We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply wonderful hotel experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful hotel experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed many times in this delightful hotel. Most recently this week. It is exceptional in every way. Friendly and warm , pleasantly decorated with several guest lounges with lovely views.
The rooms are all well appointed to a very high standard . The garden and loch side walks are as pleasant in January as in June. The food is of a very high standard, room service is available, however for us the highlight of the entire stay is the breakfast buffet. An interesting variety of cooked breakfast items are freshly made to order but the display of fresh and dried fruit , breakfast cereals and toppings, honey on the comb, jams, marmalade and other delights is unsurpassed anywhere in Britain that we have stayed.
Offering excellent value for money at all times with free theatre ticket offers to Pitlochry Festival Theatre in the summer and autumn. Occasional evenings of dancing and at all times exceptional service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Keith M,

Many thanks for your most recent stay with us at the Green Park, and for your charming and generous review. We are always looking for ideas to expand our breakfast buffet, so any suggestions would be most welcome.

The last few days here have been a bit on the dreich side, though the temperatures have been surprisingly mild, and the dreaded snow is nowhere to be seen. Clearly our investment in a snow blowing machine is already paying off!

Thanks once again for the review, and we look forward to welcoming you to the Green Park again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    42
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
89
293
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have just returned from our tenth January running at this very comfortable and welcoming hotel. To escape there after New Year when bleak January and February stretch before you is such a tonic! I take part in an Art course organised by the hotel on the premises while my husband walks or plays golf with other residents. The McMenemys look after our every comfort. Little touches like complimentary sherry before dinner, freshly made coffee and tea available all day and unfinished jigsaws on a convenient table for all to contribute are just some of the reasons we return year after year (and not just in January!) The staff are very attentive, the food is excellent and the good humour of our host is the icing on the cake! Well done Green Park!

Room Tip: We like the Tower wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Doreen,

Many thanks for the lovely review, and for taking part on another of Bob's Art Breaks. We really are very lucky to have him, and we hope that he goes on hosting his courses for ever.
It's great the way that he is able to adapt his teaching to all comers, and I have even managed to convince my Mum to attend one of his courses this year.

The continued mild weather has some of our plants very confused. Today I parked up by the hotel's entrance wall, and I could clearly see some buds starting to pop their heads up already. Fingers crossed for a long summer!

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed a few times in this exceptional hotel; most recently for a Hogmanay (New Year) Celebration. The three days were perfect: the result of careful planning and organisation by hotel management and staff. We enjoyed every minute and congratulate the staff for the care, service and excellent attention to detail which they provided. We always love the friendliness and efficiency of staff, the superb food, the beautiful rooms and superb value. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and their staff. Entertainment for New Year was outstanding. The Green Park is undoubtedly one of the best hotels we have stayed in and we look forward to many more visits.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard, beautifully equipped and decorated. Rooms with a loch view ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Cynthia S,

A big thank you from us all for choosing to join us at the Green Park For Hogmanay, and for taking the time to post such a kind review. The review of the hotel celebrations cannot go by, without an honourable mention of your own professional standard of ballroom dancing - the two of you certainly had heads turning!

The Pitlochry New Year Street Party seems to go from strength to strength, and it is a great achievement for a small highland town to pull off. The afternoon rain didn't seem to put too much of a dampener on people's enjoyment of the dancing, with all of the money raised going to help local charities. Well done to the small committee of volunteers who run the event.

Many thanks again for the review, and best wishes to the two of you for 2014.

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Green Park Hotel in Pitlochry is a favourite of our's at this time of year. We always choose the Garden Wing, Room 25 this time - 26 onward might have been better to avoid a view of the roof of the dining room conservatory but, like all rooms in the Green Park is of first class quality, as is the bathroom. Other folk prefer the more recent Tower Wing but our preference remains the Garden Wing. Have already "pencilled in" a reservation for same time next year, this time asking for a "balcony room" on the second floor. A welcome cuppa on arrival and a complimentary sherry before dinner are nice touches and the hotel is in first class condition throughout, well maintained, fresh and comfortable. Dinner is of a high quality and the staff, mostly Eastern European it would seem, are friendly and helpful. The family owners of this hotel are "hands on" and the elderly mum and dad are also about to spend time with their guests, mostly I would think, who are "return" visitors. Summer, Winter or any other time - the Green Park is a warm, comfortable and friendly place for a break, with good food and friendly staff. Having enjoyed the hotel "before" the dining room extension and "before" the Tower Wing and "before the lift additions, we note the quality remains the same high standard. Even for those who may find fault they merely have to make a request and it will be seen to at once. We look forward to our return.

Room Tip: Any room with a loch view, preferably the first or second floor but all rooms are of an extremely hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertandjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear robertandjessie,

Many thanks for your most recent stay with us, your very generous review, and your decision to join us again next year. We couldn't do it without you!

It's a dreich day outside this morning, but we are busy getting ready for a buffet lunch, before heading off to Perth with our Hogmanay guests to see the panto - "Cinderella". The rest of my family love going to the panto, but I find once a year is just about right. I have suggested that the group visit should be to McDermott Park to see St Johnstone play, but that idea only met with a stoney silence.

We hope that the two of you have a great Hogmanay, and we look forward to welcoming you all again next year.

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

If you fare looking for a place to stay when travelling in Scotland, Pitlochry is very well situated. It is near to the southern edge of the Cairngorm National Park, and yet only about 90 minutes drive from Glasgow or Edinburgh. It is pleasant town, with a splendid little theatre, and about ten minutes away from what is arguably the best shopping experience in Scotland, the House of Bruar. It is only seven minutes away from Blair Castle and the battlefield of Killicrankie, both well worth a visit. Braemar and Balmoral are also easily reached.
A town so well situated naturally has a lot of hotels, but in our experience over many years the Green park is the best. It has the most scenic position; the accommodation is first class; and the food, the drink and the service are all excellent. There are all sorts of little extra touches, like the coffee and buns that are available all day in the lounge, the free WiFi, and the sherry that is served before dinner - while the owner or one of the senior staff comes round to chat with you.
Above all, it is comfortable. wonderfully comfortable - which is, I suppose, why so many people go back to it year after year.

Room Tip: They are all good, but you want the best available view of the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulW83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear PaulW83,

Thank you very much for returning to the Green Park, and for taking the trouble to post such a positive review.

Here at the hotel, we are getting ready to welcome our New Year guests. Myself and Megan ( our daughter ) were delegated the task of putting a copy of the 2013 quiz into each of our 51 bedrooms. I am expecting one of the bedrooms to do very well this year, as I was sure that we had two copies withe answers on them when we started out - we only have one now!

We hope that you have a more organised Hogmanay lined up, and that 2014 is a great year for the two of you.

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AYR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Spent a most enjoyable two days in this hotel and can only echo the complimentary reviews already posted. A hotel which is especially suited to the more mature visitor, where their every
comfort is catered for, from a beautiful situation, comfortable accommodation to fine dining and a welcoming atmosphere. Well done, owners and staff of the Green Park Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamilton2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Hamilton2000,

Many thanks for the very kind review, and for joining us for your two night stay.

Here we are open again ( we close each year for ten days from the 17th of December ), and are girding our loins for the New Year festivities. I cannot believe that there ever was a time when you were expected to go out first footing at 12.00pm - I now struggle to reach the bells and I'm seriously thinking of moving it all to 10pm. Much more civilised!

We hope that the two of you have a very enjoyable Hogmanay, and we send you our best wishes for 2014.

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

For the second year two couples met at this hotel, enjoyed the complimentary afternoon tea /coffee and homemade cakes, dinner and delicious breakfast. We attended the Christmas matinee show in the town. It's a warm welcoming hotel and I overheard several elderly patrons rebook for the following year as they checked out. I wasn't surprised, these staff understand what customer service is all about. The rooms are comfortable and overlook the lough to one side. Well worth booking one with a view. Several delightful little shops are a short stroll from the hotel and worth a browse in the picturesque town of Pitlochry. Check out the theatre, it too is well worth a visit, nice art gallery and gift shop. Enjoy! I'm sure you will.

Room Tip: See if you can get a view of the lough, lots of rooms have one. Be careful if you need help with sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret17294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Margaret17294,

Many thanks to the four of you for returning to the Green Park, and we hope that you enjoyed "It's a Wonderful Life". We took the staff over to see it in two parties, and they certainly seemed to have a good time.

Some of us are of to Murrayfield to see Edinburgh versus Glasgow today in the rugby. Having watched so many sporting defeats for Scotland during my lifetime, we are at least guaranteed not to be on the loosing side today!

With our best wishes for the coming year.

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Property: The Green Park Hotel
Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing