We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hospitality , comfort and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tummel Lodge

Tummel Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pitlochry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tummel Lodge
Ranked #40 of 68 Pitlochry B&B and Inns
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality , comfort and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had a fabulous 2 nights stay. Mat the owner was so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. He provided us with great advice on restaurants etc and even offered us lifts to get there. We were given goody bags each day and breakfast was brilliant. Rooms comfortable and clean. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
59
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We booked 2 nights with Matt at the Tummel lodge and stayed for 3, could not fault the standard of accommodation and Matt is just the best host you could wish for.
The location is as near dead centre of Scotland so everywhere you want to see and do is not too far away and Matt is always on hand with his excellent knowledge of most places of interest and will advise you of the best restaurants in the area.
We could not have wished for a better place to stay.
P.S. Matt if you read this I hope you got on O.K. with the EX.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good , the 2 upstairs best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed just one night at Tummel Lodge recently whilst working at the Festival Theatre. The room was very spacious, comfy, well equipped, great shower, plenty of hot water...probably the bets B and B I've stayed in. Matt was very welcoming, offering me refreshments when I arrived. He then suggested a place to eat and booked me a table as it was a Saturday evening. Braekfast was excellent and as a vegetarian, there were plenty of options. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eiggman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We booked two nights here - and it should have been longer, and it will be next time! Matt was a fantastic host without being in the least intrusive - our blue room was spotless, his breakfasts fantastic and his knowledge of the area, and in fact, the whole of Scotland, was amazing. Matt, you really made our holiday, thank you so much.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank dizzydaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at Tummel Lodge after Matt kindly agreed to take my husband, our toddler and I for the night after another guest house in the area double booked us. Matt doesn't normally take children (there's a wood burning stove in the living room) so it was really good of him to let us stay and he couldn't have been more welcoming. The room was lovely, we had tea and shortbread on arrival and he brought out lots of his son's old toys for our little one to play with old and generally kept him entertained! Oscar loved staying at "Matt's house". We were there to go to the Enchanted Forest and Matt gave us really good recommendations about where to eat and what else to do. Breakfast was fabulous. Matt makes the place as special as it is and I can't recommend Tummel Lodge highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Matt and his place are all that others have said. Just a great host who has a wonderful place that was perfection. Highest recommendation for the spotless bedroom, the breakfasts and the warm and very helpful host.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wwsprinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana Rose
Level Contributor
900 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I've never stayed at a place where I felt so welcome. Matt is awesome....he's like the big brother you wish you had. We were offered tea and shortbread on check-in, advice for the area, he stayed up late waiting for our return, gave us a goodie bag for the road, and even cleaned the dew off our car windows. What a special place indeed! The rooms were cozy, warm and exceptionally clean. Bed's very comfy, very nice shower, great breakfast, lovely views....and very quiet and not too far from town. If I ever come back to Pitlochry, I'd stay here in a heart beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pitlochry hotels
2.2 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dalshian Guest House
Dalshian Guest House
#12 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Benvrackie
Benvrackie
#20 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Willows Bed & Breakfast
Willows Bed & Breakfast
#43 of 68 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.2 mi away
Craigatin House & Courtyard
1.6 mi away
Buttonboss Lodge
Buttonboss Lodge
#13 of 68 in Pitlochry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tummel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tummel Lodge

Property: Tummel Lodge
Address: Tummel Lodge Ballyoukan, Pitlochry PH16 5TB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Pitlochry
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Tummel Lodge Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing