We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Pitlochry
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

What a nice place to find. Comfortable, welcoming, well-run.........and a really delicious dinner, innovative and yet not trying to be too complicated. Just very good. Service was terrific too. I'm very glad we chose it.

Room Tip: Dinner and breakfast are included in the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gallip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear 'Gallip', I can't believe you are home already - it must be nice to be back in the sunshine! I hope you and your daughter enjoyed the rest of your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Best wishes from Elaine and the rest of the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    66
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
608
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

Found this gem on the internet. The welcome we got when we arrived was so friendly and it just got better from there. Room was spotlessly clean, food was fantastic and staff exceptional. Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMac50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear 'JMac50_11', Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Knockendarroch. It is very important to us to make our guests feel welcome and to offer them clean rooms and great food and service - it is extremely rewarding to know that we get it right. Best wishes from all of us at the Knockendarroch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busby. Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the Knockendarroch starting with the warm welcome,the keen to help staff, and the well presented and prepared food.
Personal down side was the room at the top of the hotel.. it was spotless, with beautiful views, but it was a climb. Not recommended for anyone who finds climbing stairs a bit of a problem. Otherwise, can't fault this hotel. Well positioned for Pitlochry town centre and within easy reach of walking through some beautiful countryside. Ask the staff for recommended walks.. they're very knowledgeable.
If walking to Pitlochry town from the hotel and you use the hotel access gate at the bottom of the hill the hotel stands on, watch out for cars. The gate opens directly on to the road and their's no pavement !!

Room Tip: No lift to any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busby_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear 'Busby_traveller', We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. There are lots of varied, wonderful walks around Pitlochry and it was lovely to see you take full advantage of some of those walks. The hotel is a listed Victorian building so getting a lift to the second floor is tricky but the views are great. Best wishes from all of us at the Knockendarroch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Oneof our favourite Scottish hotels and this was our fifth visit. Really nice, well appointed, rooms, excellent food and a comfortable ambience. It is well situated for the town or touring and yet is set in its own wooded gardens. Easily the nicest that we have found in the area and just sufficienty upmarket as to feel like a luxury stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barney067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear 'barney067', It was lovely to welcome you back again. We try hard to get it right for all of our guests and it is just the best when they choose to come back. So thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay and we look foward to seeing you again. Best wishes from the Team at Kockendarroch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We had only 1 night at the hotel and it was superb. The staff, accommodation and food were all excellent. Would certainly have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone. Must go back and spend more time there. We are travelling around Scotland with our Australian friends and it was our favourite place so far.

Morag & Gordon Turner

Room Tip: Small homely hotel. Superb staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moragturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear Morag and Gordon, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are so glad you and your Australian friends enjoyed your stay - we too wish you had stayed longer! Best wishes from all of us at the Knockendarroch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

We had the great pleasure to stay at Knockendarroch this week and will definitely return in the Autumn. Our stay was special and we were made to feel special by the very attentive staff who were just lovely and couldn't do enough to ensure that we had a fantastic stay. All you foodies out there - you will just love it....Mmm mmm. The smoked haddock at breakfast was just delicious and the Pavlova for dessert is just to die for.
The lounge area was very comfortable and tastefully done....loved the sofas. Log fires when the weather calls for it. Superb. The town centre is just a short stroll away and there are lots of great walks to do in Pitlochry..........we got to see two red squirrels....brilliant. We had the best of times, the owners were just fabulous.....we cannot fault our stay.....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighlandYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear 'HighlandYeti',
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you were able to see the red squirrels that you don't get in London! Best wishes from the Knockendarroch Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2011

Knockendarroch House is a lovely country house hotel within walking distance to the centre of Pitlochry. The staff at front of house and serving in the restuarant were both Spanish and extremely good at their job. They made us feel very welcome and we were given a bottle of sparkling wine on the house when they heard we were celebrating an anniversary. The room was very comfortable and the food at both dinner and breakfast was first class. The house is in a lovely setting with nice views of the surrounding countryside. The lounge is very comfortable and we had a very nice overnight stay. I would hightly recommend it to anyone looking for a country house offering lovely accommodation, great food and excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gla28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
Dear 'Gla28',
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do our best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay and it is always rewarding to hear that we have done just that. Mar and Maria have been with us for 2 and 3 years and were absolutely thrilled with your comments. Thank you again.

With best wishes from Mar, Maria and the rest of the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pitlochry
0.7 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pine Trees Hotel
Pine Trees Hotel
#6 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
19.8 mi away
Lands of Loyal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fisher's Hotel
Fisher's Hotel
#10 of 18 in Pitlochry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Higher Oakfield, Pitlochry PH16 5HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Pitlochry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pitlochry
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pitlochry
#4 Family Hotel in Pitlochry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant 12 bedroom 4 star hotel set in 1.5 Acres of elevated private grounds with glorious views over the Tummel Valley. Only a short stroll from Pitlochry town centre. All rooms are individually styled, with an option to choose from larger premier rooms or rooms with private balcony. Enjoy a 2 AA rosette dinner in our restaurant and relax by the log fires in our lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant Pitlochry, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing