We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent place to be away from it all”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Moulin Vaddie

Unrivalled views from the doorstep
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Unrivalled views from the doorstep
An oasis in the wilderness Relax by the fire and dine in style
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Unrivalled views from the doorstep
An oasis in the wilderness
Relax by the fire and dine in style
Play darts or gamble in our barbeque den
Snuggle into the luxury of a king size bed
Hide away in the cosy attic
Double the view in the spacious master bedroom
At the hub of everything a modern fitted kitchen
Shiehallion takes your breath away
More comfort in all the bedrooms
Light the fire and tuck into your bestseller
And let the children watch their favourites next door
Explore Fairy Mountain and general Wade's base camp
ideal for picnics and island building at the burn
Watch rare birds from your arm chair
Nothing better than luxurious bath at the end of the day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nick A
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent place to be away from it all”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just as advertised.
Wonderful location, ideal for all ages, homely and worth every penny.
No TV, no phone and no reception for most mobiles - a delight

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and building itself
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

You really couldn't ask for more... Extensive Scottish surroundings were a delight for everyone to enjoy. The grounds were magnificent and the house itself delivered the charm, quirks and character you would wish for when escaping city dwelling or the office. Modern facilities mean this cottage is like a home from home. Go see for yourself!

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jan h
1 review
“Stunning setting”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a family hol x3 daughters x2 partners and 2 grandchildren plus 3 dogs. This cottage was spacious enough for all of us. The facilities were excellent enough fridge/freezer space and fuel for the open fire, washer & dryer. Indoor BBQ which we made good use of. We were blessed with fabulous weather so spent a lot of time outdoors

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting of the cottage and flexibility for sleeping arrangements
Liked least: Possibly the track past the cows which was a bit muddy.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hazel H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seriously needs to be looked at!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here over the October week with friends. There was 2 families: 4 adults, 4 children and 2 dogs. I have very mixed feelings about the cottage.

Pros: the setting is stunning, you could not have a better environment, the fire is wonderful, the BBQ pit is wonderful, the activities for the kids are safe and fun, the kitchen was in good condition, the walled garden is perfect for the dogs, the bedrooms were warm, clean and comfortable, the washing machine/dryer are excellent, the provision of wood and coal is excellent.

Cons: the TV room is cold, damp and unpleasant - we didn't spend any time in there at all. The bathrooms are pretty unpleasant: stained carpets, stained towels, mouldy and dated. There was a teapot full of teabags and water left behind by the previous holidaymakers which was pretty gross.

Overall, while we all had a great holiday, I would say that Moulin Vaddie seriously needs to be updated and given a good clean. I didn't worry about the dogs at all which I suppose is a good thing. It was clear from photos of previous holiday makers on the wall that it has not been updated for over 10 years. The bathrooms in particular are an area of concern - I couldn't wait to get home and have a 'proper' shower.

A little care and attention and this would be a heavenly retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fire and the setting.
Liked least: The bathrooms.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size
Liked least: The track to the property
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andy C
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Promised so much but was awful..!”
Reviewed 20 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We booked this holiday with friends to have what we thought was going to be awonderful Christmas away, unfortunatley the place was in desparate need of a clean. The location is absolutely amazing and the cottage could offer so much with some TLC.

This is a copy of the letter we sent to the owner after our stay.

On our recent Christmas holiday to your property in Scotland we are very disappointed to advise you of the following:

The main traffic corridors were clean as were the actual sinks, toilets and bath but overall the house was dirty. Cobwebs dotted around, the corners of the living room were very dirty/dusty, there were dead flys, spiders on window sills and stuck in the cobwebs.

Dirty floors carpets and rugs (the ensuite carpet was totally disgusting, I can send photos if needed).

The three seater sofa, left hand arm cover was absolutely filthy it looks like the covers on the sofa could be taken off and washed and the marks on them were not recent.

Dead insects in the attic room, so much that the children in the attic room asked for things to clean their bedroom. The heater flex outlet in the attic room was poorly attached to the wall with a cavity at the top, children could put fingers or objects through and touch live wires. Gable wall had recently been filled where it had cracked and no one had even bothered to paint it.

Mould on walls (front room, play room, ensuite).

Dangerous cooker, the oven door was only single glazed, the handle and door got hot when in use and the knobs have no numbers or temperatures on.

The Kitchen worktop around sink was all black and mouldy were the wood had not been looked after.

Lamp in front room, flex has been extended and joined cables only have insulation tape covering the join.

The mop that was left to clean with would have been a health hazard and would have made it dirtier.

Notice by front door telling us what to clean before leaving and this evidently had not been followed by previous occupants/cleaner.

I think you should update your description of the property from recently renovated, as this was done over 10 years ago now and has not been looked after. If the cottage would have been a hotel I would have refused to stay there as it was so dirty, this was our Christmas holiday with friends so we had to make the best of it. The cottage is in a beautiful area and has loads of space, it just needs looking after and cleaning. Paul the caretaker was very helpful the few times we had to bother him.

Also as we were spending our Christmas holiday there the small Christmas tree and the one bit of tinsel was particularly insulting when we had paid so much for the use of the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: condition of property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RochdaleG...
Rochdale
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic House - Stunning Scenery”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We've just returned from a New Year stay at Moulin Vaddie (six adults and three children) and absolutely loved the place.
The first thing you notice is the absolute solitude - the house stands on a hillside overlooking the Munro of Schiehallion to the south and the all round views are beautiful.
We were looking for something remote when we booked and the property was ideal - you certainly won't be bothered by any neighbours !
The house itself is very spacious and very much a traditional rustic farmhouse with open log fires and exposed stone walls. The open plan kitchen/dining room/lounge make up an excellent social space, while the bar/barbecue room was brilliant for a beer and game of darts - make sure you take some steaks for the barbecue.
All the bedrooms are very comfortable and it's a genuine pleasure to open the curtains in the morning and look at the views.
If you are travelling here, I'd recommend you take as much of your food and drink with you as possible, as it's a fair old trek to the nearest shop + if you have kids with you, as we did, take plenty of DVD's as there is no TV reception - a previous reviewer complained about lack of internet access, but all the adults in our group were only too happy to be away from TV and Wi-Fi.

You'll be spoilt for choice with regard to country walks, which was great as we took our dog with us.

Overall, I cannot fault this property in any way, shape or form - it proved perfect for what we required and I would have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending it to others - in fact we already have.

Would love to return sometime and see the place in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surroundings/Views + Open fires and Indoor barbeque
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$123
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing