We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Superior in every way”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel is a credit to the people who run it, and to Scotland. The attention to detail is second to none. The smartly uniformed staff are always pleasant and helpful, the decor of public areas and bedrooms is fresh and clean, the whole place looks as though it had just been done up last week! Our room had 2 comfy seats, as well as the other furniture. The bathroom was spotless. We had a balcony, (room 21) which must be wonderful in the better weather. The view over Loch Faskally and surrounding trees and snow capped hilltops was stunning. Breakfast and dinner were always delicious, with good choices. On my last night I had the best sirlion steak ( small extra cost) I have eaten, just fantastic. The best things for me were the complimentary all day availability of tea/coffee/cakes/biscuits laid out in one of the lounges. A big jug of cream was there too for that indulgent coffee. Then, from 6, you were served a complimentary soft drink/ sherry in the lounge while you looked over the menu for dinner. Service was slick and smooth with 4 courses of tasty food, then back to the lounge for after dinner coffee. The final delight was on reaching the train station on the way home, when we asked the taxi driver how much we owed him, he replied " No need, the hotel has paid" ! We shall be back.

Room Tip: Overlooking the loch is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 312wync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear marycampbell,

Delighted to read that your stay at the Green Park was a success, and many thanks for the positive review.

Today is a bit on the blustery side, though the BBC has assured us that a warm front is on its way, and should be with us for most of the week. I was going to substitute 'summer' as the last word of the previous sentence, but that would probably be tempting fate a bit too much.

We look forward to welcoming you both again, perhaps to enjoy the summer sun on your balcony!

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    43
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
92
312
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Despite staying at the Green Park in August we just had to return to see the shows we had missed at the Festival Theatre. Obviously we would not stay anywhere else and stay two this year was every bit as good as stay one. We were also remembered by many of the staff. Is this a good thing or are WE really that bad? We must consider this question before our stay next June (already booked).

We cannot speak highly enough of the way in which the whole hotel is run. If you have read of an older generation who also stay at the hotel remember that experience counts for a great deal in life. If you do stay at the hotel take time to have a chat with some of the other guests. It may be that they come from where you do, or did, and some drive vast distances just to stay at the Green Park.

One thing visitors can be sure of is a warm welcome and nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff who are very caring and considerate.

Well done!


Graham and Elaine.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Graham and Elaine,

Many thanks for your continued support of the Green Park, and for posting a second generous review - a gold medal is on it's way to Blairgowrie for the two of you for going well beyond the call of duty.

Are we going to avoid any snow this winter ? wouldn't that be just the thing. I am at a difficult age ( and have been for some time according to Diane ), and I shouldn't really be involved in moving the white stuff. I am hoping that it falls in a more deserving area, the winter Olympics springs to mind as a better home.

Either way I hope that Pitlochry and Blairgowrie remain as snow free areas!

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Our son and daughter in law invited us to your beautiful hotel in Pitlochry,he even offered to drive us there and back.It was a lovely surprise to find such a clean, spacious and elegant hotel.Our room was big with a wonderful view from the window,not even the wet weather seem to matter. Everybody was very friendly and one of your staff even changed the blankets for a duvet, a big thank you for that! The food was absolutely wonderful in every way; Thank you again for making our stay so very memorable and even luxurious.We very much appreciated the warmth of your hotel as well as the scrupulous cleanliness even in the bathroom. Thank you from Mr, and Mrs. Kirby

Room Tip: We had room 51 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthur k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Kirby,

Many thanks for your charming review, and delighted to read that your stay with us was a success. Having a son and daughter in law as reliable chauffeurs is a blessing indeed.

Our good luck with the weather continues - especially in comparison with those poor souls in Somerset. Satisfactory periods of sunshine were recorded today by completely reliable witnesses, and this was before they had taken part in our sherry reception. Honestly.

We look forward to welcoming you all to the Green Park again, and thanks again for the kind review.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a lot and it is one of the few hotels we look forward to returning to, no matter what season or reason for going. The welcome, food, a view to die for, well appointed rooms, including binoculars to watch the wildlife, and attention to detail are great and nothing is too much trouble. This is what we look for at the highest level of hotel standards. Well done again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glentressgiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear glentressgiant,

Many thanks for your very generous review, and we hope that all is well in Peebles and The Borders country.

We have an important Peebles connection at the Green Park - it is the middle name of Stuart Simpson, our longest serving kitchen porter. 2013 was a great watershed year for Stuart, with the purchase of a new bike and final victory in his battle with the dreaded fags. Next step for Stuart will be the purchase of lycra, and an entry in this years Pitlochry 10km road race.

We look forward to welcoming the two of you again - and be sure to watch out for Stuart on his bike as he zips into town!

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Despite the weather, where it never seemed to stop raining, we have had another enjoyable stay at The Green Park Hotel. Hospitality and food was it's usual very high standard. Yes the clientele is in the older age brackets but it makes us feel like spring chickens and makes for peaceful and restful hotel which is what we are looking for.
May the rain not turn to snow for the sake of chief snow shoveller Alistair.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliecat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear charliecat26,

Many thanks for your most recent stay with us at the Green Park, and delighted to read that we are becoming the 'devil you know'.

Don't worry about being stuck indoors if the weather is inclement, as here at the Green Park we are able to lay on several motivating morning exercises. For example we have hoovering, housekeeping, and if all else fails we have the dishes - all of which are normally enough to encourage guests to adventure forth! No guests have ever volunteered to help when the white stuff is lying on the ground, but I live in hope that some day a heroic figure will rally to the cause.

Many thanks again for the revue, and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

You can't beat a family run establishment! The personal care and service from everyone is second to none. The restaurant food is of a very high standard and the menu changes every night. All dietary requirements are met with no fuss. They even cooked a meal specially for my husband when he had a very limited range he could eat when he was ill.
The rooms are of a good size and all have a view of the Loch although some have a better view than others. You need to book early as they get very busy. It is good to go when the Pitlochry Theatre are presenting their plays (May to October). They do different ones through the week so you could go to a different one every night. The Hotel offers and early dinner for those going to the Theatre.Enjoy your meals looking over Loch Faskally and then sit in the conservatory for your coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber1943-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Amber1943-12,

Many thanks for your charming revue, and for being so generous in your outlook. Having been praised to the high heavens, according to the rules of Karma, tonight will no doubt be the night we spill your wine while setting fire to the curtains at the same time!

Here at the hotel January continues to proceed at a calm and steady pace. The mild weather has helped coax guests into taking that two or three nights away, with numbers being healthy enough to keep everyone busy and out of mischief. The Christmas decorations are down, but drawing pins and bits of decoration can still be spied in those hard to get at places - though we promise to remove them all by July at the very latest.

Many thanks again for getting in touch, and we look forward to welcoming the two of you again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tain, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed many times in this delightful hotel. Most recently this week. It is exceptional in every way. Friendly and warm , pleasantly decorated with several guest lounges with lovely views.
The rooms are all well appointed to a very high standard . The garden and loch side walks are as pleasant in January as in June. The food is of a very high standard, room service is available, however for us the highlight of the entire stay is the breakfast buffet. An interesting variety of cooked breakfast items are freshly made to order but the display of fresh and dried fruit , breakfast cereals and toppings, honey on the comb, jams, marmalade and other delights is unsurpassed anywhere in Britain that we have stayed.
Offering excellent value for money at all times with free theatre ticket offers to Pitlochry Festival Theatre in the summer and autumn. Occasional evenings of dancing and at all times exceptional service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PitlochryAlistair, Owner at The Green Park Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Keith M,

Many thanks for your most recent stay with us at the Green Park, and for your charming and generous review. We are always looking for ideas to expand our breakfast buffet, so any suggestions would be most welcome.

The last few days here have been a bit on the dreich side, though the temperatures have been surprisingly mild, and the dreaded snow is nowhere to be seen. Clearly our investment in a snow blowing machine is already paying off!

Thanks once again for the review, and we look forward to welcoming you to the Green Park again.

Best regards,

Alistair ( McMenemie )
For the McMenemie Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
0.8 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,941 reviews
1.1 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
877 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#7 of 18 in Pitlochry
777 reviews
2.2 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#5 of 18 in Pitlochry
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Hotel

Property: The Green Park Hotel
Address: Clunie Bridge Road, Pitlochry PH16 5JY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#2 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Park hotel is to be found on the western outskirts of Pitlochry, enjoying unrivaled views over Loch Faskally from its lochside position. Set in three acres, the Green Park is within strolling distance of the shops and a pleasant walk from the Pitlochry Festival Theater. The Green Park hotel is run by two generations of the McMenemie family, in a manner suitable to the character of the house and its setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Park Hotel
Green Park Pitlochry
The Green Park Hotel Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing