We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury without pretension”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Peebles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Luxury without pretension”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a lot and it is one of the few hotels we look forward to returning to, no matter what season or reason for going. The welcome, food, a view to die for, well appointed rooms, including binoculars to watch the wildlife, and attention to detail are great and nothing is too much trouble. This is what we look for at the highest level of hotel standards. Well done again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glentressgiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear glentressgiant,

Many thanks for your very generous review, and we hope that all is well in Peebles and The Borders country.

We have an important Peebles connection at the Green Park - it is the middle name of Stuart Simpson, our longest serving kitchen porter. 2013 was a great watershed year for Stuart, with the purchase of a new bike and final victory in his battle with the dreaded fags. Next step for Stuart will be the purchase of lycra, and an entry in this years Pitlochry 10km road race.

We look forward to welcoming the two of you again - and be sure to watch out for Stuart on his bike as he zips into town!

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    43
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
90
303
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Despite the weather, where it never seemed to stop raining, we have had another enjoyable stay at The Green Park Hotel. Hospitality and food was it's usual very high standard. Yes the clientele is in the older age brackets but it makes us feel like spring chickens and makes for peaceful and restful hotel which is what we are looking for.
May the rain not turn to snow for the sake of chief snow shoveller Alistair.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear charliecat26,

Many thanks for your most recent stay with us at the Green Park, and delighted to read that we are becoming the 'devil you know'.

Don't worry about being stuck indoors if the weather is inclement, as here at the Green Park we are able to lay on several motivating morning exercises. For example we have hoovering, housekeeping, and if all else fails we have the dishes - all of which are normally enough to encourage guests to adventure forth! No guests have ever volunteered to help when the white stuff is lying on the ground, but I live in hope that some day a heroic figure will rally to the cause.

Many thanks again for the revue, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

You can't beat a family run establishment! The personal care and service from everyone is second to none. The restaurant food is of a very high standard and the menu changes every night. All dietary requirements are met with no fuss. They even cooked a meal specially for my husband when he had a very limited range he could eat when he was ill.
The rooms are of a good size and all have a view of the Loch although some have a better view than others. You need to book early as they get very busy. It is good to go when the Pitlochry Theatre are presenting their plays (May to October). They do different ones through the week so you could go to a different one every night. The Hotel offers and early dinner for those going to the Theatre.Enjoy your meals looking over Loch Faskally and then sit in the conservatory for your coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber1943-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Amber1943-12,

Many thanks for your charming revue, and for being so generous in your outlook. Having been praised to the high heavens, according to the rules of Karma, tonight will no doubt be the night we spill your wine while setting fire to the curtains at the same time!

Here at the hotel January continues to proceed at a calm and steady pace. The mild weather has helped coax guests into taking that two or three nights away, with numbers being healthy enough to keep everyone busy and out of mischief. The Christmas decorations are down, but drawing pins and bits of decoration can still be spied in those hard to get at places - though we promise to remove them all by July at the very latest.

Many thanks again for getting in touch, and we look forward to welcoming the two of you again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tain, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed many times in this delightful hotel. Most recently this week. It is exceptional in every way. Friendly and warm , pleasantly decorated with several guest lounges with lovely views.
The rooms are all well appointed to a very high standard . The garden and loch side walks are as pleasant in January as in June. The food is of a very high standard, room service is available, however for us the highlight of the entire stay is the breakfast buffet. An interesting variety of cooked breakfast items are freshly made to order but the display of fresh and dried fruit , breakfast cereals and toppings, honey on the comb, jams, marmalade and other delights is unsurpassed anywhere in Britain that we have stayed.
Offering excellent value for money at all times with free theatre ticket offers to Pitlochry Festival Theatre in the summer and autumn. Occasional evenings of dancing and at all times exceptional service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Keith M,

Many thanks for your most recent stay with us at the Green Park, and for your charming and generous review. We are always looking for ideas to expand our breakfast buffet, so any suggestions would be most welcome.

The last few days here have been a bit on the dreich side, though the temperatures have been surprisingly mild, and the dreaded snow is nowhere to be seen. Clearly our investment in a snow blowing machine is already paying off!

Thanks once again for the review, and we look forward to welcoming you to the Green Park again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We have just returned from our tenth January running at this very comfortable and welcoming hotel. To escape there after New Year when bleak January and February stretch before you is such a tonic! I take part in an Art course organised by the hotel on the premises while my husband walks or plays golf with other residents. The McMenemys look after our every comfort. Little touches like complimentary sherry before dinner, freshly made coffee and tea available all day and unfinished jigsaws on a convenient table for all to contribute are just some of the reasons we return year after year (and not just in January!) The staff are very attentive, the food is excellent and the good humour of our host is the icing on the cake! Well done Green Park!

Room Tip: We like the Tower wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Doreen,

Many thanks for the lovely review, and for taking part on another of Bob's Art Breaks. We really are very lucky to have him, and we hope that he goes on hosting his courses for ever.
It's great the way that he is able to adapt his teaching to all comers, and I have even managed to convince my Mum to attend one of his courses this year.

The continued mild weather has some of our plants very confused. Today I parked up by the hotel's entrance wall, and I could clearly see some buds starting to pop their heads up already. Fingers crossed for a long summer!

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have stayed a few times in this exceptional hotel; most recently for a Hogmanay (New Year) Celebration. The three days were perfect: the result of careful planning and organisation by hotel management and staff. We enjoyed every minute and congratulate the staff for the care, service and excellent attention to detail which they provided. We always love the friendliness and efficiency of staff, the superb food, the beautiful rooms and superb value. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and their staff. Entertainment for New Year was outstanding. The Green Park is undoubtedly one of the best hotels we have stayed in and we look forward to many more visits.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard, beautifully equipped and decorated. Rooms with a loch view ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Cynthia S,

A big thank you from us all for choosing to join us at the Green Park For Hogmanay, and for taking the time to post such a kind review. The review of the hotel celebrations cannot go by, without an honourable mention of your own professional standard of ballroom dancing - the two of you certainly had heads turning!

The Pitlochry New Year Street Party seems to go from strength to strength, and it is a great achievement for a small highland town to pull off. The afternoon rain didn't seem to put too much of a dampener on people's enjoyment of the dancing, with all of the money raised going to help local charities. Well done to the small committee of volunteers who run the event.

Many thanks again for the review, and best wishes to the two of you for 2014.

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The Green Park Hotel in Pitlochry is a favourite of our's at this time of year. We always choose the Garden Wing, Room 25 this time - 26 onward might have been better to avoid a view of the roof of the dining room conservatory but, like all rooms in the Green Park is of first class quality, as is the bathroom. Other folk prefer the more recent Tower Wing but our preference remains the Garden Wing. Have already "pencilled in" a reservation for same time next year, this time asking for a "balcony room" on the second floor. A welcome cuppa on arrival and a complimentary sherry before dinner are nice touches and the hotel is in first class condition throughout, well maintained, fresh and comfortable. Dinner is of a high quality and the staff, mostly Eastern European it would seem, are friendly and helpful. The family owners of this hotel are "hands on" and the elderly mum and dad are also about to spend time with their guests, mostly I would think, who are "return" visitors. Summer, Winter or any other time - the Green Park is a warm, comfortable and friendly place for a break, with good food and friendly staff. Having enjoyed the hotel "before" the dining room extension and "before" the Tower Wing and "before the lift additions, we note the quality remains the same high standard. Even for those who may find fault they merely have to make a request and it will be seen to at once. We look forward to our return.

Room Tip: Any room with a loch view, preferably the first or second floor but all rooms are of an extremely hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertandjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear robertandjessie,

Many thanks for your most recent stay with us, your very generous review, and your decision to join us again next year. We couldn't do it without you!

It's a dreich day outside this morning, but we are busy getting ready for a buffet lunch, before heading off to Perth with our Hogmanay guests to see the panto - "Cinderella". The rest of my family love going to the panto, but I find once a year is just about right. I have suggested that the group visit should be to McDermott Park to see St Johnstone play, but that idea only met with a stoney silence.

We hope that the two of you have a great Hogmanay, and we look forward to welcoming you all again next year.

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,862 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
753 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
641 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Acarsaid
The Acarsaid
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Property: The Green Park Hotel
Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing