We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous, friendly hotel with great location and superb restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fabulous, friendly hotel with great location and superb restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

My wife & I stayed at Knockendarroch House, on a bed, breakfast & dinner basis, for four nights over Easter and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Before arriving at the hotel, we had become a little concerned about the few negative reviews entered on TripAdvisor but, on the basis of our extended stay, these appear to be entirely unjustified.

The double room (Room 3) given to us was huge, well appointed and, of course, clean with good views of Pitlochry and the hills beyond. The staff were extremely attentive and friendly throughout our stay.

The restaurant was very, very good. We are fairly "into" the Michelin Guide and try to visit rated restaurants as much as we are able. In our opinion, the food offered at Knockendarroch House is utterly worthy of a mention in the guide along with the hotel. The restaurant is intimate and food from the varied menu is presented with obvious thought and attention to detail.

Our advice is to ignore the few negative reports and try the Knockendarroch House Hotel. We shall certainly be returning.

Room Tip: Room 3 is huge and very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiosux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    68
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
624
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

This hotel is a more like a large B&B (with meals) than the Country House Hotel that their website portrays. On the plus side, the rooms are good with modern, clean bathrooms and comfortable bed. Good views to the front, though behind the hotel, there's an unattractive estate. It's a short walk into town too. The staff are also friendly and attentive, though sometimes a little slow (I asked for a glass of water with breakfast and gave up and went and got a bottle from the car). Other minuses, the only real outside space is the car park - no gardens that you could relax in. I'd like to say that all of the evening meals were great and I think that by and large, they were good, but both my starter and main were WELL below par. Would we go back? Probably not. Oh and watch out for the £5 per person 'tray' charge for room service and cancellation conditions.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PorscheLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you were disappointed that you were not in the country side, but we are a small hotel in the town of Pitlochry and only promote ourselves as such. We have been rated as a 4 * Small Hotel by both VisitScotland and the AA, and have also been awarded one red Rosette for our food so, again, I am sorry that you felt otherwise. The tray charge and cancellation policy are in line with most hotels throughout the country. Being in town, we are surrounded by a variety of buildings and that is not something we can change. We are however a listed building on the edge of a conservation area in 2 acres of land in an elevated position with great views. I am glad that you enjoyed the rooms and the views. It is a pity that you didn't raise your concerns during your stay as we are very responsive to our guests and would always welcome the opportunity to address points as they arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

Superb hotel. Service was great. Rooms fantastic and inmaculate.
The owner was always there which made a difference and she was very kind, friendly and helpful. Staff was amazing!
It was a shame that they did not have family bedrooms or interconnected rooms, but they gave us two twin bedrooms on the same floor next to each other. It was not too bad.
Hotel was 5 min walking from the main street.
No additional facilities like Spa, swiming pool, gym, etc, but you have the lake minutes away and fantactic walks and views. So you do not need a swiming pool to be honest.
It is quite an expensive hotel, but it is so well maintained. It was a pleasure to stay there.
We loved it and we would go back and stay for longer.

Room Tip: i
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurafercar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

This was our second stay at the very comfortable and friendly Knockendarroch Lodge Hotel.
We weren't disappointed second time round - which often happens!!
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the food is wonderful.
The situation of the hotel is excellent being a 10 minute walk down to Pitlochry Main Street.
We will definately be back again!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egreen38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Thank you for your review. We don't respond to all reviews but we do read them all and take all points on board. We are glad you enjoyed your second visit and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed here for two nights on a Winter dinner, B&B basis and it far exceeded our expectations. Absolutely first class accommodation and food and very friendly and helpful staff. We had a room on the second floor (no lift) looking out over Pitlochry. It was an easy walk down to town and back. We would certainly rate this hotel 10 out of 10 and will definiteley be staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyhough2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

We have just returned from our second visit in the last six months and are already planning our third. We all live hectic lives with fewer opportunities to relax - so when we do, we really need to know the quality of service and overall experience is going to be a 'dead cert'. Knockendarroch provides every comfort without being fussy, beautifully appointed rooms with fabulous views and lovely staff and yes...other guests.

We leave our last compliments to the chef for using the best in local produce and creating imaginative menus beautifully presented.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mbapartnership
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

Stayed for one night dinner, bed & breakfast in one of the premier rooms. Room was very comfortable and bathroom spotlessly clean. Food at dinner and breakfst was excellent, very tasty and well presented. All in all outstanding value.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fayfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#9 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 14 bedroom 4 star gold hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over Pitlochry and the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. Our style is contemporary country house with all rooms individually styled. Choose one of our new Suites added in 2017 for an extra touch of luxury. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our wonderful lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing