We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast (as a non resident)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast (as a non resident)”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Wow. Absolutely impossible to fault this place. Met my mum and dad here for breakfast today. Both parties had travelled for nearly two hours from opposite directions so we were all ravenous and looking forward to a good catch up.

At £15.50 a head it's probably quite hard to swallow as a breakfast only price but in line with most other hotel dining rooms. And boy do these guys make it worth the money!

The cooked breakfast selection had something to suit us all (porridge, kippers, salmon, full scottish, etc) and between the five of us we tried one of each dish. We had helped ourselves to a massive range of buffet selections previously and were all thoroughly satisfied by the time we left.

Service was brilliant, loos were beautifully clean and dining room was very spacious.

Ill certainly be back next time I venture down the A9. Thanks again :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amccinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear abbiemccahill,

Glad to read that you all enjoyed your breakfast with us, and that the various family units were able to meet on time. We hope that your onward journey was enjoyable too, as the good weather seemed set fair for the day.

Any ideas you have to add to our breakfast buffet would always be welcome, and please just give us a call anytime you feel like popping in for breakfast again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    43
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
91
306
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at The Green Park at the end of February. A last minute booking for a Tuesday and Wednesday night. Weather was great so off we went. What a find!
This is a very well run hotel in a gorgeous spot and must be great in spring and summer when sitting outdoors overlooking Faskally Loch would be a treat. We got the last double with a small balcony overlooking the loch and although not large theroom was spotless and nicely furnished. The public rooms are equally well furnished and have a lovely welcoming feel about them. However the biggest surprises for me were the staff and the food. Every member of staff from check in to check out can take a lot of pride in the job they do here and its a long time since I experienced this throughout a hotel regardless of star rating. The food was just about the best I have tasted in a hotel for ages, with choice, presentation and quality excellent. Well done to the chef and his team. This is a really well run hotel and a credit to the family owners and staff. Highly recommended.

Suggestion to Management: Extend the floodlighting in the gardens and keep the curtains open at night.

Mr & Mrs G. Gourock

Room Tip: The room operates a first come first choice policy as all rooms priced the same. The staff are happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marionnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Dear Marionnina,

Welcome to my world of hard pressed executive decision making. Each day I have to play off members of our team against each other, when they cannot reach agreement on a key area. The current burning issue is if, and if so when, to shut the hotel curtains. There are several schools of thought on this issue, with my only guidance being not to close them when it is still daylight. Don't laugh, I came down on Sunday at 3.30pm to find a very keen Anna about to get ahead with her work by closing the corridor ones. I am all for initiative, but there has to be a limit surely!

Your Trip Advisor review is much appreciated, and we are delighted that the two of you enjoyed your quick getaway to Perthshire. We hope to welcome you again in the future - and I can bring you up to date on the great curtain debate.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My husband and i spent three days at this hotel as a special occasion trip and it was certainly very special. Welcoming,Very friendly.food excellent bedroom spacious warm and very comfortable. All in all a great few days. Would recommend this hotel as a relaxing and friendly place to stay.The staff and owners are always on hand to make sure all your requirements are met.Will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Rhona S,

Delighted to read that your special occasion stay went well, and that you are intending to join our regular guests who think of us as "the devil they know rather than the one they don't!".

Today as only we Scots can describe it is "threatening" to be a nice day. The sun is already up, and the glow on the hilltops is majestic. That said I am a great believer in thinking that hilltops are best appreciated from sea level - and preferably indoors.

Thank you for your charming revue, and we fully intend holding you to your promise of a return visit.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Beautiful location; all staff are warm and friendly, with excellent standard of service; lovely room with fantastic view; very high standard of food, complementary coffee, tea and biscuits/cakes available all day and pre-dinner sherry or madeira just made it so beautifully civilised. The hotel had plenty of guests but wasn't too noisy and the guests all smiled too. We got married in the snow and had a few friends back to the hotel afterwards, and the staff made everything just perfect for us all. Absolutely nothing to fault

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Pat S,

Well yours was certainly a white wedding with a difference! It was great that while the snow provided a spectacular background for your special day, it did not prevent everyone from getting here to share the day with the two of you.

We had another fall of snow overnight, but already you would hardly know as the roads are completely clear, and a thaw has chased the snow back onto the hills.

Many thanks for going to the trouble of posting such a nice review, and many congratulations from us all here at the Green Park.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dornoch
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I booked in here because of its ranking on Tripadvisor, for a treat with my daughter. It was beyond expectations. The receptionist took us to our beautiful room, pointing out where everything was. I particularly liked the invitation to help ourselves to the array of home baking, fresh coffee,including decaff, tea and iced water. Staff could not have been more obliging. On retiring to the lounge for a game of Scrabble afterward dinner, we found there was live entertainment with 2 excellent accordionists, and a ceilidh. It was a hoot and great fun. The dinner was lovely, with sherry in the lounge beforehand. On checking out next day, we decided to have a stroll round Pitlochry. Although it was well past checking out time, the owner invited us back afterwards to once again avail ourselves of the refreshments at no extra charge. A member of staff was on hand to brush the snow from the car in the morning. The stunning scenery was also thrown in free. A magical experience.

Room Tip: We only saw the one room, and the view was amazing, but a couple we met who were re booking were sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willowrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Willowrowan,

Many thanks for trying out the Green Park for a weekend visit, and delighted to read that you and your daughter enjoyed your time with us.

There is a dance in the Sun Lounge very Saturday evening from the New Year up to Valentines Weekend, and as you found out, they can be great fun. Never having been a great dancer myself, I am very envious of those to whom it comes easily. Waltz's have always been beyond me, so I am more of a Strip the Willow kind of person. My lack of skill can be hidden in amongst the general confusion and hilarity!

We hope that your journey back to Dornoch was a safe one, and I can report with a hand on my heart that the snow is now safely back to where it works best for everybody - on the hills.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Spent 5 nights in warmth and comfort, despite heavy snow. Food eaten was of a very high standard with plenty of choice. Vegetarian options were excellent. The service was flawless as usual. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mountcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear Mountcook,

Delighted to read that the snow did not hamper your most recent stay with us at the Green Park.

Being chief snow clearer at the hotel, its charms have lessened steadily as I have got older - though even I had to admit that the views of the snow covered hills from the Sun Lounge were genuinely spectacular. Liam ( 16 ) and Megan ( 11 ) were dragooned in to help with my Herculean efforts, but they were last seen sledging on the front lawn, heading for the hedge and Loch Faskally.

In future there will be a special discount available for those guests willing and able to clear the front car park of snow. Please enquire in person for further terms and conditions.

We look forward to welcoming you again, and thank you for the lovely review.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Beautiful location by the loch. A warm (literally and metaphorically) welcome. Complementary afternoon tea and pre-dinner sherry are lovely touches. Vast choice at breakfast; excellent dinners. No complaints at all.

Room Tip: Rooms with loch views are lovely, but staff will tell what is available when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Peter M,

Many thanks for your review, and apologies for my late reply - my original posting seems to have got lost in the mail.

Yes, we do like to keep the hotel warm, and give guests the power to control their own levels of heating in their bedrooms. My wife Diane, has never been on a holiday when it has been too hot - that said she did find the South of Turkey where it was 56 degrees reasonably acceptable! Myself and out two kids are peelly wally pale skinned Scots, and we can be found skulking about in the shade.

Thank you again for your very generous review, and rest assured that Pitlochry is unlikely to ever reach the giddy heights of 56 degrees.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,896 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
765 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
651 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Property: The Green Park Hotel
Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing