is going well. That said, the size of your ranch back home in Australia would cover a fair part of the continent!

Your comments about your stay are very generous, and in one case definitely too generous - we only have one A A red rosette for our food, though we were delighted that you enjoyed your meals with us.

It was nice of you to find time to chat during your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you again next time in you are in the northern hemisphere.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have visited Pitlochry many times, but have never stayed at the Green Park before. Our only regret after our recent one night stay was that we wish we could have extended it.
All the staff helped make us feel so welcome, like valued guests. Our room and ensuite were spotless, and there were many delightful touches, which have all been mentioned before, but it was the courtesy and attention to detail which stood out.
We had dinner which was delicious and superb quality, elegantly presented, and the view from our table at the window was enchanting. Breakfast too was excellent. Even the weather changed for the better. The grounds are beautiful and obviously well tended.
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary, and have returned home after our night at the Green Park feeling pampered, relaxed and refreshed. Although many of the guests there were of "a certain age" we noticed that they were regulars who had been returning for years, we certainly hope to be emulating them over years to come.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandmamax16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Dear Maxallon,

A double thank you from us all for not only trying the Green Park out for the first time, but for also posting a very generous review. While we count ourselves extremely fortunate with the numbers of guest who return to the hotel on a regular basis, we are always delighted to greet and look after new guests.

Our hope through time is that we become for you the devil you know - rather than the one you don't!

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Excellent time had by all on this relaxed weekend break away from the day to day stresses of life. Fabulous and tranquil surroundings, super comfort, great food and extreme attention to detail. Just what was needed to chill out.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinlithgowDianeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Dear LinlithgowDianeM,

Many thanks for your very generous review, and especially so in that it is on the back of returning again for a second visit.

We are extremely fortunate in that often the mix of guests at the Green Park is made up of a majority of regulars to the hotel, and those trying us out for the first time. This is especially so for the activity breaks and the likes of Hogmanay, and this tends to help new guests settle in that bit more quickly.

That said, the best way to settle in at the Green Park is to take advantage of the complimentary tea and coffee buffet in the lounges, and to have a good look around. Non residents who want to have a look around are more than welcome - just ask the girls at reception, and mention that Alistair has promised a coffee as a reward for your troubles!

Thank you once again for your continued support.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,812 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
880 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
778 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Property: The Green Park Hotel
Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing